Day 16 Fast food

17 Jan

Some of favorite memories of my first two years in America as a Grad student are those clandestine visits  to meet the Husband, then the boyfriend.During one of those visits he introduced me Taco Bell on his campus and oh man, did I pig out ! Chalupas, crunch wraps and the fire sauce. Taco Bell is clearly one fast food chain that has some veggie options and this starving grad student was a fan. Anyway years have passed ( 9 to be precise ) and I would think twice before going to a Taco Bell now. Mainly because of the questionable hygiene ( maybe an issue only in my imagination).

 We live a stone’s throw away to pretty much every fast food option in America . Chic fil a , McDonald’s, Taco Bell, In N Out, El Pollo loco ( this one cracks Bandar and me up as we translate it with our limited Spanish knowledge into ‘ The Crazy Chicken) – they are all represented. 

As these fast food joints are in the same strip mall as our grocery stores , we pass them most evenings after work and school .The drive through line at these places on any night is insane ! I am amazed at the number of people who settle for fast food every night in this country. I get that it’s affordable, fast , tasty and convenient  and appeals to all age groups. At the same time though, I am appalled that folks don’t mind filling their bodies and feeding their families poor quality food night after night. 

I love shows like one Jamie Oliver did a few years ago pushing showing small town America how to really cook at home and at schools.Sadly these shows are too few and far between and people are either ignorant or truly don’t care. I also  live in a fairly decent sized city , so these problems  are not limited to just the small towns. Thinking about the population in my neighborhood, I am assuming it is mostly working professionals , majority being college educated or the older generation. Clearly good jobs and education don’t impact food choices. Our extremely well educated friend recently told us quite frankly that his kitchen is never used and he pretty much lives off fast food.

I don’t want to appear holier than thou with this post by any means. If and when I get over my cleanliness hangups , I will probably make it into a Taco Bell sometime in the near future.But even then , it’s not a choice I recommend to anyone more than occasionally or for a treat, if that’s your thing.

8 Responses to “Day 16 Fast food”

  1. princessbutter January 17, 2017 at 11:28 pm #

    It’s not just in your head! Hygiene is definitely questionable at a Taco Bell. I have read this book called The Fast Food Nation and it has pretty much put me off fast food chains forever. Except In n Out, where they have legitimately fresh food.

  2. anisnest January 18, 2017 at 3:31 am #

    this is the topic we were discussing at work on Friday and everyone was unanimously voting against Taco bell esp. from the hygiene perspective.. I watched a documentary last week about generation of “GMO seeds”.. It was a food for thought show that made me think a lot…

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 18, 2017 at 6:09 am #

      Wow..Can’t believe so many people find Tacobell unhygienic. Will check out the show you mentioned

      • princessbutter January 18, 2017 at 6:11 am #

        Yeah, Taco Bell, And Jack in the Box have been proven responsible for Salmonella and E. Coli outbreaks in the 90s and 2000s.

  3. Greenboochi January 18, 2017 at 3:29 pm #

    The number of fast food options in Bangalore have grown enormously in the last few years I have been here. Actually not only in Bangalore, even in our small town in Chennai. People are thronging these places as it is easy, convenient and the food is tasty too. People like my in-laws and parents have not given up their ways of life but at the same time, people of our generation seem to have gone to the other side. For us, it takes a lot of consciousness to not give in to the temptation of eating out.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 19, 2017 at 12:27 am #

      I am not surprised that India is like this now as it is only a few years behind the west for most negative things.

Leave a Reply

