Day 23 : Rain soaked memories

24 Jan

The rain has been pouring down in Socal over the last week or so.As most people here are not used to rain, the traffic is a little crazy and people are fairly unhappy about it in general . Though the rain held us back from being out this Sunday , rains remind me fondly of the monsoons in Bombay growing up and I can’t help getting nostalgic with my favorite memories.

– Swimming in the pool in our Apartment complex and have the rain start suddenly. Swimming in the rain is definitely something everyone needs to try in their lifetime ! The only nasty part of monsoon season and the pool was the fact that leeches (the animal / bug variety  and not the human, though those were aplenty with rains or no rains by the swimming pool year around !)  would come out and line the sides of the pool. Ughhh!

– Enjoying hot onion pakodas with ketchup with the family on a rainy Sunday evening.

– Picking up my baby sister from kindegarten in the rain in the cab.  I must have been in class ten and on prep leave or something. I had to ensure her blye raincoat and muticolored umbrella were ready for her as she stepped out of class. She named her umbrella , “Lucy Ann Umbrell” and Lucy Ann lasted for a good 4 years atleast despite looking incredibly flimsy.Anyway I was allowed to bring her back by cab, instead of the bus when it rained and I remember feeling very grown up about it at age 14.

– Marine drive in the rain ! No other promenade will ever measure up in my eyes. The beauty of the sea swelling with the rains . And those sights of the water sometimes even hitting the divider of the street.

– Street food during the rains was always frowned upon by my mom for some reason. She apparently found it more unhygienic during those months than it usually isn’t, I guess. So instead we ended up in restaurants by marine drive after a trip outside often . Getting pizza at the Pizzeria – Jazz by the Bay with the family in the rain, atleast once every year during this time was a ritual.  I used to love getting a corner table and watching the rain pelting down. The smell of hot , delicious pizza and the rain together makes me smile even today .

– Buying rain shoes for school every year in June . And carrying spare socks to change out of once you got to school . 

– Buying a cute raincoat , the long kind through school and then a shorter , hipper one in college.

– Walking from the station to college and traversing huge potholes and mud puddles and traffic in the short 10 minute walk.

What are your favorite moments in the rain ?

8 Responses to “Day 23 : Rain soaked memories”

  1. jan January 24, 2017 at 1:24 am #

    I was caught in a snowstorm (!!!) couple of weeks ago in SoCal. Looks like you are getting the much needed rains all together in one go. My nostalgic memories are when schools closed due to excess rain, pestering my mom for hot bajjis and listening to the radio.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 24, 2017 at 1:33 am #

      Snowstorm !!?? Were you at Big Bear or something ?

      • jan January 24, 2017 at 1:52 am #

        This was somewhere near San Luis Obispo. Was driving back from LA and it was just brutal. I couldn’t believe I was seeing snow in that part of the country.

  2. princessbutter January 24, 2017 at 10:51 pm #

    Dude I can’t believe I ended up frying pakoras and tea! I was so in the mood. I made fresh masala for the tea too from scratch. Lol. I had two spinach plants that I hadn’t harvested yet. So I had a bunch of leaves and I made a small batch of palak pakoda in my tadka pan. It was a glorious Sunday.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 24, 2017 at 11:14 pm #

      Wonderful ! So nice to hear you took the effort ya. Impressed. Hey look at an air dryer if you want healthy guilt free pakodas. I am seriously considering

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 24, 2017 at 11:14 pm #

      Meant air fryer!

      • princessbutter January 24, 2017 at 11:37 pm #

        Haha! Yeah, I have seen a few of those at Target. Definitely considering one. Going to suggest mom also to get one so they can eat to their fill.

  3. anisnest January 26, 2017 at 2:55 am #

    it has been raining here last week too!! Today the weather is much better. Thinking of rain reminds me an evening during my childhood days. It was raining when I came back from school. I sneaked into the terrace without Amma’s attention and got soaked in rain for around 15 mins..Can’t forget that evening..

Leave a Reply

