Day 12 – Girlfriends!

13 Jan

I never really did have a lot of close friends growing up through high school. This was mainly because of my father’s transferrable job. Then came college and I was part of a small cozy group of four girls. The first few years after college we all did keep in touch – but then with two of us in the US and other two in India, that faded fast. We have rekindled that friendship now through whatsapp , but its fairly weird. The girl I was closest too in the group, told us she had a baby a week after he was born. No pregnancy news or anything whatsoever. So I really don’t know if we are still the fast friends we were.

So I made a good friend,M very late in life. Only a few months after I started working in the US. The funny part of our relationship is that I am not considered her best friend and I know it! She is much closer to another girl, and I am only the teeniest bit jealous! But as she doesn’t live in the same city, I don’t really share her time. Anyway, for me at least, M is the first person in my life to fall into the best friend category.

So when I travel to ATX for work, I get some fun girlie time with her and this works out pretty well for our friendship. For one ,  I am not distracted by Bandar. And two , I make up for all the missing girl time in my normal day to day life . This includes stuff like shopping and spa stuff. I haven’t really had a good girlfriend to shop with over the last 2 years and I tend to get mani pedis only when I have someone to do it with.

So my evenings after work are usually spent with my friend. Currently we are binge watching Making a Murderer(like the rest of the world ) and we plan on finishing it before I leave on Friday. Not sure how we are going to accomplish this one as we have other fun plans as well! Tomorrow we also have plans to shop and we also have to go see another friend’s newborn.

And as travel weeks are also intense work weeks, I am working well into the night to make up for the evening fun, but I am strangely okay with it and not complaining!

That’s it for today folks:)

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Day 12 – Girlfriends!”

  1. anisnest January 13, 2016 at 7:04 pm #

    It is always good to have a friend to lean on and to have some fun..

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 13, 2016 at 10:45 pm #

      Agree. Better still if they live close but you work with what you have.

Leave a Reply

