Apologies & Atonement

19 May

 

So much to say but first of all some apologies are due to the handful of readers I used to have. I didn’t mean to disappear into empty webspace like that for months on end. But the thing about missing a few days of blogging is that it leads to weeks and weeks and then everything you want to say seems just insignificant and silly and you think several times before you start typing! Then when you do ultimately beat that bug down and start typing, you struggle with deciding what portion of the absence to cover – everything from the point where you left off or just the new, recent and more relevant stuff. Anyway, the only fix I can think of here is to blog myself out with daily blogging and participate in some sort of a challenge. Though the April Alphabet challenge dates are waaay past, I am going to jump on it well into May and blog through. I might not blog on weekends and I might interrupt the Alphabet challenge with other posts as I think of them, but for now I think this challenge will help me get back on track and allow me to share snippets of our life around here.

So while I am going to try to cover the highlights of my absence in the alphabet series of posts here is a quick preview of what’s been happening:

 

  • The big news first is that I no longer work from home and this is great for my family’s sanity and my own! I did make the work from home and work travel thing work for over two years and I feel incredibly blessed that my previous company let me pursue my career fairly successfully from wherever I pleased. But the right opportunity came alone unexpectedly, like these things typically do, and interviews were given and offers made and I quit my first job, which I had held for 8 years with mixed feelings. And I am now 4 weeks into my new job. Wish me all the luck you can , blogging universe as I am realizing I am going to need it
  • Bandar continues to grow and surprise us each day. I am thoroughly enjoying this phase of motherhood .Maybe this is because she routinely tells me that “ I am her best friend ever” , but it is also because I feel there is so much more I can do with her now ,than when she was a toddler or an infant. We recently spent an evening at the mall shopping for clothes for me, and for a few minutes there I thought I was with a little tween atleast. She had clear opinions on what I should buy for myself and was equal parts supportive friend and harsh critic.
  • Exercise happens in bursts and spurts and I continue struggling with those constant 5-7 lbs I want to be rid off. Jillian Michaels, God bless her, is what I strive to do but can never seem to find time for consistently every day. I have realized that my time with Bandar takes precedence over exercise and I try to fit in what I can into my day. I have started walking with a  friend about thrice a week on weekday mornings before work and I am hoping a brisk walk (though it barely compares with HIIT )and some sort of smart eating will help me atleast not gain any more weight, even if I do not shed anything.
  • Food continues to be the highlight of most of my days and I notice this especially when Bandar and I are recollecting our happiest moments of the day to each other every night. I usually either mention the lunch sandwich I ate at my desk, or the hurried 10 minute dinner I grabbed at the kitchen table with her. We have found some places that we absolutely love in San Diego and I fight the fight against my temptations each weekend to go out and have a calorie splurge
  • The husband and I continue to squabble and make up and grow together. He remains my best friend (sorry little Bandar) and I find myself telling myself a 100 times each week that I am glad I married this man.
  • Spring in all its glory is wonderful to experience as a new homeowner. I did not trust anyone who told us we had Jasmine in our teeny tiny side yard, but one fine day we woke up to a sea of pretty white flowers blooming amongst the green and even I who actually treat flowers with much disdain, actually admired them. We got a few fruit trees put in too and though we do not have fruit currently, and might not even next year, it is all exciting stuff to somehow look forward to. And we actually sat in our little spa as a family last weekend and though this seems like something we should have done several times since we moved in, it was the very first. I complained about it being too cold to do something like that all winter long (San Diego winter and a heated spa, but go figure!) and now that we have Summer to look forward to, I cannot wait to do it more often, right in our backyard.
  • I bought myself a second hand bike! Yeah! I am nervous biker if there ever was one and will most likely be pushing it down slopes. But I am still excited now to find a deal on a second hand guy’s bike and a child carrier to go on family bike rides.
  • We are doing a 3 day vacay at the end of the month and short though it is, I cannot wait.
  • My sister might be visiting me this summer , fingers crossed and we are actually going to spend 2 full months together! This is something we haven’t done since I moved out in 2006 and she was 12 years old. So much has changed and we are now actually adults, though we bicker like kids. I can’t wait to feed her homecooked food, watch her play with Bandar and take her to all our favorite spots around. Even the mundane things like ballet class is going to be fun with her in tow and I cannot wait to share our daily life with her.

How is that for a newsy come back post!

 

13 Responses to “Apologies & Atonement”

  1. Arch May 19, 2016 at 11:52 am #

    Good to see you back Pop! Congratulations on the new job and the new bike!! You have lovely plans lined up.. Enjoy! 🙂

  2. princessbutter May 19, 2016 at 9:01 pm #

    Back and how! Even I planted star jasmine in my patio! I used to follow my nose for taking in the fragrance from office or apartment bushes, then I found out the name and got it. 🙂
    Aah the spa… So J! 😀

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 19, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

      You know, I actually don’t care for flowers. So its weird I actually like the ones in my garden

      • princessbutter May 19, 2016 at 9:42 pm #

        Your home must be smelling divine in a breeze. What fruits did you put in? I got inspired by Arch and Abhi-Nisha and got Tomatoes, Cucumber, Jalapeño and spearmint 2 days back.

      • popgoesthebiscuit May 19, 2016 at 9:44 pm #

        Peach and Orange. We have lemon apparently but nothing has bloomed yet. I started a veggie patch but nothing

      • princessbutter May 19, 2016 at 9:45 pm #

        Okie. It will be so exciting when they bloom and give fruits! Fresh and free of chemicals.

  3. More than words May 19, 2016 at 9:52 pm #

    It’s so good to read you after a long time… I could so relate to the first part of your post as I’m currently going through the same phase…. Everything seems so insignificant when you are out of it for a while… Best wishes on the new job !! Ur plans for the summer seem to be perfect …have fun 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 19, 2016 at 9:52 pm #

      Hi MTW! Do write ya. Once you actually publish you get your mojo back

  4. My Era May 20, 2016 at 12:07 am #

    Welcome back, so glad to see a post from you 🙂
    Congratulations and best wishes for the new job, blooming Jasmine and the bike.
    I echo your thoughts in wondering if my little girl is a teen already with the kind of amazing fashion & shopping sense she has.
    Good luck with the A to Z challenge and I can’t wait to read more from you.

  5. Bhavani May 20, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

    Welcome back girl!! missed your updates for sure….Wonderful updates to make up for the time gone!! All the very best with your new Role… Looking forward to your regular posts now:)

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 20, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      Hi B! Thanks ya. Need all the good wishes and luck:) hope all good with you!!

Leave a Reply

