Where I show how little I know about the current Bollywood scene

14 Feb

I am clearly far behind in my Bollywood viewing. I lucked out and watched ae dil hain mushkil about 3 months after it released , but i typically only really get to watch most  bollywood movies a good year after release. This is usually if Netflix has it and the husband and I actually find time to sit down together after Bandar sleeps on a relaxed weekend once in a blue moon to watch one. Case in point , piku has been on Netflix for months and we are yet to watch it. 

Anyway , what I do watch when I can is Koffee with Karan and this keeps me up to date on my bollywood gossip and I am good for a year or so.

Thoughts from a few episodes I have watched recently 

– Firstly , I am so impressed that Karan and all his interviewees are so very open about his sexual orientation this season. He has not outted himself nor has anyone outted him but it is almost a non issue now. Shows that India is indeed progressing , though of course that it is debatable based on how you look at it  as he said in interviews himself that he cannot out himself in a country where being gay is considered illegal.

– Does anyone else get the thought that Shahid is so not over Kareena and married a little kid to somehow get even ? And did anyone do the math..Their child appears to be conceived like a month after the wedding. Anyhoo, I liked his honest answer of he really fell in love with his wife only after they got married and she was pregnant.Maybe similar to other arranged marriages.  Super honest and surprised they put that out there. 

– Oh and Kareena this season remarked that Saif was so well read  and a true man of the world.In her opinion they don’t make them like that anymore! I almost spluttered when I heard that – Saif being well bred might be something , but I somehow find well read and superb conversationalist hard to believe in the little I have seen of him. 

– SRK is getting on my nerves as he gets older. 

– Sonam sadly doesn’t have a brain in her pretty head. Her answers were horrible, she started off saying one thing and contradicted herself half way through the answer and lost me on a few answers this way. She actually made Kareena who was next to her sound intelligent.

– I was impressed with Katrina somehow. maybe because she can actually talk and has a sense of humor. This episode made me like her and think of her as more than a mere item number.

– In the Ranbir and Ranveer episode, I felt Ranveer was trying too hard somehow. And also I felt their brotherly and comraderie seemed forced. Also Ranbir is definitely still cuter and hotter.

– Ranveer and Deepika are still a thing. Thank goodness. And Malaika and Arbaaz aren’t – shocker ! Arbaaz didn’t seem too sad about it either, maybe a facade.

– Tiger is an actual name of a person?? Enuff said!

– I really liked the Priyanka episode . My favorite part was seeing her do the candid shots with Karan.

This is such a silly pointless post! But I am going to hit publish anyway and see if anyone else in the blogosphere has thoughts on any of this.

12 Responses to “Where I show how little I know about the current Bollywood scene”

  1. princessbutter February 14, 2017 at 4:41 am #

    I will fill you in with all the Bollywood gossip the next time I see you. I am way too caught up for my own good.
    Ranbeer-Ranveer was super forced. Apparently it was scripted to the highest extent and they already knew their rapid fire questions. I hated Siddharth and Jacqueline episode. All the sexualization seemed so forced and they were trying so hard to paint Sid as the hot guy. I don’t know why Arjun Kapoor was brought on so much. Sheesh. Sonam is a birdbrain. ‘Prem Ratan changed my life because it made me vegetarian.’

    • princessbutter February 14, 2017 at 4:44 am #

      Ooh I like Kat n Anushka’s episode. I really like Anushka and the fact that she has no pretensions. I like most of her movies too. Also, Malaika has had a paramour since years. The said guy who appeared in most of the episodes. Lol

      • popgoesthebiscuit February 14, 2017 at 4:52 am #

        Malaika and Arjun ?? You are kidding me right ???

      • princessbutter February 14, 2017 at 4:53 am #

        It is an open secret! Haha

      • popgoesthebiscuit February 14, 2017 at 4:53 am #

        Ughh couger…I assume he is atleast a decade younger

      • princessbutter February 14, 2017 at 4:54 am #

        Easily. It started when he was fat and started training with Bhai of the world. Turned into her boy-toy.

      • popgoesthebiscuit February 14, 2017 at 9:45 am #

        Anushka is tolerable yaar

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 14, 2017 at 9:46 am #

      Skipped Sid and Jacqueline. I didn’t even know who she was , so seemed pointless.

  2. Meena February 14, 2017 at 9:42 am #

    learnt a lot today! LOL

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 14, 2017 at 9:50 am #

      Glad it was useful to bring others even more behind than me on the juicy gossip up to speed

  3. Bhavani February 14, 2017 at 9:48 am #

    Have not watched KwK in ages.. some how everththing seems staged and fake anyways.. can’t stand after a few mins..

    Just read gossip here and there!!

    You should watch Piku! Just loved it!

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 14, 2017 at 9:49 am #

      Oh is it. Need to watch it then. I have zero patience for movies these days ya. I actually doze off and prefer shows that end in one hour max

Leave a Reply

