Weekend back home

19 Oct

I was away last week for work in Austin. Austin – the one city that feels like home for me. Maybe its because I gained my financial independence, started my career, grew some wings of my own in this city. I do have to admit though that this visit more than others made me miss the husbadoo and Bandar a ton – they were with me in Austin a few months ago and the summer memories we shared are all around me in Austin and hit me at every turn.

Speaking of the two most important people in my life, Bandar was especially co-operative and compliant this last week to give her dad an easy time when I was away. She comprehends the situation, is quite sad about it and often sighs and mentions that she misses mummy but rallies around and is on her best behavior through the week.

I was delighted to get on an earlier flight back home on Friday and both of them picked me up at the airport. Bandar seemed a little subdued and I wondered out loud why that was the case. Within 10 minutes of getting home , she started a fever with high temps and Friday night and Saturday were spent holding her mostly. Needless to say, we were both relieved this happened on Friday once I was back and not when the husbadoo was single parenting last week.

So in the last 2  days we have read maybe 40 different books atleast 2 times each, invented several random games with her toys and watched more than our fair share of Youtube videos. Saturday at least Bandar shut down the laptop after her one sanctioned video was allowed, saying her eyes would get spoilt. But Sunday she was past caring and so were we and we all vegged out a bit with Youtube on.

In between , I sneaked off to the kitchen to do some cooking . Freezing food in advance has been a savior off late. I froze some extra chole before I left for Austin, and we thawed it out for a meal – fairly good, atleast the freezing did not impact it negatively. I also made a pretty damn delicious paneer, bell peppers subji – the trick is some cashews pureed with the sautéed onions and tomatoes. The overall result was restaurant quality indeed. The H and I sneaked in some adult time catching up on Modern Family episodes and eating some store bought Tiramisu cupcakes. (Side note – One does miss the spouse immensely when away, but it sadly gets overshadowed with missing the baby. So I am thankful for the cupcake eating, show watching, catching up on our lives conversations we had this weekend.) This helped keep our sanity while caring for a feverish baby. Apart from the Chole , Paneer and some idlis that I made this weekend , the husbadoo pitched in and made 2 pretty good meals – poha for breakfast and kick ass sandwiches for dinner. A big achievement for us this weekend was the fact, we could not really go out to eat with Bandar being sick and we actually survived on home cooked food (sans cupcakes) for all the meals and enjoyed them too.

Bandar is going to be home with a nanny and me till she is completely okay to return to school. So it’s going to be a tough few days (yes, even with the nanny!)  balancing work and her. And work is busier than ever this week, so wish me luck.

9 Responses to “Weekend back home”

  1. princessbutter October 20, 2015 at 12:11 am #

    I am glad she is better! We left to go back to Irvine in the afternoon after lunch. My friend managed to cure Nisha’s foot with a massage. She probably had a ‘nas chadhna’ situation on her toe.

    • popgoesthebiscuit October 20, 2015 at 12:41 am #

      Oh didn’t realize you left that early. We stayed home whole weekend. Hopefully we will meet soon

      • princessbutter October 20, 2015 at 4:10 am #

        Yeah. We made pesarattu for lunch, ate and then took off. Helped my friend
        Madhuri shop for her India trip at Irvine Spectrum Mall.

  2. More than words October 20, 2015 at 4:03 am #

    Hope the little one feels better soon !! Your weekend sounds so relaxing except for the Bandar being sick 😦

  3. princessbutter October 20, 2015 at 5:02 am #

    You are nominated! Sisterhood of the world QnA | A splash of my life…
    https://asplashofmylife.wordpress.com/2015/10/19/sisterhood-of-the-world-qna/

  4. Greenboochi October 20, 2015 at 1:52 pm #

    Hugs Pop! Hope Bandar is feeling a bit better now.

Leave a Reply

