Day 4 – Food at home

5 Jan

A few months ago I was overwhelmed with cooking and having food on the table each day  for my family in general. I was frustrated with the whole planning, cooking , cleaning process each day and all the frustration grew to me almost disliking home cooked  food as a whole.  My days of scouring food blogs and recipes seemed to be in the distant past .

So after a lot of searching ( this service is apparently hard to find in SD) , I  hired a Desi lady to come home once a week for two hours to cook for us. My cook now shows up at the crack of dawn on Thursday mornings as this is literally the only slot she has open all week.She cooks 3-4 things at lightening speed. They are predominantly north Indian dishes. 

This arrangement worked well the first few months, we enjoyed coming home to food in the fridge that simply had to be heated up . But we slowly  grew tired of the dishes and style of cooking. Coupled with the fact that I like a handful of veggies only and the fact that she refuses to learn to cook anything beyond her area of expertise , we have only a few things in rotation that work for us in this arrangement. Also the whole buying groceries in advance, waking up earlier than her arrival to have stuff laid out, and have things put away and cleaned up after cooking is a job in itself. She is a like a hurricane in the kitchen and pretty much leaves it as a disaster zone. Once she even left the gas running on low, and as the husband who leaves after her is in a hurry himself to get out , he missed catching it and our stove burned merrily till I got home at 6 pm to a hot kitchen.As the food is so monotonous after 2 days  , we end up making something else or eating out and  sometimes this leads to wasting some of it after having it in the fridge for 10 days plus. One positive outcome of hiring this cook, is that Bandar now enjoys rotis and a super bland  subji atleast two to three days a week and looks forward to her arrival each week. As I don’t make rotis and never intend to learn, this is almost a treat for her . ( She doesn’t starve the rest of the week , we do fine with rice, millets , quinoa, bread etc

Oh and my house smells like an Indian restaurant on Thursday mornings . Thought I usually don’t mind this smell myself, I don’t want to smell like it all day and also subject others around me to it.So I get myself ready for work behind closed doors upstairs and somehow trying to avoid getting the masala smell in myself before I head to work. 

In short, you would think having cooked Desi food at home would get us to eat healthier and be more cost effective. But I really doubt it is. We are paying for a cook and wasting a good amount of food each week and eating out just as much if not more.

Anyway, I am scared to lose this service  despite its many faults . I know my work and life are going to get super hectic in the next few months and I will be able to do only even lesser than what i currently do in the kitchen. Plus I might have family visiting this year . So having the onus of cooking Indian food not on me, seems like a blessing. So I am hoping this arrangement continues through 2017.

7 Responses to “Day 4 – Food at home”

  1. anisnest January 5, 2017 at 4:05 am #

    I have been through the same too and now have a cook who comes home every sat. Going good so far.. I get what you are saying about getting bored with the taste and dishes..

  2. Bhavani January 5, 2017 at 12:07 pm #

    Same happened to us.. and she used to make tons of food.. so ended up wasting.. had her when my kids were very small.. but now I don’t feel the need and make my own rotis also…so far so good.. let’s see..

    But the person at our home learnt to make Sambar, thuvaiyal, cocunut based South Indian curries etc.. though she was a Punjabi and that was her comfort zone..

    Enjoy atleast the free time!!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 6, 2017 at 7:10 am #

      Ours is a Punjabi too. I tried to teach her a kootu for a change but as she comes in the morning before work , it is impossible to devote more time to the teaching. If I give her “complex” directions and leave to get ready she gets pissed and has told me to find someone else. Lot of is in defiance too. Pav bhaji which I taught her , I have told her to mash but no she leaves it like alu mutter. Giant pieces.

  3. freakyveggie January 6, 2017 at 12:07 am #

    Leaving the stove turned on sounds scary, keep an eye on her

  4. Greenboochi January 6, 2017 at 3:16 pm #

    A lot of friends here have cooks too. I am sure it is much affordable and convenient here than overseas. However, the issue of food wastage, not willing to learn or leaving behind a disaster zone are common issues here as well. I can’t imagine letting someone else take over my kitchen but that said, every morning I am found literally running like a headless chicken.

Leave a Reply

