Day 29 – Making up your mind to be happy

30 Jan

So today I actually woke up in a decent mood, but somehow in the process of getting breakfast made ( poha) and Bandar fed and planning the day , I got into a terribly bad mood. The husbadoo brought up that the weather was really good, as in hot for January at around 1 pm and suggested the beach. I agreed half heartedly but was grumpy. My definition of hot is very different from his..I like being at a beach at a 85F plus day while 70F is perfectly fine for him. I find the water terribly cold even normally here and January waters seemed brutal. Plus the prep for going to the beach is never easy…From sunscreen to snacks to change of clothes to sand toys .

So I grumbled and grumbled, picked a fight a d made up and apologized and picked another fight still about why we have to go to the beach in Jan and apologized yet again. Somewhere during the excruciating process of finding Bandar some beach shoes that she hadn’t grown out of, I made up my mind that enough was enough , we were going to the beach and I better be happy about it. I somehow needed to tell myself this in firm tones and had a sea change in attitude. I hugged the husband and Bandar and started looking forward to the rest of the day. When we actually got out, the husband actually commented it was a tad colder than he expected with a good wind blowing and that I was going to be mad at the beach. 

Anyway we got there and got parking fairly quickly, always a good sign and set up our paraphernalia at a nice spot. We decided to check out the water temps immediately and though the first 10 minutes were as cold as I expected, I slowly grew accustomed to it and enjoy wading in . I wished I brought a change of clothes to actually get wetter like Bandar and the husband . But I hadn’t , so I just stayed at the periphery but had fun with the whole experience. 

 Then sand play ensued and we munched on a few cookies and sipped ginger beer.Later sitting on our mat, reading a magazine in Kindle with the sun shining down, with the husbadoo’s head on my lap and Bandar digging all the way to Australia  at our feet,  I felt at peace with myself and the world . I felt relaxed and calm looking into the blue of the sea and gave silent thanks for all our blessings. I am so thankful I made the choice to change my mood today ..Imagine if I hadn’t , I would missed out on a day of lovely memories.

4 Responses to “Day 29 – Making up your mind to be happy”

  1. Dil On The Rocks February 5, 2017 at 2:32 am #

    That’s beautiful. I will take 70 anyday. Next time compare to our weather and you will feel better. I am glad you chose to be happy. It’s always our choice. 😀

  2. anisnest February 6, 2017 at 4:41 am #

    hey is that top from Gap? I have a similar one too 🙂 beach is a total mood lifter..

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 11, 2017 at 3:21 am #

      My dress is Old Navy. But guess same company as gap..So not surprised by same design

Leave a Reply

