Sharing the news with Bandar

4 Apr

When I was finally out of the first trimester, the event I was most looking forward to was telling Bandar that she would soon have a baby sibling. Bandar at age four has a bunch of friends who have had siblings fairly recently and she had been requesting one for months. So when we were finally at a point to tell her, I made elaborate plans.

I ordered a cute “I’m going to be a big sister” T shirt for her from Amazon and a few “getting ready for baby “themed books. I put them in a nice gift bag. Then the husband and I decided to give her a fun evening and we started it off by picking her up together at school. It was a Tuesday evening and she was totally surprised to see the two of us together. We then told her we were going to take her out to dinner. We went to a favorite neighborhood small Italian restaurant and she ordered her favorite mac and cheese while we ordered our food and chatted. We told her there was a surprise for her at home and the question my ever practical child asked was – “Is it something to eat?” We told her no, it was a secret that we would share when we got home. She finished the rest of her meal in anticipation with and a hundred questions and guessing on what it possibly was. She finally landed on it was something to wear (the t shirt) when we got home, we sat down on the family room floor and gave her the bag of gifts. She opened up the t shirt and I helped her read out what it said. I finished with –“ There is a baby in mommy’s tummy right now”. She stared at me in surprise and asked “Really? There is a baby in there already?”  She then asked to touch my belly. Then my observant baby girl came up with – “ So that’s why you have been so sick, Amma?” She clearly had seen me struggle with first trimester nausea and general sickness and now she had pieced it all together. She was over the moon excited to find out her baby sibling was coming in June. She kept saying she had prayed for one ever so often and now it was really happening and that God had listened to her. She then did the math (she knew a baby is usually in the mother’s tummy for 9 months from her friends) and asked if it had been there for about 4 months already. We responded by telling her we had only found out ourselves that very day from the doctor. She seemed satisfied with that response. We spent some more time looking up the baby’s size on baby center. That is custom we now follow every week as this pregnancy progresses and Bandar loves knowing the baby is the size of a head of cauliflower or this week, a butternut squash!

We then with some effort from all three of us made delicious but not pretty looking oreo truffles for Bandar to take to school and tell her classmates. The type of chocolate I got for melting and coating the truffles was probably not the right kind and the truffles really did not hold together well. We ended the night reading the two books about awaiting the baby and she loved them. I actually found them a tad too childish for a four year old, but since then we have read them several times and Bandar seems to enjoy them.

The next day she proudly donned her big sister t- shirt and took the truffles to school. Her teachers were so excited to hear the news. Bandar especially was thrilled to share the news with another girl, P who’s mom is also expecting a baby soon. In the days that followed, Bandar drew a lot of pictures of herself with her baby sister and P with her baby sister.

Despite those first few references to a baby sister, Bandar seems to be okay with the prospective of either a boy or girl sibling . I am glad she has an open mind and is ready to accept both.Her friends on the other hand keep asking her and us how we will name the baby or even dress the baby if we don’t know what it is. But we just let them know that we will figure it out and are excited about the surprise factor here.

 Bandar came with us for an ultrasound as well, and was thrilled to see the baby moving about. I think that particularly made it more real for her . We talk about the baby every day and she showers my tummy with kisses morning and evening. She keeps talking about loving the baby most in the world and my heart sings every time I hear her say these things. If that is not affirmation enough that this baby was absolutely the right decision for our family.

I often wonder how she will be once she actually sees the abby and it is home. I am.Not naive and know that right now, the idea is still very hypothetical when we talk about –“when the baby is here…” scenarios. I am prepared for all sorts of emotions from her and will just have to handle it when the time comes. But for now, I am going to enjoy these last three months of anticipation with her.

 

6 Responses to “Sharing the news with Bandar”

  1. anisnest April 5, 2017 at 2:23 am #

    I have been missing all the updates.. Congratulations Pop, to you and the whole family.. I still remember the day we revealed the news about LHB to Adi.. she was screaming hard and running from living to kitchen and back like crazy 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 5, 2017 at 3:35 am #

      Thanks Ani! Sharing the experience with your first born is perhaps the nicest part of being preggers the second time around. I actually even remember being told about the impending arrival of my sister when I was 8 yrs old

  2. princessbutter April 5, 2017 at 2:54 am #

    Ooh I still feel so warm and cuddly remembering Bandar kiss your baby belly and calling it cute names. So much love to both of the babies! ❤️

  3. Bhavani April 5, 2017 at 7:00 am #

    How sweet!! You guys really made it so special and
    Exciting for her!! I can’t remember how we revealed to my daughter since she was 2.4 when we knew 😬😬

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 5, 2017 at 10:50 pm #

      Ya, we tried 🙂 It was also possible and relevant only because of how old she was. Would not have been so if she was younger

Leave a Reply

