End of the blogathon 

2 Feb

This was my third year doing the blogathon in January and this year was by far the most challenging one for me.I had previously worked from home for the other two years and had easy access to a personal laptop or tablet to write my posts. I refuse to ever post from my work computer , or even open my blog on it , so posting during the day at work was hard. I wrote every single post on my phone’s WordPress app and have not opened WordPress from a computer in months now .I composed my posts usually in bed the night before and roughly edited before publishing during down moments in the day. Sorry for all the typos and edits that were missed in each post.

 Some days I fell behind and this was hard to keep up with. I love cuddling Bandar and sleeping with her , so I struggled with having to get up after she slept to type out a post. Reading other blog posts by my favorite bloggers was hard for me  too. I tried to keep up in the evenings but Bandar needed my full attention in the 2 hours we get together and often commented that I wasn’t listening to her properly and was looking at my phone. Nothing like the truth to break this mommy heart !! Anyway ,I would read a post that resonated with me but often missed commenting due to a Bandar distraction .Due to the pure lack of time , I really didn’t explore reading any new to me blogs this time around. I wish I had as the blogathon is a great way to discover new reads .

The other thing I found hard this month was generating quality,meaningful posts. I hate cheat posts and try to avoid them as I honestly find them a waste of my time and my readers’ time . But that said, it’s freaking hard to generate a good solid post every single day ! 

Where do we go from here? I frankly don’t know. Daily posting is hard . But at the same time I don’t want to disappear for months together like I have in years past. I am going to try to blog atleast 3 times a week the next two months and see if that’s a good frequency for me. If it’s something I can keep up with, I will continue past the two months . 3 times in 7 days seems doable , right ? I hope so ! We will see how this goes.

Thank you dear reader for sticking around and commenting through this blogathon.The comments and blog world virtual friends and network is one of the reasons I do this each year. 

5 Responses to “End of the blogathon ”

  1. Pepper February 3, 2017 at 7:59 pm #

    Good job! Blogathons are seriously hard, and you pulled it off! I’ve been able to only do it twice out of my four attempts.

    Blogging 3 times a week is a frequency that works for me too. I still get lazy.. if you live up to it though, I can use you as an inspiration..

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 4, 2017 at 11:09 am #

      Thrice a week seems doable in theory. Let’s see how actual execution goes !

  2. princessbutter February 4, 2017 at 4:20 am #

    I have a longer process because I don’t open WordPress at work as well, but I find the app way slower. I just write in an email or word doc, copy it to gmail and save in drafts. Then I open gmail drafts on my phone and copy and paste on WordPress app.
    Good job with the blogathon! I have never even attempted it. 🙈

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 4, 2017 at 11:10 am #

      Your Gmail solution is funny. App is slower but you get used to it. I also have a 6 inch phone

  3. anisnest February 6, 2017 at 4:40 am #

    Yayyyy to all of us!!

Leave a Reply

