Life around here

19 May

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind of activity for us. For starters , work has been hectic for both the husband and I . In my case while I am mostly glad that I have the distraction of work from thinking about and feeling  9 months preggers , I do also long for a slightly slower phase. 

Weekends have been spent at birthday parties, a few fun , delicious meals outside,catching up on office work, playing with Bandar and really doing very little actual baby prep until this very last weekend.

This last weekend we actually made a small dent on my huge to do list before baby and  pulled out baby clothes and baby gear and examined them for expiration dates ,cleanliness and general usability. On the gear , win on our carseat still being usable and not at it’s expiry date. Loss on our swing being broken undoubtedly through our several moves and now unsteady and dangerous  to use. Baby clothes sorting is overwhelming me. For one it does bring up all the nostalgia on old itty bitty dresses that  Bandar wore ,we bought or were gifted on occasion . I actually realize now that I have so much stuff for the first 2 months , but I had to dig through four boxes to find it as it was interspersed with baby clothing from 0- 4 years old. No idea how I even packed it like this all mixed up. Now I am left with the task of reorganizing clothes for future use by size and age and washing and storing clothes for imemdiate use. Bandar kept running away with some favorite clothes and toys , stuff I didnt even think she remembered. Anyway, hopefully she will willing to share when the baby is out

Apart from this i still have a ton of crap to do including  hospital registration , ordering my breast pump, figuring out maternity leave and emailing our wonderful pedi, ordering a few other things that we need for baby.. Will hopefully get through these this week. 

This time around for classes ,the only ones we wanted to do were an infant CPR course to refresh our memories , a hospital tour and a sibling class for Bnadar. Unfortunately looks like we are not going to get to any of these, I still have hope we will get to infant CPR one as I think that should be mandatory for all parents who are trusted to take home a baby .

How are you feeling is is the question I keep getting asked , nowadays by everyone . I usually answer with a so far so good but I hardly think this concise answer is the compete truth. I was very out of breathe in month 8 but still managed a decent activity levels through walks and workouts . But somewhere in the last one week I fell of the wagon. Work got so busy that I had to stop my workouts and in this time it appears that Baby seems to have descended and though my breathing is better now, I am dealing with a whole other host of symptoms stemming from extreme pelvic pressure. My only hope right now is lasting a few more weeks till my mom gets here and I actually make full term. Also Bandar was an exact 6 lbs baby at birth and I worry about this one being tinier if born earlier.

The husband has been doing tons around the house and taking a load of me. I however just cannot sit still and do nothing . So I have been focusing on cleaning different areas of the house and organizing whatever chaos I can.  Several corners of our home still need some TLC. So much more to be done in this front..guess it’s my way if nesting.

Bandar recently started sleeping in her own bed in an adjoining room leading of ours. When we set up the princess canopy big girl  bed I shed a few tears , even though she was going to be barely 10 feet from us and I can hear even the rustle of sheets. But now that’s she’s been in her bed for 2 weeks or so ,I am truly enjoying the extra space it affords my growing belly , pregnancy pillow and paraphernalia. Plus actually going back to sharing your bed with just your spouse is truly blissful.

Meals around here have been weird lately. I dislike most Desi food made by my cook at this point and am eagerly awaiting my mom to make me a few favorites. I am not inclined to cook much myself either. So we have been eating what we can and making do at home and really enjoying eating out when we do go out .

My hope for the next few weeks – baby actually stays in till full term, my mom gets here safe and sound , we get completely​ set for baby, the house gets cleaned- every nook and cranny , work slows down and we sneak in some more special moments as a family of three .

7 Responses to “Life around here”

  1. MissH May 19, 2017 at 9:22 pm #

    Much love and hugs to you all! Enjoy every minute as a family of three before that happiness gets doubled when the lil one arrives 🙂

  2. Bhavani May 20, 2017 at 12:39 am #

    Wow so countdown time!! All the best!! Dont worry too much about getting everything done…things will fall into place. Also be ready to have Bandar back with you. Once she sees baby in your room, she will want to come back. Thats what happened to me though we moved her when she was 2 and had my second one when she was 1 month short of 3. Go with the flow…..take care..

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 21, 2017 at 5:40 am #

      Yes,Bandar might come back to our bed once baby gets here. Our only hope is the rooms are literally adjoining with a door in between that we keep open, so she might be okay . Plus though the baby’s bassinet is probably going to be in room for the first two months ,the crib is set up in her room . She insisted on wanting to share a room with her sibling.so we will see how long this arrangement lasts 🙂

  3. anisnest May 21, 2017 at 2:08 am #

    Hugs and good luck with everything Pop.. Enjoy this special time to the fullest..

  4. My life my words June 12, 2017 at 6:03 pm #

    Best wishes for happier times ahead . We just had our 2nd daughter earlier in the year and life has taken a complete new turn since then 🙂

Leave a Reply

