Day 17 – The dads behind the moms

18 Jan

I work with a lot of women who are all moms. Apart from being a truly fun group to work with, we are all bonded by the common issues that plague most working moms. The biggest of these is the preschool and public school holidays that are usually not corporate days off. Take MLK this year for example. Our kids were all off, while we were at work. So all the 6 moms I work with had left their kids at home with their husbands who had either taken time off to support their wives or were officially off or in one case were stay at home dads !

In our own household , the husband was off from work that day, but had tons of work to finish up. As Bandar is fairly independent, he was able to do his work uninterrupted most of the day but if course fed her   and it worked out well. But this is just one of the many ways he comes through as a great dad. I am not elaborating on the several things he does , but a few include – making Bandar and my lunch boxes , Bandar’s baths , Bandar’s hair – perfect every time, feed Bandar breakfast, make perfect dosas …The list goes on . These should basically be things every dad should do , but of course when I see a lot of desi dads in our friend circle and families  who are mere sperm donors and nothing else, it makes me feel blessed.Glad I did something right in marrying this guy !

6 Responses to “Day 17 – The dads behind the moms”

  1. anisnest January 18, 2017 at 4:34 am #

    In this country, with both working it goes without say that both has to play equal part in sharing household chores and taking care of kids.. I am not saying they shouldn’t do otherwise but it doesn’t come naturally for men to share unless the women also works full time especially in Indian community..

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 18, 2017 at 6:17 am #

      Agree that it doesn’t come naturally to Desi men to help their wives – be it working or not working , they have never seen their own dads help their moms afterallm. I think even SAHM need dads to step it up with sharing a few child related jobs..Helps bond the dad and child too. Rujuta Diwekar, the Desi nutritionist suggests dads make a Desi breakfast for their kids and I think this is the kind of small steps Desi dads need to make

  2. princessbutter January 18, 2017 at 6:07 am #

    I have one of those desi dad as a neighbor. I could have punched him.

  3. Greenboochi January 18, 2017 at 2:28 pm #

    Although we are non-parents, there are number of things S does for me through out the day that I feel I did the right thing by standing against the world for marrying him 🙂 So, I can understand your pride!

Leave a Reply

