Day 25 – Desi Birthday Parties

26 Jan

Bandar and thus I, have been in  about three birthday parties this month alone!Ample opportunity for me to people watch as I barely know any one here. Here are the typical sights of a desi party :

The toddler Birthday child could care less about the event.

I think the age is maybe 5 or 6 years when the child himself starts enjoying the birthday. Atleast in most other parties that are not desi, a big deal is made of the little birthday child. But in a desi one, the child is seen wandering around looking quite confused while mom and dad entertain the guests and the guests entertain each other and the older kids play.

Elaborate Food

The food is never limited to snacks. It is always  a meal – lunch or dinner. And quite elaborate. I really don’t know how the sandwiches, samosas, chips, drink, pop corn , cake , jello, pizza ONLY  culture can be brought back into desi birthdays and REPLACE meals.  That is what the menu looked like for my birthday parties growing up. But as I am sucked into the system and have eaten many a meal, I will end up falling into the same food trap for parties I throw too.

Outsourced games

Off late, there is an entertainer who is hired and does magic/balloons/games/face painting etc. He effectively takes the kids off the adults hands giving them time to mingle.  I miss the fun, simple games my parents and I sat and planned and executed for our parties. This is one thing I want to bring back to any parties I organize for my child.

Random adult asking poor , scared child if he/she recognizes them

I have witnessed this in more than one party and poor helpless child depending on his/her age either truthfully says no( below age 5) or smartly fibs with a yes( over 5)

 

Mealtime media

 

Its meal time and the 80% of the kids as small as 1 year old are glued to their parent’s mobile or tablet as their parents stuff food into their mouths . The standard distract the child and stuff their mouth routine.

The Gossip all around

You can hear – “Oh how fat/thin you have become” atleast a minimum of thrice in any party if you eavesdrop on conversation around you . The favorite topic among the ladeez. Apart from that, there is a lot of gossip in general going around. As I am fairly new to the scene, I am watcher at this point and not a participant, though that can change given the situation.

 

 

10 Responses to “Day 25 – Desi Birthday Parties”

  1. More than words January 26, 2016 at 6:41 am #

    OMG !! You’ve nailed it 🙂 … I hate these bday parties where it’s more about the adults and less about the kids … Trust me this is the first year where we had a desi bday party for Daughter… I had to give in to the elaborate menu planning even though we did the games ourselves… But I was really pissed when people wanted wine/beer… We told them on principle we will not serve beer for our kid’s party and guess what we aren’t that popular anymore 🙂 !!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2016 at 8:51 am #

      Like you, we absolutely won’t be serving alcohol at our child’s birthday party

  2. anisnest January 26, 2016 at 8:50 am #

    That’s a nice round up about the parties.. I have never hosted one like this.. It has been kids only themed party at home since Adi turned 6.. For LHB I don’t plan to do a party until he is ready for it and that too will be kids only..

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2016 at 8:59 am #

      Thats great, Ani. Loved reading about some of Adi’s parties. And good thinking for LHB

  3. srividhya January 26, 2016 at 10:04 am #

    You nailed it man..

  4. freakyveggie January 26, 2016 at 5:57 pm #

    Crisp Narration of all the parties 🙂

  5. rrmom January 26, 2016 at 9:53 pm #

    I did this only once. after that I started hosting the parties in places like Monkey Joes, or Jump Air or even YMCA pool party. This forces everyone to stick to the timeslot of 2 hours, food restricted to pizza and snacks, and while the kids have fun, the adults also have time to mingle. Having parties at home or club house invariably stretches out because everybody is late and everybody hangs out forever.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2016 at 10:47 pm #

      Interesting perspective.Personally I am a fan for hosting at home with home made simple snacks but can see your point about a location automatically constraining the food and really being all about the kids . Might have to adopt for the future!

Leave a Reply

