Day 6 : If not this, then what ?

7 Jan

A few days ago , an ex colleague of mine posted on Facebook that she was retiring from the tech world to join a non profit. This got me thinking about what I would do, if not my current day job. And honestly I am at a loss.

I am not particularly creative or talented in any way, so most professional arts positions are out. I don’t really deeply  care for any cause right now , which of course could change as I grow older. But even then, I doubt I will strive to work full time in a non profit, rather preferring to volunteer when I can.

I am fascinated by the overall profession of life coaches. This seems an easy enough gig, though I am sure it of course isn’t. But helping people lead more meaningful lives seems like something I might be interested in. I am not completely  sure if this involves all of these aspects –  food, health, fitness , professional and personal lives and more  , Or if it is limited to a few of these. But either way I think this is something I can possibly do well in. 

I have thought about being a realtor. I mainly got interested when we bought our own house. I know this is a tough profession to break into , especially as Realtors are dime a dozen . But it definitely is something I am open to.

Freelancing , writing for a website or magazine is another career I am open to trying. This is obviously going to be hard to break into as well, especially as I have not written professionally before. 

Another profession would possibly be pre school teaching or even elementary school teaching. Both of these of course require infinite patience and I sometimes wonder if I will have that with kids who aren’t my own. I might actually be more suited for an administrative role in a preschool or school , rather than a teaching one itself. This is mainly because I know I am fairly good at organizing structure from chaos and from the pre schools I have seen chaos is a plenty. 

I also have thought about waitressing or being a barrista at a coffee shop. But then I am not a fan of dirty plates and tables , and meat handling might be hard for me.So again a restaurant manager position without having to actually handle plates might be nice. 

So those are my professional alternatives.

What are yours ??

7 Responses to “Day 6 : If not this, then what ?”

  1. princessbutter January 7, 2017 at 12:34 pm #

    You are a manager! Totally! With every option you listed, mostly have been administrative/being in charge/manager. You can actually fit in anywhere.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2017 at 1:26 am #

      Haha.. doubt most professions will take me in at that level without the preliminary experience

  2. freakyveggie January 7, 2017 at 10:59 pm #

    I think I would be a elementary school teacher !

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2017 at 1:26 am #

      Nice ! Assume you are a very patient person

      • freakyveggie January 8, 2017 at 7:59 am #

        Haha, you interpreted my comment in that way ? I chose it since i can’t do anything other than the current software job 😄

  3. Bhavani January 9, 2017 at 12:17 am #

    OMG!! My life is bonded to this stupid IT industry.. depressing!!

    No other talent which would fetch me money and stay at home is not an option!!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 10, 2017 at 2:04 am #

      Hear ya. Stay at home and less dough is not an option here either . But it’s nice to think about alternatives once in a while

Leave a Reply

