Day 25 – Learning new stuff

26 Jan

Have you ever tried to master something and practiced and practiced till you got it right?

For me, as a child it was a few things. One of these was learning to blow a bubble from bubble gum. I first saw my friends do it around age 8 and wanted to try it. They used either Double Yum gum and then a year later Boomer.( Remember the two flavors in green and pink that originally released ?) . I practiced and practiced and spent every extra rupee I got on bubble gum and finally by age 10, a good two years later, I had figured it out !

At a much younger age, maybe around 6 years old, it was making this silly 5 pointed star trick from a rubber band stretched between your fingers. Try as I could , I couldn’t get it just right . But a few years of trying every time I laid my hand on a rubber band, I suddenly got it.

It’s fun to see Bandar try new things enthusiastically now. A year ago it was  learning to snap her fingers. She tried and tried and kept asking us to show her how. One day, we heard a distinctive snap and she had figured it out! She can now do it on one hand only,  but is quite happy with that and just says her other hand isn’t good at snapping.

Then more recently it was drawing a five pointed star on paper. This one she practiced and practiced with the husband and finally got it! This one I think is pretty cool as I did it much later in class 1. Her enthusiasm and attitude till she gets it right it amazing to watch. At some points , I had to tell her to take a break and just wait a few months till she is older to get it . But she kept on trying using every scrap bit of paper around her till she figured it out. 

I wish I had the enthusiasm and never give up attitude now in my 30s. Somewhere along the way to adulthood,  I have lost it .If I can’t figure out how to cook a recipe  such that it tastes or looks like it’s meant to right , I usually won’t attempt it again.A classic example is thr cheesecake disaster of 2012.

 If I suck at new  skills like skiing , I don’t even bother getting on skis the next time . 

And more simply , I cannot get.my eyeliner each day to be a thin straight line. So bottom eyelid liner is not even something I try now. Upper lid , I make a feeble attempt 

Is there anything you remember trying for months before mastering as a child ? What about now as an adult ? 

4 Responses to “Day 25 – Learning new stuff”

  1. anisnest January 26, 2017 at 4:08 am #

    I am learning new technology at work 🙂 Not fun though especially at this age!!! I never like to leave something half way. For me its either 0% or 100%. This is what I try to tell Adi too.

  2. princessbutter January 26, 2017 at 5:13 am #

    Rotating pen through my fingers like ultimately nonchalant cool kids in engineering college. Still can’t do it, still not cool.

  3. Pepper January 26, 2017 at 8:54 am #

    Oh wow, I realised after all these years that I can snap my fingers only with one hand.

    • princessbutter January 26, 2017 at 9:26 am #

      I snapped my fingers after reading this. Both hands!

Leave a Reply

