In which I don’t know what I want

9 Feb

Every few days the husband will start his push for a puppy. He will  send me adorable pictures of pups (he knows I am partial to anything that is spaniel mix ) and we will start the why-can’t-we-have- a pet-conversation. This conversation seems to be happening too frequently nowadays, maybe after we have moved to SD and have put down some sort or roots here. My reasons for not getting a puppy remain the same each time we talk and I know they are all banal excuses. They are too much work which honestly I do not think I can put in, they are an expense which I rather we don’t spend on right now, they are a hindrance to travel, both our extended families are not keen on the idea and I dread dealing with their visits and a pet, and I am a wuss when it comes to dealing with pet deaths. This doesn’t mean we will never have a pet –it just means that I am not ready for one right now at this phase in my life. While the H and I love dogs in general and will pet most (me –strictly not the strays, him – strays too), Bandar clearly dislikes them or is scared of them. Her fear and reluctance is mainly because she hasn’t been around them much and I dare say she will be fine if we get one a couple of weeks old. Anyway, I have told the H and B to go and volunteer in an animal rescue as a father-daughter thingee and once Bandar warms up to puppies in general, we can discuss if this is what we want for our family. I feel fairly safe with this premise as I know the husband will not initiate this kind of activity on his own and I am clearly not going to, so we probably don’t have to deal with the decision ever.

Anyway, we found ourselves at the mall this Saturday after we had dropped one of the cars at a service appointment. After hogging on burgers and fries(another story – good bye diet!), we wandered into a pet store. I actually have never been to a pet store before or even a pet rescue center or anything. But what I saw here was downright cruel. There were the cutest pups and kittens in the tiniest of cages – some jumping around excitedly, trying to get out and the majority just lying there.I mainly looked at the dogs and most of them didn’t even have the whole cage , small as it was to themselves. All seemed to be well known breeds and were priced from the $900s to 3000s range. I really am not even sure if they were all healthy as a few of them just didn’t seem like it, they probably were okay but just fed up of the tiny space.

One particularly adorable terrier, a little older than the others – 5 months old, seemed to be incredibly playful and friendly. He bounced all around his cage and he was the picture of fun. I nearly almost visualized taking him home for a few minutes. Then he seemed to get into a frenzy and for a good one minute tried to frantically get out , before plonking down for a good poop. And then he sniffed around it and I shut my eyes as I didn’t want to see him eat it. The H told me he didn’t. Anyway, this was perhaps the most pitiful sight of them all. He clearly needed space , to run free and had finally given up and pooped on his bed. Ughh. I immediately told the shop girl about the poop but she seemed to not care and did not show any sign of cleaning the cage in our presence. Bandar kept questioning why I felt sorry for the pup and I asked her how she would like it if I boxed her up in half her crib and made her poop and pee in it. I left with a heavy heart and just saddened by what I had seen.

This does not end with us getting the terrier home, though the H was ready to on the spot. I just walked away thinking about whether this was really the right source if I ever did get a dog. I wanted to atleast rescue one animal from the horrible little cage, but maybe a humane society or rescue organization was a better source. I am fairly sure that I do not want to go to a breeder. It also made me wonder, why I am okay with zoos but hated this pet shop. Maybe because of the distinction of wild and pet animals in my head. I wish life was simple and that I was brave enough to make a hasty decision and get a puppy home without thinking too much but it isn’t and I am simply not that person.

13 Responses to “In which I don’t know what I want”

  1. princessbutter February 9, 2016 at 5:48 am #

    I am so glad you did not buy the pup. The mothers go through so much cruelty that it’s almost sinful to pay for a living thing from the pet shop. It breaks my heart to see the babies in such a horrible condition. I highly believe in ‘don’t shop, adopt’.
    I think it’s definitely a good idea to start volunteering and will get B ready for pets.
    When you do make up your mind, look up adoption lists in SD, LA and OC area. There are centers centered around breeds too if you want.

    • princessbutter February 9, 2016 at 5:51 am #

      Also, if you don’t end up adopting, the volunteering will still be such a nice thing to do. I should start it again.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 12, 2016 at 6:57 am #

      Did not know the moms being tortured bit man. Ya seen breed specfic rescue centers

  2. Dil On The Rocks February 9, 2016 at 8:52 am #

    I understand you not trying toadd to your workload. Same problem here. Achu, LOVES dogs. Just yesterday she played with a dog named magnet and the lady was saying looks like you need to get a dog . But I knew what my answer was ☺ Rescuing a pup makes absolute sense. Apparently magnet was rescued at a vets office. So you can try that and see if you like it. When you are ready, that is ☺

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 12, 2016 at 7:02 am #

      Magnet is a lovely name! Glad that Achu isn’t scared of them

  3. Arch February 9, 2016 at 11:24 am #

    Oh I would love to get a pup home! Just like you, we’ve had this conversation countless times. But here, it’s the other way round, with my husband explaining, why we can’t have one now. I really hope to get one, some day!

  4. Nitya February 9, 2016 at 10:54 pm #

    hey, what PB said. Do not look at buying from the shops. My heart (all too fragile after becoming a parent, ive discovered) breaks for the pets there. Adopt. believe it or not, humane organizations around have even more pitiful stories and cases just waiting to go to their forever families.
    We are waiting for my younger nutcase to turn 4 or 5, then thats th way we are planning to go too.All the best Pop.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 12, 2016 at 7:04 am #

      Think both kids being older than 4 is a good time as you say. That way they can help too. Part of me is hesitant to volunteer and hear the sad stories. I am 100% sure that volunteering will lead to the adoption fairly quickly.

  5. anisnest February 10, 2016 at 4:49 am #

    Volunteering sounds like a good idea.. I would love to have a pet too if someone else can take care of the responsibility of taking care of it.. At the most I can walk the dog..

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 12, 2016 at 7:05 am #

      Like you, I am fine with walking:) Its the other stuff that moms end up doing the most.

  6. Deepa February 10, 2016 at 10:45 pm #

    My kids have been pestering me for a pup for god knows when, my heart melts at the pictures they show to brain wash me. Right now I am at a no diaper changing, kids are slight grown up stage and do enjoy my free time and we can travel without any hassles, and we are able to save some money for the rainy day. I think getting a pup would dip into all of this. Pet sitters demand a hefty fee to walk or take care of your dogs. If they fall sick, then there goes few more dollars. I know I sound heartless, but I really do love puppies, I am this close to biting the bullet but holding on without letting in, let me see how long it continues. I am definitely not buying but will rescue if it comes down to that.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 12, 2016 at 7:06 am #

      Hear you on every point! Definitely not buying. Some mutts are actually very cute from what I have seen and also healthier from what I have heard. In my case, my kid is not pestering me yet , so can hold out a few more years I think

Leave a Reply

