Day 31- Dear Bandar

1 Feb

I can’t believe I almost got through the blogathon without a post all about Bandar. This series of ” Dear Bandar “letters are really more for my memories to look back upon in a few years.
 Darling little Bandar,

I look at you a million times a day and tell myself that my little girl is growing up.

Each month brings with it a new bunch of developmental milestones . You have recently exhibited a very kind side. When you took truffles for your classmates recently, you told me you ensured you picked the smallest one for yourself,  so that no one else had to and wouldn’t feel bad about it.This is not something we told you do at all but something you thought would be the right thing to do.

When I told you recently that I am proud of the constant kindness you show your parents at home and friends at school and outside of it, you wisely remarked “I know , amma. I have become kind” and moved over to the next topic in a very matter of fact tone as if nothing less should be expected in the first place !

You also talk about asking Santa for nothing next year, and I really hope you will follow through with it when Christmas comes. You recently surprised us by coming to a toy shop for over 15 minutes and not asking for one single thing. 

A huge change recently is the fact that on the few occasions you make an undue fuss about anything or have a melt down , you apologize for it within a few minutes of calming down. Again, this is not something we told you to do but is simply something you have started on your own.

You have off late shown a lot of interest in arts and crafts -drawing and cutting.I hope you get your artistic talents from your paternal side of the family as I have nothing to offer in this space.

People remark you look just like me though, and the similarities is even more when I straighten my hair and we both wear our hair down. For some silly reaosn this makes my day every time I hear it.

You still love imaginary play and I would love to see you try other games too when you can. But you prefer to play within specific imaginary frameworks you have built .

You love your school and teacher and ask often if you can continue in the after school program here next year. You are excited to go to public school as well though in a few months and talk about it with anticipation.

The last few months haven’t been the healthiest for you. You were on antibiotics for three months back to back Oct through Dec and I hope and pray immunity builds soon and you stop bringing every little bug home.You are angelic about having your meds though and barely ever make a fuss.

You adore some kids at school who are not the kindest to you or the best influences out there and you still need to learn to stand up for yourself when there is a conflict . I worry about this a little as kids around you become older and sadly , meaner. You also surprisingly know a bunch of the kids in the lower classes as pre school and I wonder how. But you have shown so much interest in getting to know these two year olds , you know what sippy cups they have, who is potty trained and who is not and how many siblings they have. Considering you see these babies only for maybe an hour toward the end of the day, I am surprised you have observed them so much. 

You are petrified of dogs and both dad and I hope you outgrow this soon. Dad thinks we should just get you a dog to get over this, but as you remark all knowingly – “Dogs are a lot of work”.

We have stopped all classes and extra curricular activities recently and I can see you turning into a homebody. Your screen time is neglible in a week as that has never been a thing around here , but  I do wish we were giving you more exercise. As of now you prefer to play by yourself at home than going outside , even if given a choice.

You like your Elsa bike but are not a huge fan of riding it! You like your scooter a tad more and have recently become quite good at it. You are a reluctant hiker but can do a decent stretch with some distraction. Your favorite games to play when we are outside walking or in the car are – the animal guessing game, word building and the ” I went to the market” game. 

Your favorite cuisine when we eat out is Japanese ! Ramen specifically . This is obviously because we frequent ramen places around town.You are a pro at using chopsticks with trainers and make us proud when you chow down a bowl and make an adult sized burp. Remember to say ” Excuse me”  , Bandar ! Of course , your next favorite cuisine is Italian , specifically pizza. 

You love being read too and in the last few months we have read a bunch of Enid Blytons – The book of brownies , the Enchanted wood series and now are on Galliano’s circus series. I read to you as I feed you dinner each night. We have not gone to the library much recently as we have been getting through these books but I definitely want to do that activity with you more regularly as that was our thing.

4 and a quarter has been a delightful age and I love this stage of parenting. 

Lots of love,

Mommy
 

6 Responses to “Day 31- Dear Bandar”

  1. Bhavani February 1, 2017 at 11:27 am #

    Such a sweet child she is – God bless her with the best:)

    And kudos to you for the minimal screen time. That is where I give in sometimes. I am strictly trying to bring no screen time Mon- Fri apart from homework. Lets see!!

    And please don’t stop writing:-))

    -Bhavani

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 1, 2017 at 12:25 pm #

      Thanks B! Whatever works ya..Mine is too young to protest .Who know how it will change as she grows up.
      Blogathon was exhausting but hoping to keep writing something each week . Let’s see what rules I set for myself !

  2. Dil On The Rocks February 5, 2017 at 2:26 am #

    So cute Bandar. 😀 And she is so kind for her age. I love the idea of reading books at dinner time. I should do that too. 😀

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 11, 2017 at 3:26 am #

      Ya books at dinner is something we have been doing since she was 1 now. It started with her school teacher at NYC doing it with the kids

  3. anisnest February 6, 2017 at 4:47 am #

    wowww she could use chopsticks? this is the cutest age ever!!

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 11, 2017 at 3:24 am #

      Asian is our favorite cuisine to eat out so guess that’s how she learnt to be a pro with chopsticks

Leave a Reply

