Day 12 – Cayotes

13 Jan

When Bandar and I heard there were a herd of wild cayotes spotted around our neighborhood this winter, we got really excited . We both are scaredy cats / cowardy custards when it comes to facing wild animals head on , but the thought of seeing them on the road from the safety of our car appealed to us. After explaining to Bandar first that cayotes hung around our neighborhood as we had encroached upon their habitat , and it was really their home first , we looked out for them every day on our drive back from school and drove down the darkest lanes trying to spot them . Alas,in vain. We never saw one but read multiple posts on Nextdoor ( app to track neighborhood happenings ) about sightings and pets being eaten:(

Anyway, after a month or so of this, we gave up trying to spot them. But one night in early December ,as I drove home alone I actually saw one! It crossed the street right ahead of my car and disappeared into the overgrowth on the side. I rushed home excitedly to tell a disappointed Bandar. This was the only day that month that the husband had to pick her up instead of me. I had actually taken the same path home as I usually do with her and it was a sheer coincidence that Bandar missed the sighting .

Anyway Christmas brought with it lighted homes and thus streets and no cayote sighting for us , though the neighborhood apparently still same then aplenty. I explained my light streets concept to Bandar and she has now decided it makes sense and we should keep our eyes open for them starting again in Feb , when lazy  people like us truly take down their lights.

3 Responses to “Day 12 – Cayotes”

  1. princessbutter January 13, 2017 at 3:33 am #

    In my first month in US, I was chilling by the pool on a lounge chair after sundown. Something trotted past my feet, just a few inches away and what I expected to be a small dog was actually a coyote! I did not know then that they could be dangerous and the stupid me was considering cooing at it.

    • princessbutter January 13, 2017 at 3:34 am #

      By a small dog, I meant skinny German Shepherd. Hehe

      • popgoesthebiscuit January 14, 2017 at 1:19 am #

        Have heard the exact same description..Skinny , muscular German Shepherd. Also my quick 30 min glance in the dark verified the same .

Leave a Reply

