Day 19- Surprise guests

19 Jan

Nothing like surprise visitors for dinner on a Monday night! I did have 2 hours or so of notice though and a co operative husband who agreed to pick up groceries. This gave me one hour to cook after I laid my hand on the groceries, but I put together a mish mash of stuff – chole( thank the heavens for a  Monday stock of pressure cooked beans), an alu subji, rice, idlis, chutney,salad, sweet wheat appams( this is inspired by reading Celestial Rays post today morning) and store bought samosas. All in all a decent quickly pulled together meal.

The cooking part is actually less stressful than clean up. I did enough to not wake up to an awful kitchen but not satisfactory at all. Anyway, my cleaner – the best gift I give myself is coming tomorrow and will take care of it mostly.

What do you serve surprise guests? Do you have any quick go to recipes?

P.S This feels like a cheat post but it jas to make do for today:)

8 Responses to “Day 19- Surprise guests”

  1. Greenboochi January 19, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

    You really pulled it off well, Pop! 🙂 I get panic attacks over these surprise guests.

  2. More than words January 19, 2016 at 9:46 pm #

    My my after a working day, you made quite a spread girl !! I think you gave me an idea for a post now 😉

  3. Bhavani January 19, 2016 at 11:12 pm #

    Wow really nice for a short notice!!! I would buy rotis and make a dhal, subzi, Raitha….and rice ,rasam ,yogurt pickle….rice and yogurt always a fall back option if there are kids who are fussy eaters

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 20, 2016 at 11:40 am #

      Ahh yes…a dhal is a good back up plan. My rasam is below standard .Need to master that.. We are a sambhar loving household

  4. freakyveggie January 20, 2016 at 12:20 am #

    So much in a span of 2 hrs, I would never have done that !

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 20, 2016 at 11:04 am #

      Ya surprisingly came together quickly. Groceries for most of it came in the last hour. And some days are good kitchen days:)

Leave a Reply

