Day 13 – Glassed

13 Jan

So I have written in this space before about how much I hate wearing my glasses and am usually in my lens instead. I had also written that I need to break out of the habit and embrace ny glasses a little. Anyway, push unfortunately came to shove for me recently and I was forced into this.

Mid November, my eyes started turning red with lens use. A couple of doctor calls later, I was advised to give my eyes a weeks rest from lenses. This seemed awful for a continuous lens user like myself. As I work  from home , I didnt have to deal with wearing glasses to work. But I found myself in situations like picking up and dropping Bandar school , grocery shopping, hiking, meeting our realtor and other things in my glasses and though I felt self conscious at first, I slowly got used to it. Bandar was shocked to see me at glasses at school for pick up that first day – ” Mommy , you silly billy. You have come in your home glasses . You forgot!” , she exclaimed. I explained to her that sometimes I wear glasses and sometimes lenses and both could be used interchangably outdoors and indoors and I also rather untruthfully told her that I love wearing my glasses. Chances are she will need glasses at some point in life and I don’t want her to think glasses are anything to feel ashamed about. Anyway, after a day or so, I stopped being self conscious about the poor glasses.
My eyes acted up every time I wore my lenses through the end of December. I finally went to a doctor who changed my lens solution, prescribed wet drops and advised minimal lens use after 2 weeks of eye rest. So now I had to deal with my in laws visit and friends visit with my glasses on. And fun travel too.But I got over the mental obstacles I had created and wore the glasses.
Anyway, now I am down to minimal lens use which I am clearly not following with work travel and my eyes are already watery and red most of the time. I might need a long term solution like dailies. In the meantime , there is still some opportunity to increase usage of my glasses and maybe get a better looking pair made too. Though I have progressed in leaps and bounds , parties and social gatherings in glasses are still hard for me to do. I don’t mind even being short sighted at events as I was for a few in December. This sometimes leads to hilarious consequences. I was taking Bandar to a birthday party in a large open park. I wore my glasses while driving of course but put then in my purse as we got out of the car. We approached not one but two incorrect groups or people/ kids parties in the park that day before we got to the right one. Silly i know but stupid vanity one that one.
I am also NOT okay about having my picture taken with glasses on. i pull them off soon as the camera comes out. Anyway, scope for improvement all around and I can survive being glassed if I have to.

13 Responses to “Day 13 – Glassed”

  1. Pepper January 13, 2016 at 10:35 pm #

    Have you considered getting a lasik done?

    I feel the same way about Mint’s glasses. He used to wear only contacts earlier, but now after a cornea scratch, he completely quit lenses. I feel really bad. Glasses suit some people but not Mint. I really miss seeing him in contacts. He looks so much nicer. Unfortunately, he’s too scared to wear them now. So he’s been using his glasses for over a year. Hard for me to deal with and I still ask him to take them off for pictures sometimes..

    I want him to do a lasik too but despite all the claims that it is safe, both Mint and I still don’t feel a 100% sure.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 13, 2016 at 10:43 pm #

      A lot of my friends and family have had lasik , so despite the risk I do think its quite safe. But for me , I am confused about whether its worth it. P loves me in my glasses yaar. In fact, encourages me to wear them. And then it comes down to work and social stuff. Lots of people wear glasses at work. And by maybe 45 most of us will be using reading glasses. Atleast based on how my genes seem . So its a matter of 15 years of social events. I know i can survive a few hours without any aid. So then is cosmetic surgery, which is a hard pill by itself for me to digest, a good option? So torn.

  2. princessbutter January 14, 2016 at 3:56 am #

    I share your sentiments about glasses. My social events and this and that revolve around lens comfort, schedule of washing hair and leg hair removal. I am too vain yaa. Ridiculously so!
    I refuse to take pics with glasses on. If I have visitors or staying over somewhere, I will take contacts out only when almost about to sleep. And I should be okay with glasses considering I have worn them since 1st std and I got lens only in 12th.
    I will also wash face(concealer) only when just about to sleep. Sheesh.
    I also can’t walk around with glasses. The world is a total blur. Lol. I am almost blind man.
    But I think I am getting better about glasses. Not sure if I am getting comfortable or just lazier.

    • princessbutter January 14, 2016 at 3:58 am #

      Oh and LASIK is a very dim option for me now. 😦 My number may not go away completely because it’s acute myopia and prescription is too high. PRK and ICL are possible but that’s so expensive here!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 15, 2016 at 10:50 am #

      Do you use dailies?? Will ask you what brand you use when we meet

  3. anisnest January 14, 2016 at 5:51 am #

    I always wonder how people with glasses manage it.. I think it’s just matter of time to get used to it.. Hope you will find the way that suits you soon..

  4. Arch January 14, 2016 at 10:19 am #

    I was exactly like this! I always preferred lenses over my glasses. Have had eye infection multiple times and skip the lenses for a few weeks and still go back to them. Bg also loves me in glasses. So we went ahead and got a cool pair of glasses from Titan Eye few months back. I totally love those glasses, they suit me well too. So now I wear them to office too, without inhibitions. I now alternate between the glasses and lenses based on my mood. 🙂

    • princessbutter January 15, 2016 at 12:22 am #

      Whichever frame I buy, it’s useless thanks to my soda glasses. 😦

      • Arch January 17, 2016 at 1:48 pm #

        😦 yeah I know.. Thicker glasses are hard to manage too.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 15, 2016 at 10:51 am #

      Nice!! Glad you are comfy with your new glasses .

  5. Nitya January 14, 2016 at 9:29 pm #

    ok so i am going to echo people above and say that yes i loved loved weraing my lenses too. id comfortably spend days without getting out of them, including sleeping through the night. Last year I had an eye infection because of constant wearing and because my husband finally had had enough of this, he put his foot down and i got an really cool pair of cglasses from Warby Parker.
    Havent looked back since. Yes i wear my lenses but its reserved for when i am out in the night/special occ! Complete 180 🙂
    check out their collection, you may find something you really like!

Leave a Reply

