Day 7 – Cleaning up

8 Jan

My cleaner comes home every three weeks. In the one hour leading up to her visit, I tidy up both the upstairs and downstairs quite efficiently. If you add another 30 minutes to that, I even have kitchen dishes loaded and laundry loaded. So it’s simply a matter of giving up that 1.5 hrs each week for a beautiful , tidy home. I am only talking about the superficial cleaning here. My cleaner of course spends 6 hours after that deep cleaning. But the superficial cleaning alone is enough to last us between cleans if we do it. However , regular life takes over and I am unable to spare the 15 minutes each night to pick up stuff around me. I don’t bother doing it until I absolutely have to with the cleaner due that day. 

It’s not that I haven’t tried. I have and I have even  tried to involve Bandar in this daily clean up to make it go faster. But the root cause is of course the fact that we are super lazy and inconsistent in building any positive  habit , that it’s easier to go through our regular daily evening  routine and make our way through piles of junk everywhere instead of picking it up. I wonder if we will ever change.

5 Responses to “Day 7 – Cleaning up”

  1. Nuttie Natters January 8, 2017 at 12:12 pm #

    Strange you should be writing this – I just blogged about how I had resolved to spend 15 mins a day, cleaning up my house and I am just not able to do that. Sigh Sigh Sigh!

    Maybe we can motivate each other in this!

    Happy new year to you and yours! Here;s to a tidier living space to us!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2017 at 11:29 pm #

      Cleaning everyday is no joke ya. Just read your resolutions. Awesome resolves !

  2. Bhavani January 9, 2017 at 12:22 am #

    Same here ya!! It is not that I can’t spare 15 mins.. the laziness takes over….

    The other day when I asked my kid to clean up her room, she asks me ‘Who is coming home’…felt so ashamed because we really make a real effort only when we have visitors!!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 9, 2017 at 6:26 am #

      Daily cleaning seems wonderful in principle but impossible to execute

  3. anisnest January 12, 2017 at 6:08 am #

    Can relate to this.. we go through this before my cooking aunty comes 🙂

Leave a Reply

