What’s been happening here…

17 Mar

Come June 2017 and things are going to get busy around here. We are expecting a new baby!

Now that this piece of news is out there, I can finslly share all the stuff I have wanted to about this.

My first pregnancy which was a good 4.5 years ago was actually a very blissful , peaceful, serene time. I remember long walks with the husband, evenings post work being filled with a lot of me time of just lying on the bed or such and watching TV, eating out a lot and a whole lot belly pictures and sessions of simply talking to the baby. But the second time around however time seems to be going by so quickly. Sadly, there have been zero walks – with or without the spouse. We both have busier work schedules now and both bring work home. Any free time is absorbed in Bandar activities. There has also not been a whole lot of me time. Bandar though quite independent needs my care every evening and I am not complaining. I am actually savoring these last few months of her being an only child and we have been playing a lot of board games together and reading books. There has been like one belly pic at the beach but this is all, versus the millions we took last time. But that said , all three of us are eagerly awaiting this little baby and not a day goes by without us talking about and to it.

We couldn’t wait to tell Bandar and I am so glad she reacted the way she did. I have often heard these telling  the older child episodes can be anti climatic but it wasn’t it our case and her reaction was equal parts disbelief, amazement and excitement and I cannot ask for more . I will post more in detail about telling her the news as I want to always remember and treasure that the moment.

Anyway , I hope Bandar’s excitement holds once the baby is out. From small positive behavioral changes, I can already see she is going to make an amazing big sister. Our “kids” (funny to type/say that) will be about 4 years and 10 months apart and I can’t wait to see them together. Bandar displays an amazingingly soft, caring side when she pats and strokes and talks to my expanding belly everyday. She has also told every single person at school – kid , teacher, cleaner, other parents at pick up about the baby and her enthusiasm is infectious.

We don’t know what we are having and don’t intend to find out. It was such an amazing moment to find out in the labor room and I can’t wait to experience it again. Also it is so much fun guessing and imagining both boy and girl scenarios for the next 3 or so months of pregnancy that we have left. My mommy intuition tells me this one is a girl, and I had same strong feeling when I was pregnant with Bandar as well.  Bandar is actually open to both possibilities to my surprise as she previously always commented she wanted a sister. She repeatedly says she will love whatever baby we have and just hopes the baby is healthy. Echoes what we say on the subject.

My body is growing at a furious pace. I have actually been told to watch my gain and I was a few lbs over what was recommended at this point . This is super irritating as I usually just use pregnancy as an excuse to indulge in my favorite foods. Anyway, guess that phase is done now and I have to really be careful about what I eat. I think this weight gain is mainly from going carb heavy the first two trimesters to beat nausea and I am now sadly paying the price. I am hoping I can have a healthy last trimester and not develop gestational diabetes and other complications .

The baby’s movements are getting more pronounced and stronger each day and it is undoubtedly my only favorite part of pregnancy.  The husband and Bandar can see my belly move and twitch when they talk to it.

Apart from being unable to hog and enjoy food as much as I want , the only other thing I am really missing during this pregnancy is tea. My office has an excellent choice of tea bags and I crave one every single morning . I went completely without any  caffeine for the 9 plus months I was pregnant with Bandar and this is something I am aiming to do again.  But I do crave a chai tea latte several times a week. That first cup of tea post-delivery is what I am really looking forward to, ideally with a wonderful bagel and cream cheese to go with .

I had actually saved all my maternity clothes from my last pregnancy. But when I looked through them I realized I didn’t want to wear any of them this time around .Maybe in the 4 years my sense of fashion has changed dramatically. The few staples I think I can still pull off from the old pile are so well worn and loose from wear. I should have donated these long ago, Anyway, this led to some pregnancy shopping which is not as fun and cracked up as it seems to be as I know this time that I am actually investing in these things for a few months  of pregnancy. Though who am I kidding, I hung out in maternity pants a good 6 months post delivery! Anyway, I am liking the final result in my closet – I went through a lot of online ordering and returning and reoreding to get here. But I am happy now and hope these all fit till the end.

That’s it for now with this mish mash of a post. I will write more about this as I regret not writing when I was pregnant with Bandar.

 

 

26 Responses to “What’s been happening here…”

  1. perspectivesandprejudices March 17, 2017 at 5:39 am #

    Congratulations! I have a baby due in a couple of months too and I’m looking forward to reading about your experiences! 🙂 Hugs to big sister Bandar! 🙂

  2. Arch March 17, 2017 at 10:47 am #

    Congratulations!! 🙂 ❤

  3. Meena March 17, 2017 at 12:17 pm #

    Congratulations Pop! Have a safe delivery. So Bandar becomes an akka! nice

  4. Bhavani March 17, 2017 at 11:03 pm #

    Wow Congrats Pop!! Pretty exciting.. Enjoy the rest of the months before the next phase begins..

    The excitement of knowing what baby is thrilling. We did that for the first one..second one I gave in and found out…that was kind of fun too:)

    Take care!!

  5. princessbutter March 18, 2017 at 12:26 am #

    ❤❤❤

  6. hoarderofallthings March 18, 2017 at 7:18 pm #

    Congratulations Pop!! Have a safe delivery 🙂
    The baby and I will share a birthday month!! Is it weird that I am excited about that?

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 19, 2017 at 12:08 am #

      Thank you ! When is your bday exactly ? We have a lot of June bdays in our immediate family as well

      • hoarderofallthings March 25, 2017 at 5:58 pm #

        14th June 🙂
        Ah,then there will be lots of cakes in the month of June 😀

  7. Nitya Subramaniam March 20, 2017 at 10:03 pm #

    Congratulations!! my kids have an age gap of 4 years 10 months as well and it’s been a wonderful ride thus far 🙂 All the very best! looking forward to reading more

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 20, 2017 at 10:34 pm #

      Thank you! Reassuring to hear that the age gap works well for your family. I am hoping it does for us too.

  8. srividhya March 21, 2017 at 1:04 am #

    Congratulations!!! All the very best and take care. 🙂

  9. Dil On The Rocks March 21, 2017 at 1:15 am #

    Many many congratulations P. Bandar is going to be an adorable big sister. Take care of yourself. 🙂

  10. Maya April 7, 2017 at 9:09 pm #

    Congrats, Pop! All the best! 🙂 🙂

  11. Greenboochi April 10, 2017 at 6:30 pm #

    Big congrats Pop 🙂 Take care and hugs to you!

  12. Titaxy April 17, 2017 at 7:20 am #

    Wow so exciting! Congratulations, pop! Wish you a healthy rest of the pregnancy and a safe delivery.

Leave a Reply

