Day 31 -Snow and more snow

1 Feb

A 2.5 hour drive that turned into an eight hour journey  through a snow storm.What a fine way to end the weekend!

We used our common sense and started our journey home fairly early at 9:30 AM, knowing fully well that we were in for a fine snow storm. We had chains to go over our tires and stopped to install them about 30 minutes in. But after but the husband and I being soaked to the bone trying to get them on,we realized something was probably wrong with the chains. They were the incorrect size. Anyway, we drove back about 30 minutes to another store and bought a new pair, but again they were the wrong  size. I finally went into the store again and asked for help which was available at a price of course. The guy finally got us the right chains and installed them and we were on our way at 20mph down the mountain, 2 hours after we had intended.By that time, both H and I were soaked to the bone – him more than me. I wish I could have helped more with the whole chains thing but apart from standing outside for moral support while he tried to get them on, I could do nothing much. Well, atleast I got the guy to help.

We finally made it down safely and stopped for lunch at 4 pm at the foothills. Olive Garden was the highlight of my day. After a 1200 calorie meal , we finished the last 1.5 hours of the journey in rain to return home safe and sound.

Hot baths, some small unpacking and a sorry little blogpost is all I can manage for the day.More at my own pace at the other side of this marathon!

 

snow 1snow 2

 

 

7 Responses to “Day 31 -Snow and more snow”

  1. Dil On The Rocks February 1, 2016 at 11:40 am #

    I have been in this chain situation before and I took care of it all by myself, kinda proud of it ☺. Because there was no other help. Aww. Snowy day and olive garden dinner ☺ Yummy.

  2. More than words February 1, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

    So glad you guys were safe !! It sucks being in a snow storm!!

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 2, 2016 at 5:30 am #

      You probably are used to the hills and snow, MTW?? Was so scary ya

      • More than words February 2, 2016 at 6:05 am #

        I still cringe at the prospect of driving in snow… Simply hate it !!

  3. anisnest February 2, 2016 at 5:41 am #

    Glad to know that you guys drive back safe.. Take care

Leave a Reply

