Day 20- The Cleaners

21 Jan

There is this Mexican couple who comes to clean our house every few weeks. They work together in perfect unison. She dusts and wipes surfaces,while he vacuums and does the restrooms. They talk to each other amicably, she’s usually giving him instruction – I gather from the little Spanish that I understand. He complies, unlike other men I know.
They have four kids , she tells me. The youngest one is 9 months and she breastfeeds him and has to arrange babysitting with her mom when she’s working, so their schedule is sometimes dependent on those factors. But they never look at the clock and work cheerfully to get the job done.
      It warms my heart to pay this nice, hardworking couple. No typical desi “kamchoriness”or laziness to be spotted. And for this reason and others, they have my business.

6 Responses to “Day 20- The Cleaners”

  1. srividhya January 21, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

    I totally agree with you. I have Mexican cleaners too and she comes either with her sister r BIL or sometimes alone too. No matter what her cleaning is flawless n even if I forget something she reminds me. I don’t mind paying them more..

  2. princessbutter January 21, 2016 at 10:05 pm #

    A couple working together, in sync, is always special. 🙂

  3. More than words January 21, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

    That sounds so nice …

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 22, 2016 at 10:17 am #

      They are in perfect sync, MTW. and seem to enjoy working together.

Leave a Reply

