Day 14- Needles

15 Jan

I am one of those people who is petrified of injections. One of my dreaded childhood memories at age five is standing on a weighing scale and having a nurse deftly prick my bottom. And then being told a mosquito bit me. The cheek, pun intended!
Anyway, my fear of injections dogged my adolescent years too. I remember creating a big old fuss even biting a doctor at the grand old age of 12 for a tetanus shot.
Anyway over the years , I got away avoiding most shots except some vaccinations for the most part.

More recently, pregnancy and childbirth with its generous supply of injections has actually toughened me a bit. After the initial fear and squeezing the husbadoo’s hands to mush for each one, and looking away , I got used to the whole deal – the numerous tests and blood draws and the grand finale epidural.
But now as we are almost 4 years past the whole pregnancy thingee, I don’t know where I stand on shots. Today like every year , I got my yearly  blood work done for insurance and didn’t really bat an eyelid. So maybe I have gotten past my bugaboo to some degree.

9 Responses to “Day 14- Needles”

  1. princessbutter January 15, 2016 at 1:11 pm #

    Aiyaiyoo! I am very scared! I only wonder how I got my tattoo.

  2. More than words January 16, 2016 at 3:39 am #

    How is the little one with needles??

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 16, 2016 at 5:48 am #

      Her last shots were when she was 2, right on her bday! She was quite good about it. I have gathered she likes to know beforehand. We will have a few this year at age 4. What about yours?

      • More than words January 16, 2016 at 6:49 am #

        She would cry a little when she was little but that was more with apprehension…. Yes telling them before hand helps.

  3. My Era January 16, 2016 at 8:02 am #

    OMG! You bit a doctor at 12 years? Now that is serious.
    I’m glad you’ve conquered this fear 🙂
    I’m pretty good with needles right from childhood, they’ve never scared me & maybe this is why I’ve had a thousand reasons to be poked with them in my life so far.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 16, 2016 at 8:39 am #

      Awful right?? My mom was asked to leave the room and the doctor wanted to hit me for the tetanus shot. You know how horrible india is about stuff like this.She refused to leave and instead held me down

      • My Era January 16, 2016 at 8:58 am #

        Hmmm that doctor was crazy to ask the mom to step out. But I’msure after having bitten by you, he must have learnt his lesson well 😉

  4. anisnest January 16, 2016 at 10:11 am #

    needles scares me too.. I close my eyes real tight when they prick.. M says I create too much drama for nothing.. Adi and LHB are neutral with needles.. though they fear before getting it, no fuss is made after..

Leave a Reply

