Road tripping

29 Apr

When we moved to the Northeast about a year and a half ago, we had a lot of friends tell us that we could really enjoy exploring this region by car. As we didn’t bring our car with us when we moved here to live in the city , every time an opportunity arose to go somewhere a few hours away we either debated between a car rental or taking the train, always picked the train option or dropped the idea altogether and did not travel. Funnily enough, barring a few times last year when apple picking at a farm upstate seemed like a blissful activity in my head, I really haven’t missed that car or driving in our lives.

Both the husbadoo and I are reluctant drivers to say the least, me more than the husbadoo. I remember the reverse scenario in Texas, when people cribbed about driving several hours to leave the state, it did not really bother us as we pretty much flew out whenever we wanted a real vacation. When we do fly to a new city on vacation, the driving reluctance follow us , though nowadays we typically do rent one as atleast in the US it is quite foolish not to rent one as you miss out seeing quite a bit without a car.

We really have done just two long road trips(over 10 hours) in our 9 years together in this country.  One resulted in a bad accident in which thankfully no one was injured and the other with friends during a long weekend years ago. Apart from those we have done a few short two – three hour trips on a pure as needed basis – meeting family, taking visitors from India around etc. In none of these have I been the driver (barring the first one in which we had an accident thanks to me) and I know that sooner rather than later I will need to brave it and drive, though every part of me dreads this. I also know we will have to soon start planning vacations that we drive to as flying a family of three or four , add in family members  visiting,  gets pretty expensive.

Talking about the Northeast again, a few places I wanted to see when we moved here were  upstate New York,Philly, DC, Boston and the Niagara Falls in Buffalo,NY. We finally managed Boston and Providence about two weekends ago, with lo and behold a rented car!

– Bandar was in a car seat after a good six months but did okay for the most part except for frequent complaints of a tummy pain. Not sure how much of it was really physical pain/nausea and how much was psychological. I myself get a little car sick sometimes but with trial and error have figured out a pre road trip diet that works for that most part for me. One key ingredient I skip before road trips is caffeine.

– I cannot sleep on road trips, as I am paranoid the driver will nod off too if I do and I usually engage the driver, husbadoo in this case in conversation. This time this was a little harder to do, as I was in the back seat and we didnt want to talk too loudly and wake my FIL and Bandar. We still managed to gossip a little and played some games of naming the US states which were fun.

– I further engaged in silent games with myself (oops, doesn’t sound right!) like remembering a significant memory from each year of my life. I then killed some more time in first drafting and then solving some fun mental math problems around our speed, distance and time. After that I was mentally gamed out and just spent some time texting a friend.

– Given how short the distance was and the fact that half the passengers slept almost the whole way through, we didn’t stop for food or make any interesting detours. Doubt we will do this till Bandar is much older though. At this point, our main purpose is to get from point A to B without puke and/or crying.

– Apart from the flow of steady conversation, I missed the occasional squeeze of my hand the husbadoo gives me when he is driving. But I was torn as I know Bandar needs me at the back more, especially as she is hardly ever in a car seat these days and its almost a new experience for her each time.

– As usual, the way there seemed shorter, maybe the excitement , but the way home seemed long and boring.

How do you pass time on a road trip?What are your favorite road trip snacks?

16 Responses to “Road tripping”

  1. More than words April 29, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    We love taking road trips …. And u are so true about it being the cheaper way…. These days it’s so difficult to get a good deal especially if you want to avoid the red eye ones … And snacking is such a fun time pass !!

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 30, 2015 at 12:20 am #

      Nice that all three of you enjoy road trips. So far Bandar doesn’t and won’t be surprised if she never does like us. Need to build up to long ones as a family…right now three to four hours itself was too much.

  2. princessbutter April 29, 2015 at 8:49 pm #

    I am the kinds who feel verrrryyyyy sleepy in cars and trains and buses. My mom might have done too much jhoola-jhoola to make me sleep. I remember coming back from SFo with the xBF and I felt like I was drugged. I just couldn’t stay up! He would wake me at some point. We would stop, go and take pics, and I would fall asleep again.
    But I have done better. Lol.
    I love the idea of sandwiches in trip. Chutney and cheese. And sour cream n onion lays. Yumm.

