Day 13 – Will power

14 Jan

When I was in elementary school, we used to have a cooking class atleast once a month. The class was divided into small groups and taken into the school kitchen to cook up something delicious. Being the only vegetarian in class , I remember having much trepidation as I walked into the kitchen as sometimes the dishes cooked were not exactly vegetarian friendly – sausage rolls and mince pies , are two distinct memories. I used to politely opt out from even meat handling on these occasions , despite strict Ms. Philips disapproving glare.

But there were often lovely pleasant cooking experiences, mostly related to baked goods. My favorite cooking experience was baking gingerbread men. My Desi taste buds and palate clearly loved ginger even at the age of 7 and I remember stirring the dark, thick batter with my class and then popping it in the oven. We read the story of the Gingerbread man as we waited for it to be done and then used the cute gingerbread men  cutters to cut and portion out the cookies. We each got to take home three cookies in a brown paper bag and went back to our regular class room with our bags. Several kids decided to eat their cookies thorough afternoon school and on the bus back home. But not me, I wanted to share it with my parents so I hugged my delicious brown paper bag close to me and occasionally opened it up for a good sniff of ginger. Once I got off the bus, my helper took me home , I placed the bag at a corner of the dining table and proceeded to wait two hours till my mom got home. I finally opened the bag only with her and tasted the divine ginger bread. 

So I wonder how it’s possible that 7 year old me could have had that much will power  to resist  tasting the goodies , but 31 year old me struggled intensely for maybe 2 minutes to avoid a cupcake before finally  caving? I am so disappointed with myself right now !

 

6 Responses to “Day 13 – Will power”

  1. anisnest January 14, 2017 at 8:05 am #

    Tell.me about this.. I had a whole piece of baklava today afternoon *hides face in shame*

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 19, 2017 at 12:28 am #

      Hopefully your gym sessions take care if the baklava πŸ™‚ But yes , one rule I keep reading about is you can never outwork a bad diet. Here, I am neither working out or dieting

  2. freakyveggie January 15, 2017 at 12:30 am #

    Haha… may be all those years of waiting has turned you into this 😊
    But your school sounds so cool, baking and all !

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 19, 2017 at 12:29 am #

      Yes, maybe years of denying myself . Yup, I was lucky to study in several schools both within and outside India growing up.

  3. Greenboochi January 18, 2017 at 7:16 pm #

    I would have loved such a cooking session at school.. sounds so cool πŸ™‚ Guess what Pop, I am still like that..I mean I hardly treat myself until the husband is home. Growing up, it was the sister. It works to my advantage as well as my disadvantage. I have the will power to wait, but when husband is home he feeds me much more than I would have normally ate. Sigh. And I cant bring myself to eat anything all alone.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 19, 2017 at 12:27 am #

      Wow..Hats off that you are still like this. I have no will power now:)

Leave a Reply

