Day 28- Games!

29 Jan

This is our small connection of board games and puzzles. They lie on the top shelves of our study and are hardly used nowadays. But they much loved indeed.

image

Settlers and Ticket to Ride need atleast 3- 4 people to be any fun and we really don’t have another gaming family to connect with here.For this simple reason I cannot wait for Bandar to grow up! I have a long list of similar games on my Amazon wish list but I might as well hit delete on them for a few years.

A few are two player ones – Scrabble, Chinese Checkers, Mancala and the Husband and I have spent many an evening playing these during the first few years that we were married. Once Bandar  came into our lives we simply haven’t had the time.
Maybe we should restart our weekend tradition  of a two player board game. Bandar is probably old enough to not eat the pieces now and might let us play.
I grew up playing a lot of these games with my family and its one of those traditions I want to incorporate in this one as well. One of my early memories is coloring at the table at maybe age 3, while my parents played a game of Scrabble. At 6 , I joined them playing 4 letter words. And then at 10 years old we played with my infant sister playing on a mat by our feet. 10 years later she beat us all hollow with her superior vocabulary!
Chinese checkers was another family favorite. My parents have actually fought over that one – they are both sore losers. That one I learnt to play at 5 or 6 and while Scrabble was a weekend favorite, Chinese Checkers was a weekday night activity before bed  .
When my dad visits me in the US in recent years, I make chai for us both and we sit and play and chat – the best bonding ever. Wish we could this more often!
Mancala I associate mainly playing with my sister. Someone gifted her a set when she turned 5 and we have played that one for hours on end holding mock 5 game tournaments.
With Bandar at present its only Candyland and Snakes and Ladders so far. She already seems to be s sore loser like her grandparents and we are working on the ” its fun to play and okay to lose ” messaging here . But I do hope to integrate board gaming into our lives a little more this year.

6 Responses to “Day 28- Games!”

  1. perspectivesandprejudices January 29, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

    Oh this brings back such fond memories. Growing up, we used to play a TON of carrom. And frequently, us kids would take sides while the parents would play. It would always be my dad and his brother’s wife on one side, and my mom and my dad’s brother on the other. My chitappa would keep hooting every time my chithi was trying to strike, she would get distracted and get so mad at him. My cousin, the sister and I thought it was great fun, and we would join my chitappa in distracting my chithi 😀

    We also grew up playing a ton of card games. The same chitappa was a shameless cheater, which I think only added to the fun 😀

    When I have kids, I’d like to include some board games in our lives… just so they have some lovely memories the same way I do 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 30, 2016 at 4:58 am #

      Lovely memories! Carrom with cousins during summer is another awesome memory for me too.

  2. Bhavani January 29, 2016 at 11:44 pm #

    With my kids almost 9 and 6 yr olds, family board games have become so much fun here. Some of our favs are..Jr Pictionary, Monopoly Empire, Pictopia.

    It has been a long time since we played board games with other families. It has always been chatting and drinking. We discovered a new group game Villagers and Mafia. Super fun it is.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 30, 2016 at 4:56 am #

      I love Mafia! Played so much when I was in my early 20s. How nice to have your own team of 4 to play games at home!

  3. anisnest January 30, 2016 at 4:34 am #

    Nice collection.. Hope you get to play with Bandar soon..

Leave a Reply