  3. princessbutter April 29, 2015 at 8:53 pm #

    Poor thing he drove for the most of the time. I think I was mentally and physically exhausted. He was supposed to leave in 3 weeks and that was our last trip.

    The most fun trip has been our road trip to the canyons. 5 ppl. 1 SUV. We drove around Utah and Arizona. Was fab.

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 30, 2015 at 12:18 am #

      You guys knew you were breakng up but still took the trip??wow! Chutney sandwiches on the road sound good! The husbadoo loves sour cream lays …I like the jalapeno one.

      • princessbutter April 30, 2015 at 12:28 am #

        We were together till he got on that flight. 😊

        Jalapeño is good too! But fav is sour cream. One more thing! Namkeen puri n achar. Mommy!!

      • popgoesthebiscuit April 30, 2015 at 11:07 am #

        Oh so now I have too many questions about it. All prying questions which I will save for when we meet in person. Namkeen puri…ahhhh .,ages since I had some.

      • princessbutter April 30, 2015 at 11:13 am #

        Lol okie. Will save the story for our meet.

  4. Bhavani April 30, 2015 at 12:25 am #

    We have done quite a few road trips. I love driving..generally we take turns. The kids are ok for some time and then start the “Are we there yet” thingy…we just let them watch movies with head phones..hubby and I listen to old Tamil/Hindi songs and enjoy the ride..

    We carry a lot of snacks(Junk)…desi snacks for us…crackers chips etc for kids…grapes and baby carrots(Which comes back unopened most of the time) still we insist on carrying it…

    Overall has not been too bad..we have managed…

    I hear you regarding flight…when we went to Disney we considered flying but backed out when we had to shell out $XXXX for 4 ticks and just drove…

    And yes you need to get over the fear after an accident..it is hard I understand..hope you start enjoying your road trips soon..

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 30, 2015 at 11:02 am #

      Oh ya, I am now at a point where I rather spend the money doing something on the vacay than just getting there. That said, need to overcome my uneasiness and overall dislike for road trips in general. Uneaten baby carrots made me smile.

  5. Kavs April 30, 2015 at 8:47 am #

    Hope Boston was fun 🙂 wish we could meet, maybe next time?

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 30, 2015 at 11:05 am #

      You know, I did think of mailing you beforehand but it was barely 48 split between RI and boston and you know that travelling with fam ian’t easy to start with. Hope our paths cross again soon though. Boston was fun – the little we saw. Boston commons , aquarium. I liked Cambridge too which was where we stayed. Wish we had ône more day overall to do the place justice.

  6. My Era May 1, 2015 at 11:08 am #

    Pari too suffers from severe motion sickness, which we are slowly working on. The key tip I follow is to avoid eating any food within 40 minutes of travel. It reduces incidents of throwing up considerably.

    Renting cars is indeed a great idea given the flexibility it offers to take detours, go at a pace that suits your family & if need be take a power nap too.

    I sincerely hope you get back to driving like before soon. It is quite vital in life 🙂

    I am not a big fan of eating in the car, however, if I have the opportunity to cook (which I create almost 100% of times) I try to cook up the dry aloo sabzi ( in asafoetida + cumin seeds) with poori and a seasonal pickle. BTW, this was my favorite even when I lived overseas along with the sandwiches.

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 2, 2015 at 9:21 am #

      SO 40 mins then ! The alu subji somehow had me drooling and I am not even a big alu fan. Funny. Maybe the description of poori and achar.

      • My Era May 4, 2015 at 4:31 pm #

        One important thing that I missed here was, when Pari was of Bandar’s age, I did consult a paediatrician who gave me a medicine (Tab. Avomine) to administer an hour before travel. It helps beat anxiety, cause mild sedation but makes travel a pleasant, sickness free experience for the child.

        Please do consider consulting a paediatrician because little kids, can’t be distracted like we adults can & no trip is fun if the child in the family is feeling sick.

      • popgoesthebiscuit May 5, 2015 at 12:05 am #

        Ya have heard of this. Thing is we have done next to zero car travel over the last 18 months and so we will have to start using one regularly for us to find out how bad this problem really is. Right now hard to tell. Will be asking her pedi for sure if this is an everyday issue in our lives:)

Leave a Reply

