Weekend fun

1 Sep

Friday evening started with some green smoothie at home. The slightly old, bitter walnuts I had thrown in threw the husbadoo and Bandar off and guess who drank maybe 45 ounces of heavy smoothie so as not to waste the organic veggies and fruits. Yes,no prizes for guessing –  trash can tummy mama bear! We then took Bandar to the mall’s play area and ate some more junk outside just because the food smell near the play area was too tempting. Yes, trash can tummy indeed and I wonder why I can’t seem to lose weight. We have been avoiding the play area in the apartment complex since early last week – not really intentionally , but something or another has been coming up. Bandar has not really been asking to go there which helps. Instead , I took her to another park on Thursday and this mall play are on Friday and she seemed to have fun

Saturday was such a glorious day. Its days like this that make me feel we absolutely took the right decision to move here. After morning skype sessions with the grandies we decided to hit the beach. The H and I have been to SD for a vacay around out first wedding anniversary about 5 years ago! We had spent 3 days in the city and had very specific memories of our trip. We had stayed on Coronado island and thought it would be fun to go back there with Bandar in tow. Since we have moved here, the H has insisted we do sunset beach activities which is nice and all but I do not like sitting with a wrap or cardi at the beach. A beach is supposed to be sunny and warm, isn’t it? So I had been pushing for a morning-afternoon at the beach instead and today was the day we did it my way. I think Bandar enjoys the idea of the beach more than the beach itself, if you know what I mean. We had found our little beach tent from our moving mess, but sharp eyed Bandar spotted some bugs taking refuge from the sun inside our tent and refused to set foot inside. Oh well, more shade for me. She also refused to go into the water – new random fears which we have to tackle with swimming classes. The worst part was she refused to let the husbadoo leave her and go into the water. So much for his surfing dreams here. Shell hunting and sand castle building were the only two beach activities she enjoyed. Anyway, I had a random book to read on child rearing of all rotten topics as I couldn’t access any other book from our unopened boxes. But I got through one or two chapters as I enjoyed the sun at the beach and am maybe a better parent for it? Ha-ha , we shall put it into practice and see!  My favorite moment at the beach was towards the end when Bandar, who was by then a little sleepy and tired, came and sat on my lap for some cuddles. She hardly asks for hugs nowadays, so this was a lovely few minutes cuddling my little monkey .I don’t have any pictures of the day as all of them prominently show our faces but you get the general idea. We then packed up and packed around to have burgers. We had eaten maybe the best veggie burger ever years ago on this island, but sadly the shop had shut down since. So we settled for some other random burger which wasn’t terrible. Bandar drank a Vanilla shake and ate some fries. Food has been on and off with her off late but I am trying to let go and let her decide what ,when, how she eats as she’s almost 3. So hard to do! Anyway, she dozed off in her stroller as we walked back to the car. The stretch of shops and restraints that run parallel to the beach is exactly the kind of walk the H and I love and the few hours we spent on this island were perfectly relaxing and fun in every way.

Sunday was clean, unpack, organize day and we got a large chunk of the unpacking done. Our guest room still looks like clothes explosion central but the living room and master bedroom are livable. We took a breather for some tapioca tea in the afternoon but that was it. One person has to spend time with B while the other can do some work, but we somehow made the arrangement work and got some stuff done. Of course, it meant I didn’t have the grocery shopping or cooking done for the week , but I will figure that out somehow. All in all, a productive day and fun weekend. Couldn’t have asked for more.

10 Responses to “Weekend fun”

  1. More than words September 1, 2015 at 8:48 pm #

    You know each time I read your weekend posts, I realize how I’m missing opportunities and not writing the little things that has made me so happy lately….love reading about you guys !! I had always dreamt of living near a beach but sadly I’m surrounded by mountains 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit September 1, 2015 at 9:06 pm #

      Do write MTW. Nothing special about the weekend but I realize I like reading about my own weekends from even a year ago. Guess life is all about the small not really special moments.

  2. srividhya September 1, 2015 at 10:53 pm #

    Trash can tummy – tell me about it. If I eating all the micham and meedis (left overs) I would lose weight easily. Glad you had a great time.

    • popgoesthebiscuit September 3, 2015 at 2:02 am #

      Micham meedi comment made me smile. Hearing it after ages 😉

  3. My Era September 1, 2015 at 11:29 pm #

    What a joyful post this is. Loved the way you’ve captured fond memories while creating new ones with Bandar.

    Being a trash can mummy is THE reason we mommies don’t lose weight. You said it sweetie 🙂

    • My Era September 1, 2015 at 11:31 pm #

      Oops, I meant “Loved the way you’ve captured fond memories of the past while creating new ones with Bandar.”

    • popgoesthebiscuit September 2, 2015 at 2:53 am #

      Thanks ME. Bandar adds her own flavor to adventures like this:)

  4. Greenboochi September 2, 2015 at 4:25 pm #

    hahahaha trash can mummy is how my amma used to call herself everytime we had left overs at home 🙂

  5. Dil On The Rocks September 3, 2015 at 5:50 am #

    Atleast that was yummy trash, so its okay 🙂

Leave a Reply

