The suite life

25 Jun

So the last ten days our family of three has been living in a small studio style room in an extended stay hotel.  The room is maybe 300 sq feet but we seem to be doing okay so far. We have a small L shaped kitchenette with a two burner stove, a few pots and pans, a full sized fridge and dishwasher which are both saviors for the cooking we do, two desks, a pull out couch that we haven’t pulled out yet, a queen sized bed and then a little attach bathroom and closet for our suitcases. The laundry room is outside our room and there is a gym too. All in all, the whole situation isn’t bad at all.

Compared to living in a room a quarter this size in Malaysia for almost  a month and having no kithcenette , this is luxurious almost. The whole setting is really quite cozy here. The last month or more of living in various hotel rooms in different countries has brought the three of us closer than we were which is funny as anyone would think we would be getting on each other’s nerves with being in a small constrained space .This coziness is making up for the last few months in NYC which were hard for us as a whole in so many ways. We knew we were moving, we had guests , cooking took over my life, I was guilty for ignoring Bandar – but these last two months together has seemed to magically fix a lot of this.

Living in this small space together comfortably, made me wonder why I always insisted on a  2 bedroom 2 bathroom set up for us from the point we were married. The answer is obviously the junk we have and the guests – read family  who visit. Living out of suitcase of clothes, doing laundry regularly, trying various permutations and combinations of outfits for work and play , three pairs of work shoes seems to be working for me right now.  The husbadoo hasn’t complained about his clothes at all (I suspect he brought more than I did) and Bandar’s suitcase not only had her clothes , but games , books and toys and she seems content. The kitchenette just has enough utensils for cooking and serving a meal each day, but apart from missing a blender and an oven for more full fledged cooking and baking, it all works. Less utensils to use, means less food being cooked at a time and this infact means less food prep each day. Not sure why I didn’t do this since forever – I usually make copious amounts and food prep takes forever.

To make this hotel room feel like home, one another thing I have been trying hard to do is stay organized and neat – things in their place as much as I can help. Space is so limited that putting things away is essential.

Bandar calls this hotel room “home” and she in fact was upset when we suggested a sleepover this weekend at our friends’ place . (We selfish parents wanted to play a few games of Settlers of Catan after Bandar slept). She has clearly refuted this though and insists we return “home” to sleep. Even this little Queen bed which we at glance thought seemed too tiny works for now and we haven’t had to draw out the pull out couch yet.

Guess these are lessons I can take with me to our next real home : downsize – get rid of clutter in our lives , stay organized, cook in small quantities , do laundry regularly. Hope I don’t go back to my old ways of living in excess, waste and chaos when the time comes.

8 Responses to “The suite life”

  1. Sue Narain June 25, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

    Amen to what you wrote! After 10 years, we’re moving from Seattle to Denver and it feels like I have been de-cluttering since early May!!! I am working on the fridge today (garbage pickup is Friday, and it’s the last one!!), and I’m only 25% done (panic!!)…my fridge is like a ‘akshaya patra’!! Have resolved in Denver to be more minimalist in my approach to everything – food and otherwise.

    • popgoesthebiscuit June 25, 2015 at 9:28 pm #

      Know exactly what you mean about the Akshaya patra bit. I had an awesome cleaning lady who came in the very last hour and took away a lot of the food and frozen stuff as she cleaned. Last trash pick up struggle brings back memories from May for me- trash disposal in NYC is a nightmare. Good luck with the move and everything. After ten years , I am sure it’s bitter sweet.

  2. Nirupa June 28, 2015 at 7:10 pm #

    Hi – I recently discovered your blog and have been reading on and off. Just wanted to say – welcome to San Diego.

    It is an amazing city and summer is a great time to move here. For that matter, any time of the year 🙂 I live in the Mira Mesa area, let me know if you need any help navigating the city.

    – Nirupa

    • popgoesthebiscuit June 28, 2015 at 10:02 pm #

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. Looking forward to the move and thanks for your offer to help:) Might take you up on it when the need arises!

  3. Pepper June 29, 2015 at 10:35 am #

    I’ve never had an issue cooking in small quantities (infact, that’s the only way I know and cooking large batches is a struggle for me)

    But other than that, every line of your last paragraph is applicable to me too. We really need to de-clutter. We STILL have some boxes of ours lying in our cousin’s basement in California. We have so many unopened boxes even in our tiny apartment here. They are unopened because most of it is stuff we don’t ‘need’ but are unwilling to let go of.

    We really need to let go of thigns if we don’t require them, even if they are dear to us.

  4. Dil On The Rocks June 30, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

    I smiled reading Bandar calling the hotel room ‘Home’. Kids do really remind us that what matters is where we sleep, not the size of the room.

    I don’t think I have a clutter problem, I am organized a bit. Well, at least that’s what I think. And I am not certain I am right. 🙂 Hope the mess gets resolved soon. Remember eternal sunny and shiny days are waiting for you. 🙂

  5. My Era July 22, 2015 at 11:06 pm #

    You guys are doing pretty well and I am loving Bandar for knowing exactly what she wants 🙂
    De-cluttering is therapeutic & I am sure living in this studio setup will be a wonderful inspiration for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

