The pictures on the wall

2 May

So the pictures came down today. I did this today, the packing ritual I usually save for the very end, I did unusually early this time as far as the packing-moving stages go. I was packing a box of thick winter clothes and it made sense to wrap the pictures well and put them in the same box cushioned among the clothes. So its done now and we better really be moving as I am not putting these back up on the walls of this apartment!

Yes, we are moving – where to is still up in the air. This is no easy move from place A to place B for which we will go first and our stuff will follow later. No , we do things fairly more complicatedly around here – and it keeps us busy and happy, to see the least! The move will happen to either place B or C , both with their own pros and cons and either one month from now or three months from now. And for the next one month, we are probably going to place D – I say “probably” because things are still not finalized with regards to this – place D requires visas which we still haven’t received. And our trip is about 10 days away. Before we jet off though, we need to move out and put our stuff in storage as our apartment will have to be vacated. Phew! Sorry for the cryptic crap here – I will share things in due course of time as things become clear even to me! Talk about chaos around here.

I moved quite a bit as a child and with every move, the wall art and pictures coming down symbolized the finality of the move.The pictures we usually did last, keeping them on the wall till the final day before the move. The evening before the movers were due, my mom would go around the house removing the pictures and commenting on them or noticing things she hadn’t before or commenting that the picture had never really been hung up at the right spot to begin with. And the pictures going up on new walls again, symbolized the fact that we had settled in and actually had found time to hang up the pictures. Usually this was a good week or two after we actually moved. And the box the pictures were in, would be the last one to be disposed off when empty.

Today ,was no different – the finality of the move hit me hard as I took the pictures down .And of course , it hit the people who saw me do it too. The Husbadoo’s teenage cousin  who is visiting us, saw me stand on the couch and gently unhook our family pictures and he chuckled and commented that we really were moving now, huh! I grinned and commented that I guessed so! I then spent a few more minutes than needed looking at each picture and smiling to myself . Bandar’s first studio picture at 20 days – she still had that goofy old person look that newborns have, her six month picture – those cheeks where did they go, our only studio picture before Bandar , when I was maybe 6 weeks pregnant – I did have some sort of glow about me, even if I say so myself! I remember moving into this apartment, figuring out that our previous furniture placement thoughts would have to be re- planned as we now had sloping floors to contend with! So we had to first figure out where the furniture would be placed and then which wall would be good for the pictures. I remember hanging them up in this apartment , I remember the few house guests we have had commenting on them, I remember frame hunting for them. In all the chaos in our lives right now, I think positive thoughts – we will be in a home again soon, the important thing is we are together -physically and emotionally though all these changes and tough decisions we are taking.These pictures will come with us to other apartment walls , and maybe some other stairway walls when we buy a place and will hopefully be the first of many that we will take. And then years from now, they will lie in an attic somewhere, where Bandar’s children or grand children, if she chooses to have them, will probably never give them a second glance! So the whole moment for me was of course symbolic of change, and maybe  it would have left me vaguely unsettled to have them off so early in the game,  but for the spin I choose to give it my head  of the exciting years ahead of us.

The husbadoo maybe choose not to look at these pictures off the wall as anything other than routine moving stuff. Apart from confirming with me that the sharp pins the pictures were hung on, were out of Bandar’s reach, he really didn’t seem to be bothered about them being off the wall at all. Maybe its because of the non -romantic, almost fearful association he makes with moves. He detests change and is understandably nervous, stressed and overwhelmed at the same time. Bandar didn’t even notice or comment the pictures were off the wall when she got back from school. Geez, surprised me as I prided myself in having a pretty observant child, guess I was wrong! We have shared what we can with a two year old about the next few months at this point and in her muddled toddler brain we will do some fun things this summer but return home to NYC. “New York will always be home, right? ” , “No one else is going to live in my house” , “I will come back to my school soon ” … these are the kind of things she has been spouting the last few weeks and we respond as gently as we can. Hopefully she is young enough to adapt easily and surprises us by getting through all these changes well.

So I am going to take it upon myself to be the family’s torch bearer of move excitement for now. Wish us luck and joy and hopefully those pictures will be gracing our new happy home sometime soon.

9 Responses to “The pictures on the wall”

  1. srividhya May 2, 2015 at 10:56 am #

    Oh I know moves are tuf. We just moved this march… As this was within bay it was ok. But still… Anyways good luck with yours. Everything will be smooth and fine.

  2. princessbutter May 2, 2015 at 1:05 pm #

    Awww… I am sure it will all be for the best. Hugs to all of you!

  3. greenboochi May 4, 2015 at 2:31 pm #

    Loved this post, Pop! Made me emotional for some reason. Good luck with your move 🙂

  4. perspectivesandprejudices May 4, 2015 at 8:54 pm #

    All the best with the move! Look forward to reading updates 🙂

  5. Bhavani May 6, 2015 at 1:56 am #

    All the best Pop……eager to know more about A, B, C, D…..:-))

  6. Dil On The Rocks May 9, 2015 at 10:46 am #

    Kids do much better than us don’t they? 😊 I get very senti moving too. Hopefully nothing soon ever again. 😊

    Good luck with the move P. You know you have made so many sweet memories as you leave this place. You will make so many more at your new home. 😊

    Lots of senti hugs 😊😊😊

  7. My Era May 18, 2015 at 11:23 pm #

    Kudos to you girl for moving on with such positivity. Sending loads of best wishes your way for the big move 😀

Leave a Reply

