Day 11 – Memories

12 Jan

Today was travel day and as usual it dawned early. Airports, flights, car rental all happened. Changing into formals at the airport restroom also happened and I was on my way. Driving through my favorite city, I passed all the exits where we had lived. Each one has its own set of memories for me.

The apartment I lived alone for 6 months – definitely shady looking. But I had a memorable birthday celebration there, my parents met the husbadoo there and that’s the place I truly learnt independence. I cooked many a memorable meal in the kitchen and started baking experiments.

The apartment I moved into next was across the road from work. This is the apartment that was also super close to the gym and a lot of time was spent in getting into good shape for my wedding. Its the house my MIL spent a week in getting to know me and its the home we also came into as newly weds . That kitchen is the one I made parathas in for the first time as I now had a person to cook for.

The next apartment was the one we lived in for the longest and grew as a couple in. Fights and make ups – this one has seen them all. We lived above our good friends and a memorable Diwali or two was celebrated. Its the apartment of Bandar’s conception in our heads and later in my tummy and the apartment she came home to.

The next move was to a house  – we lived in it for a year and few months till we moved to NYC. This house is one I always drive past on my work trips and pause to see who lives in it now. We had fun in that house – Bandar’s infancy, her nannies, every single immediate family member visited- this is the only house that this happened in so far. Bandar’s fun first birthday, lots of board games in that living room and the perpetual dumpyard of an extra bedroom. It was a 5 minute drive to my office and I had lunch pumping and feeding sessions at home which were super convenient. Our desi nanny grew veggies in the backyard and we had a fabulous harvest.Then the mixed news of moving to NYC, the decision to do it together – they all happened here

Phew! Four homes in 6 years – I don’t have pictures at all of some of these homes but each one holds a place in my heart.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Day 11 – Memories”

  1. My Era January 12, 2016 at 5:47 pm #

    Wow! that must have been quite a ride down the memory lane but what caught my eye was the blessing of having a nanny who made your vegetable garden flourish – WOW 🙂

  2. popgoesthebiscuit January 12, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

    She seriously had a green thumb. Some people do.

Leave a Reply

