We play catch-up on our lives with this post

28 Aug
  • Our material possessions finally made it here and we are now surrounded by too many things. I remember walking bags and bags of clothes and random things to Salvation Army before we left NYC . So the mystery is how did we end up with still more stuff to donate right now? We have excess of everything – clothes , utensils , bags, shoes, books. This is weird because we do not shop a lot, atleast not in recent times. A lot of this stuff is accumulated over years and years and are well meaning gifts from family. The problem is we do not donate/get rid of/trash really old unused, even broken things in a timely manner and we let it build till it gets to this extent . Right now the apartment is awful with stuff piled in all possible corners. I have so much organizing to do that its overwhelming almost. I read about personal organizing services and I am this tempted to pay for one. Given my schedule of work, Bandar, husbadoo, cooking, groceries, gym et al, I am going to take several weekends to get this mess under control if we have to do it ourselves.
  • Talking about weekends, it’s hard to sit at home and clean and organize when there is so much to explore outdoors in this new to us city. We promised Bandar a beach visit each weekend , but gave it a miss this weekend and hit a splash pad instead. But there is a lot of outdoor fun to be had and it is really hard to sit inside and clean.

20150822_181229

  • I have realized that hitting the gym somewhat consistently during the week does not make up for the crap I eat over the weekends. We eat out a lot during the weekends – the last weekend it was Pizza, Desi and Mexican. This does not include store bought cupcakes on Friday and then a choc orange bundt cake that I baked on Sunday . The latter was a tad uncooked even with 1 hour of baking and I guess my too many substitutions to the original recipe messed up something. The only other thing I cooked was a paneer tava pulav on Friday evening which was delicious. Anyway, a lot of food overall was consumed.
  • Regarding the gym, my new schedule of 6 am to 3:30 pm gives me atleast an hour of gym time before I head out to get Bandar. Though I have worked out more since we have been here in the last few weeks than I did over the last few months, I am yet to have a week with a success rate of 5 weekdays at the gym. Hope I get there soon. Simple aims!
  • I love Farmers Markets and everyone tells me I have moved to the right place. There is something altogether exhilarating about picking up fresh produce, sometimes at cheaper prices /sometimes not, planning ways to make the produce stand out in a meal and finally executing it. After a sorry farmers market outing on Sunday (we were late and found nothing good), Bandar and I did a mid week trip to another one and a blast was had. See our haul. Not bad for about $ 23.
  • 20150827_201656
  • Friday is upon us and I am hoping for the following:
    • My apartment looks a little better by the end of the weekend when I am done with some organizing.
    • We get ourselves to the beach this weekend – and have a picnic.
    • I end up deciding on two boring but essential elements for the apartment – A shoe rack and a book shelf. I want as unfancy as they come – but cheap and sturdy
    • I do some fun , relaxing cooking and we have some home cooked meals
    • I get in atleast 2 runs over 3 days.
    • Lets see how much of this we achieve
8 Responses to “We play catch-up on our lives with this post”

  1. SA August 28, 2015 at 9:44 pm #

    2 runs in 3 days sounds like a killer plan!
    Other than that, things will work out – Own pace, own time..
    All the Best!

  2. princessbutter August 28, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

    The veggies look so good! Farmers market are awesome!
    Bandar looks super cute with the tree on her head. 😀 I used to have that hairstyle too. Lol

  3. Dil On The Rocks August 29, 2015 at 1:23 am #

    Mess will be there and we really don’t have to cleanup so fast. I am a bit OCD and trust me when I am saying this. Just enjoy your time and take it slow.
    Bandar looks cute 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit September 2, 2015 at 2:52 am #

      That’s what we did ya..taking it slow. Apt will be ready in approx 3 months

  4. magic August 29, 2015 at 7:28 am #

    no matter how much I plan I still accumulate things…cant help
    Take your time and pace to get things in order…. :)enjoy it I say you will love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

