Day 1 – My Cheerleader

2 Jan

So I am participating in the January Blogging Marathon and cannot be more enthused about it. Believe me – its been a hectic few weeks with a  lot of activity and I cannot wait to post about it all. Or atleast the more interesting bits. Its Jan 1st and we have about 30 minutes to hit midnight as I type this. I knew I had to post today but pushed it till the very last minute possible. So here I am typing away to make the deadline.

I had successfully completed the marathon last year and I remember the husbadoo being my biggest cheerleader through it all.This year is no different as he watches a cranky , over tired child in bed and encourages me to post. He started reading my blog a year or so ago and though we definitely do not discuss posts , I know he reads them. I wondered for a while if that would restrict me writing what I do, but it really doesn’t. IN fact, I often worry about random family members chancing upon my blog but have never been bothered about the H reading. We are past facades and layers at this point – he knows exactly how I feel about certain topics and voicing them on the blog doesn’t really impact our relationship.

This has been an interesting year for our relationship. Two major things happened – It saw us take some major adult decisions together and  it forced up to support each other’s careers like never before – I moved states for him and he travelled endlessly from hotel room to hotel room across countries to support me through the summer(with baby in tow).

Ours was a rebellious love affair, with parents at both ends not being thrilled about the match. We were the golden, good kids who chose to unexpectedly and stubbornly fall in love . And 6.5 years of marriage later, I am still happy with my decision to break the mold and glad that I choose this guy to battle my parents and family over.

Our marriage is by no means perfect. We bicker and fight and cuss every couple of weeks. But at the end of the year, I barely remember the reasons we fought but I do remember the kind words of reassurance and warm hugs he’s given me as I dealt with frustrating issues with the in laws, I remember the kick on the butt he’s given me to pursue tough work projects and the incredible back up mommy job he does when I travel for work.

I did not intend this post to be about this him as I started writing, but now that it is, I cannot think of  a nicer way to kick off the marathon and the year!

 

 

6 Responses to “Day 1 – My Cheerleader”

  1. More than words January 2, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

    Happy New Year to u guys !!! May your love for each other grow in leaps and bounds in the coming years.

  2. srividhya January 2, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

    Hey happy new year? How are you doing? Great post n stay blessed.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 2, 2016 at 11:22 pm #

      All good V! Just been too lazy to post as usual. Happy New yr to you three

  3. Arch January 8, 2016 at 1:17 pm #

    Lovely post to start the new year with! Wishing you a very Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

