Pet peeves – version 2017

17 Feb

Here are my latest peeves. This series remains my favorite to write , only after the Dear Bandar series. So that should give you a glimpse of how easy it is to irritate me!

– Slow people on the stairs. Especially those who are on their cell phones browsing as they go up or down. .I try to stick to the right hand side of the staircase but  these idiots force me to say a quick “excuse me” and move past to their left. I am also genuinely worried for their safety. 

– Moms who act like child whisperers and immediately swoop in to comfort a crying child who is not theirs at a party or get together. This when the child’s own mother is trying to calm the child down in their own way. 

– A Costco trip with no vegetarian sample. What is with that?? I didn’t park my car and walk across the massive parking lot and get a huge ass cart to just shop. I need plenty of veggie samples to make my Costco trips worthwhile.
– Desis who will immediately start talking in their own language irrespective of the other Desis around then who don’t know the language or non Desis.  This even in meetings.Plain rude !When someone starts with me , I immediately respond loudly  in English for the benefit of the others around us  or pretend I don’t understand the language.

– Giant bows on baby girls heads. What is so cute about this ?? Ughh..Hate this trend. I am okay with a teeny tiny bow to keep hair off a baby’s face but babies don’t need overpriced fugly bows bigger than their heads.

-Ridiculous off shoulder ball gown like dresses for little girls on their bdays. Why do you want to make your child look older than she is.
That’s all I have for now . Do share yours !

5 Responses to “Pet peeves – version 2017”

  1. princessbutter February 17, 2017 at 9:45 pm #

    Your last point reminds me of these FB posts where they dress toddlers and grown up fashion. Girls with big sunglasses, handbags, super trendy clothes and boots, and boys too similarly. I find it horrible.
    And yes about Costco samples! We go many times at lunch times to get pizza and samples and it’s a waste. I still pick up meat for my friend Shawn though.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 18, 2017 at 1:12 am #

      Don’t understand why folks want their kids to appear older than they are.and the poses moms make their girls do..With hands on their hips.Also hate moms making their little Desi girls of 4 and 5 do jhatkas and obscenely weird Desi dance moves. Ugh

      • Bhavani February 18, 2017 at 3:36 am #

        I can’t stand that either seriously I am totally with you on kids doing item # type Bollywood numbers..

  2. Bhavani February 18, 2017 at 3:42 am #

    I might be that mom sometimes.. my natural reaction to check on a kid if they are crying or ask the mom if they are ok..

    Desis talking in the same language I know.. I definitely make an effort when there is a person not knowing the language..

    Mine is people talking on mob in rest rooms why would the other person want to listen all kinds of noises in the background- get so upset when I hear someone talking in the next stall..

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 18, 2017 at 4:40 am #

      Hear you on the rest room calls:) Why in the world ? Apart from the noises around, your convo is clearly not private .Stalls are not sound proof

Leave a Reply

