Day 3 – Our nighttime ritual 

4 Jan

We cosleep and Bandar and I usually go to bed together. I try to force myself to get up after she sleeps to deal with kitchen stuff or work stuff but usually I get to it only in the morning. Sleeping before 8:30 am forces me awake refreshed at 5:30 am and I have plenty of time for stuff before I leave for work at 8 am.

After the bed time book is read ( right now we are doing the Enchanted wood series and I think 4 is absolutely the perfect age to share this classic with your child ) , Bandar and I list out five of our favorite parts of the day . 

I have now added a new rule to this that atleast two of these parts need to be at school, that way she is sharing something other than – “you letting me pick my dress today morning ” Or ” you combing me hair today”. When we started this 1.5 years ago I set the wrong precedence of only sharing my favorite moments that involved Bandar and I – like “morning cuddles”, “dinner time together ” or “pick up”. Then I realized recently that my life is more than just being a mom and I need to let my child see that and share other moments as well. So now I include stuff like “a good presentation ” or “an effective meeting” but break it down into the simplest of words for her to understand. Doing this myself and having a rule in place for her to share about school too , gives me a smallish glimpse into her day.

After the 5 favorite moments , we share any moment that made us each sad. This allows us to fix anything negative that transpired between me and her that day. 

Lastly, we share something funny that happened. This she usually shares something from her day at school and I am amazed at how her sense of humor grows as she develops. Her anecdotes are now actually funny and make me giggle. 

Bandar than turns on her side , instructs I don’t hug her and don’t come on her pillow  and tries to fall asleep . The husband tells me that she is practically curled into me as the night goes on but she definitely likes distance before she is fully asleep. 

I love this ritual of ours and I really want to to keep it going even when she transitions to her own bed/ room ( if ever).

13 Responses to “Day 3 – Our nighttime ritual ”

  1. anisnest January 4, 2017 at 4:34 am #

    That a sweet ritual. I am also trying to follow this bedtime book reading ritual with LHB on.most days.. is this series good for boys too?

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 5, 2017 at 4:15 am #

      I find chapter books give us something to look forward to each night..Like next part of the story .And at 4 I think Bandar is ready for this kind of book. I am a huge Enid blyton fan , buy a load of her books second hand from Amazon , and this book is a childhood fav of mine, but you can essentially do any other book that you like.

  2. Boomerang January 4, 2017 at 7:01 am #

    That’s a lovely ritual. This reminds me that I should also start sleeping early to have an energetic morning!

  3. Greenboochi January 4, 2017 at 2:45 pm #

    That’s such a sweet ritual Pop 🙂 I might actually steal this idea of yours to implement with the husband *hopefully it should work*

    I remembered something else reading about how Bandar wants her distance before falling asleep. I used to do this with my mom too. I wanted her on the bed with me and she should be within my reachable distance so that I could put my leg on her and she, her hand on me. Apart from that, nothing else should touch. Such a silly demand, but my mom did it for me for many years 😀

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 5, 2017 at 4:11 am #

      Let me know how it goes! Bandar Definitely hates being touched when before she falls asleep . Unlike me who likes cuddling

  4. freakyveggie January 4, 2017 at 11:49 pm #

    That’s a very sweet ritual Pop, I should try this with A too !

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 5, 2017 at 4:12 am #

      How old is A? We have been doing this since Bandar has been almost 2.5 and it works well for ua

      • freakyveggie January 6, 2017 at 9:41 am #

        A is 9 years old Pop ! Am sure A would also like it !

  5. Dil On The Rocks January 5, 2017 at 2:12 am #

    That’s so cute. We do something similar. I ask about the best thing of the day, bad thing and then how they helped others or what nice thing they did for others. Sometimes the best thing about the day is how they did something nice for others, and that just makes me soooo happy. 🙂

  6. Meena January 5, 2017 at 9:48 am #

    Good one! I should give this a try.

Leave a Reply

