Day 15 – Recent pet peeves

16 Jan

Here is my ever growing list of current pet peeves :

1) Facebook birthdays – I have stopped wishing random people I don’t talk to the whole year around on Facebook on their birthdays. There seems to be no point – we are barely acquaintances now and not friends really.  The ‘intermediate’  group of friends who I still meet or talk to once a year, I still do wish on Fb , maybe a private message rather than their wall. And the inner circle friends I WhatsApp or call. I also don’t expect the same acquaintance level contacts to wish me on my birthday.

2) Cheaters – women or men: My friend and I shared some stories this week of friends who had recently cheated or been cheated on by their spouses. Ughh..I have no tolerance for cheaters at all. Some people I know are more tolerant of cheaters than I am , maybe if they have seen the new relationship blossom in all its glory. I get it that folks can meet their  soulmates probably late in life and made a mistake getting married in the first place. Yet, I can only think about the cheated upon spouse and kids involved and nothing else. Oh i mean only married cheaters here…dating cheaters suck too but I am more tolerant. I still consider marriage vows pretty much defining.

3) Desi men who are shocked that my husband takes care of Bandar when I travel – I might have blogged about this before but don’t remember. Anyway, i hate the raised eyebrows and shocked faces when they here that Bandar’s dad is actually able to handle his own 3 year old daughter for a few days.

4) People who refer to themselves in third person – Yes, i know some people who do this and its super irritating . An air of self importance almost.

5) Servers who seem frustrated with my order or questions while ordering – I am vegetarian and like to know what I am ordering is actually vegetarian. And I might customize a vegetarian dish too on top of that. Hate the frustration some servers portray during the process.

6 Responses to “Day 15 – Recent pet peeves”

  1. More than words January 16, 2016 at 5:29 am #

    Tell me about these FB bdays !! In fact FB itself is becoming my big time pet peeve!!

  2. My Era January 16, 2016 at 7:58 am #

    #1 This situation is getting alarmingly common. I have given up on Facebook long ago.
    #3 Is a sure sign of how patriarchal Indian mindsets are, no matter how feminist these men try to act. It sucks big time.

  3. anisnest January 16, 2016 at 10:28 am #

    I masked my bday in FB few years ago.. And I stopped wishing in FB too.. Infact, I have stopped being active in FB..

  4. princessbutter January 16, 2016 at 11:21 am #

    Arre even I hid my bday on FB. And I barely see whose bday it is anymore.
    We have all common pet peeves with many more of mine. Today only I was thinking of listing mine. Haha. Sometimes I feel I am that cartoon wala grumpy old lady.

  5. magic January 16, 2016 at 7:31 pm #

    I hardly use FB….its annoying nowadays what with day to day updates and so on… uff…

Leave a Reply

