Day 7 – Thursday Thoughts

8 Jan

Stuff running through my head:

So Wednesday morning, I am up early working and I hear a thud in our bedroom. Both I and the hsuband were convinced Bandar had fallen off the bed. But it wasn’t her. It was a picture on the wall that had decided to take a fall. We thought nothing of it for a few hours, till the H called me up from work later in the day to tell me that we had just experienced our first little earthquake. It wasn’t too close to us though so no real harm was done. Oh well , that was to be expected with our S.Cali move.

Been such a weird few days around here weather wise – pouring rain with El Nino and today a friend sent me a picture of snow outside her house! I ran outside to see, but guess it had all melted away.

Funny incident regarding the neighbors – When we moved in a few weeks ago, we worked hard to get to know atleast the ones on either side of us .We made progress with one side, but had no luck with the other. So we made 3 attempts armed with some homemade chocolate. One 2 occasions, I was positive that I heard footsteps to the door, but no one opened it. Frustrated we gave up – but apparently that’s a thing with Asian neighbors – they won’t open their door. Someone else on the street told me not to expect that neighbor to ever open their door and a friend told me about it too. Oh well, now I am just trying my best to pounce on them, and start a conversation ever so casually, if I do see them in the driveway!

Someone recently told me in a tactful way that I look older than I am. Now, this is fine for work but not something I am thrilled about on a daily basis. I gave myself a good look in the mirror and have decided it’s the grey hair that’s sprouting rapidly. I don’t color my hair yet , yet being the operative word, but this year might just be the year. Anyway, yesterday I feverishly googled how to reverse premature greying and apparently curry leaves + coconut oil massages are the key. As a handful of measly curry leaves are a dollar or more at the Indian store and are barely enough for the food I cook, I need another source for the hair. So now I am in search of a curry leaf plant to own and nurture and use for hair care (apart from cooking)

Talking of hair, I am so conflicted about getting Bandar’s hair cut short or to grow it out. One selfish reason to grow it out is the fact that she increasingly looks like me with longer hair. And almost everyone comments on it. One reason to cut it short is the ease of maintenance and just a neater look in general at this age as Bandar hardly ever lets me tie her hair up properly away from her eyes. But I think I have decided at this point and she will be getting a hair cut this weekend.

I have some work travel lined up that I am excited about and also sad about as usual (leaving the husbadoo and Bandar behind). The first trip is the coming week and I have a weekend of cooking and planning ahead.

8 Responses to “Day 7 – Thursday Thoughts”

  1. More than words January 8, 2016 at 6:20 am #

    This year might just be the one to start doing something about my ever increasing grey hair too 🙂 …. Lol on the curry leaves !!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2016 at 11:37 pm #

      Mine seems to have increased in tens in the last month. Wonder if its a water thing

  2. My Era January 8, 2016 at 1:56 pm #

    Please do share the curry leaf remedy ( if it works for you) because as of now I have spotted two grey hair right in the area where they are obvious. No one in my family has ever coloured their grey hair so I am really skeptical about going that way.

    My vote is for having Bandar have a hair cut, it is really more practical & keeps the kid carefree while making them look super neat without too much work 😀

    Have a safe trip 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2016 at 11:36 pm #

      You have 2!! Genes for sure. My mom got her first one at 23 so its no surprise i got several at 27 and now more at 30. Yes have to lay my hands on curry leavea

      • My Era January 8, 2016 at 11:39 pm #

        Genes they are. My mom and dad at 65 years have around 60% black hair & only 40% grays, so that’s why I got just two as of now.

  3. Bhavani January 8, 2016 at 11:20 pm #

    Welcome to CA:) We have got used to the mild tremors every now and then and live with it..only couple of big ones have scared us…but then it is what it is

    What snow in SD???? that is news

    I started coloring my hair when I turned 40 😦 what to do..got too conscious to ignore it..

    And as long as Bandar is fine just get a hair cut for B and be hassle free..my daughter is at an age where she wants to grow it all long and it is a pain for me just to comb her hair and make it ruly every morning …

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2016 at 11:31 pm #

      Think it was frost/ ice. But ground was covered with it apparently. By the way i assumed you had 2 boys from some previous comment 🙂

      • Bhavani January 9, 2016 at 2:01 am #

        Girl – 8
        Boy – 5

        I went by a different email before..now changed the email but the same screen name 🙂

Leave a Reply

