Day 8 – Sugar

9 Jan

On Thursday AM of this week,  I decided that I need to get a handle on my sugar consumption. The holidays are done and during that time I went a little over board . Candy – Lindt truffles to be precise were at easy access and I never thought twice about cake twice a day and a sweet brunch on some days. But now I am hating the way the indulgence is showing up on my body and it’s high time I took control.

So I decided a diet if some sort was called for.I can not give up on white carbs just yet. I love rice in its various forms. Neither was I going give up my Peanut butter ( with tons of sugar – this is not the boring natural wholefoods PB. It is the bad for you Jif ) and toast in the morning, just yet. It will slowly get replaced with oats but not immediately.  I had great success doing a no sugar diet plus lots of salads in Jan of last year and lasted about three weeks.So I thought I could do this again with little effort.

Thursday was hard, especially craving a little something sweet after a meal. But I got through. This is despite my office area being flooded with candy.

Friday again started with the toast and PB and I thought that as my little daily indulgence was done,  I would be able to be good the rest of the day . Sadly after a poor lunch I gave in and had a Hersheys nugget,  but it wasnt as satisfying as I wanted it to be . Friday evening we went out for dinner and I ate semi healthy – brown rice and a tofu lemongrass stirfry. But after dinner, the husband suggested stopping by our local bakery , mainly to get Bandar cream puffs and I obliged. Of course we got ourselves two giant slices of pastry to share. And tucked in to them at home . Delicious ! So there went my no sugar plans on Friday. 

Anyway, I started afresh with resolve on Saturday morning and had one more successful day. 

Sunday I was determined to have a second day of no sugar. After a playdate by the lake, we decided to head for lunch. We went to our favorite ramen place and Bandar asked if we could get boba drinks after. And I just cannot resist boba! So we found a new to us boba shop in the vicinity of our favorite ramen haunt and to our surprise it served other delicious desserts as well as the standard boba drinks. After seeing others order it, we got a puffle ! Isn’t that the cutest dessert name ever?

The cone itself is a puffed waffle cone, so much tastier than just a regular waffle cone , when you bite into soft pillows in the crisp waffle. It comes filled with vanilla custard and we got popping mango boba added to ours and a chocolate drizzle. Delicious. We shared ours but trust me when I say I had the majority as the husband and Bandar had boba drinks as well.

So here I go again , trying to start a new week sugar free !

A few practical insights from my two days of no sugar :

– Meals need to be filling and have enough good fat. I added half an avacado to my lunch and it kept me so satisfied. 

– For the after meal sugar craving, I  have found naturally sun dried mango bits ( exactly like aam papad ) to help with my sugar cravings and I am making my way through a bag I found at Costco. Need to practice moderation though.

– At home, the candy needs to be out of sights and hidden. Same for the cookies.

-When I cut sugar , I tend to eat other unhealthy fried stuff. I went for store brought mixture yesterday. It’s like I give myself permission to take on a new vic.Will limit for now and then stop .

-Water intake needs to be high. Mine is abysmal.

– And you need a supportive family. Mine is adorable but not really supportive when it comes to no sugar ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Responses to “Day 8 – Sugar”

  1. Greenboochi January 9, 2017 at 3:14 pm #

    Last point – Tell me about it. Having S around means I cant follow any such things. Just last night, he offered me a piece of plum cake. I really cant say no to sweets when I am offered them. And this guy does nothing but to trigger my sweet cravings. It is adorable how he does these things, but not supportive. Sigh.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 10, 2017 at 2:02 am #

      Ya unless your spouse does this with you, this is hard to follow through with on your own.

  2. princessbutter January 9, 2017 at 10:20 pm #

    Dude, I started too, but failed right away. I had a bag of caramel popcorn. Well, I needed it because I was re-reading HP5 and Sirius was… well…..
    I am atleast trying to cut out carbs for a couple of weeks. Sticking to soups and salads. It’s too cold for my usual smoothies.

    • princessbutter January 9, 2017 at 10:21 pm #

      Also, Puffle is adorbs! Let’s get Ramen sometime.

      • popgoesthebiscuit January 10, 2017 at 1:56 am #

        Yes , let’s get ramen when we meet ๐Ÿ™‚
        No sugar is harder than it seems for sure

  3. perspectivesandprejudices January 9, 2017 at 10:53 pm #

    I find it really helpful to avoid buying junk and stocking at home. So for a few weeks now, we’ve been on a buying no junk food phase and are stocking the kitchen with healthy snacks like sprouts salad instead. The office is another matter – constantly stocked with sugary stuff. I find myself reaching for an Oreo cookie before lunch every day ๐Ÿ˜

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 10, 2017 at 1:57 am #

      Buying no junk definitely helps and actually eating a good meal helps too

  4. anisnest January 13, 2017 at 3:09 am #

    this sounds like a never ending story of my life.. I am trying to give up on carbs and sugar but not there yet.. My workplace too has easy access to snickers and milky way that I end up eating one or two every day.. every single day ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

