Day 9 – Stubbed

10 Jan

I hate cutting my own toe nails ( TMI , I know), much rather preferring a nice pedicure instead. But of course a pedicure involves taking time for yourself and I haven’t had that off late. So I let my toe nails grow a tad and told myself I would get to them in due course and that no one could see my ugly toes under boots during winter.

Anyway, my nails were definitely not huge. Just a tad longer than they usually are. On Saturday morning , as I cleaned the house for the cleaner , I stubbed my toe terribly on our carpeted staircase and crumbled with the pain. Further close examination showed that my nail on the big toe was off the nail bed and bleeding. It’s still not fallen off but definitely detached from the sides.Talk about the pain , Or I much rather won’t .Just take my word for it when I say it comes dangerously close to childbirth. 

Anyway the husband bandaged it up. Bandar ran around being helpful and instructed me to not think about the pain as said bandaging was underway . And I hobbled along the rest of the weekend . I am still debating seeing a doc about it . The husband thinks I should but I honestly don’t want more prodding and needles and would prefer it run its course , turn black and blue and fall off on its own.

So lesson to self, get the damn pedicure next time!

5 Responses to “Day 9 – Stubbed”

  1. princessbutter January 10, 2017 at 5:25 am #

    Ouch! My tummy did backflips reading this. Toe stubs are the worst! Ice it often.
    The xBF had an accident once where a futon frame snapped shut at the joint and he was holding it there. His thumb nail got pierced in the center. My tummy still cramps up at the memory. I had forced him to take ibuprofen to sleep without pain. The doc didn’t even touch it and simply said it will grow out and fall off. And it did. Sheesh.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 10, 2017 at 9:26 pm #

      Oh man..Sounds painful. Glad doc didn’t do anything do. I am planning on skipping doc altogether here

  2. Greenboochi January 11, 2017 at 4:18 pm #

    Ouch!! I can imagine the excruciating pain. Big hugs, Pop.

  3. anisnest January 13, 2017 at 4:01 am #

    hope you are feeling better now.. It must have been more painful to wear the boots..

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 14, 2017 at 1:18 am #

      Yes! Still in pain despite it being 6 days. Should see a doc soon if not better.Boots especially have been a beast

Leave a Reply

