The weekend bullet routine

24 Mar

If I don’t blog by atleast Tuesday about the weekend, I am going to end up forgetting what we did.Not that it was a spectacular weekend by any means , it was just your regular old weekend – but guess there is some comfort in routine and I will probably enjoy getting a glimpse of what we did when I read this several years from now.

– The weather is far too cold for March. But I am surprisingly not that bothered by it any more. I just merrily put on my four layers and do what I have to do,snowstorm and all. Of course , I realize that I am not driving, I am not shoveling and I live in the city, so maybe that makes going about and doing your thing easier.

– We did some skype time with the grandies on Saturday morning and feasted on Ragda Patties. This was the only meal I made the entire weekend.Cannot thank my stars enough that we both  don’t particularly mind older food. By old I mean a max of 3 days. Bandar gets fairly fresh food . Fairly being the operative word – I know, I do feed her a day or two old food sometimes, gasp! But its all good and she’s okay. I rather be reading her a good book than cooking piping hot, delicious meals on the clock.

– Talking about stories, my sister sent over some of our old Enid Blyton short stories recently and I have spent several happy bedtimes and weekends reading aloud and snuggling with Bandar. She’s only two and a half (as she will remind you) , so I do abridge the already simple stories but we have a few favorites so far.

– We did the regular, overpriced kiddie haircut for Bandar on Saturday evening and she was as good as gold. Only the blow dryer scared her a bit. She enjoyed sitting in the toy car , pretending to drive while the stylist did a decent job. She even commented that the visibly older screaming child next to her was “just scared and maybe a newborn?”  Compassion – 1, Observation – 0.

– We then went to Central Park , for the first time in months. The temp was about 32 F and we had to keep our gloves on. Hoping for more spring park days soon. Bandar called it a night with pizza at whole foods and a puke incident later on the bed. Fun times!

– We have started potty training in its simplest form at home and Bandar complies for the most part and is rewarded with Hotwheels and M&Ms. So far so good but I have no unrealistic expectation that we will be out of diapers in the next few months. This is going to be a long drawn out process.

– The bad part about potty training is the candy accessibility in the house. I went through my weight in M&Ms this weekend!

– Sunday started with a playdate for Bandar in the morning. Lunch was a quiet affair at home and the husbadoo went off into deep slumber, while Bandar and I played, read and prepared to go to birthday party . She was quite excited and I gave up making her sleep , only to have her fall asleep 30 minutes before we had to leave. Anyway, the party cheered up the grumpy, sleepy monkey and she was satiated with juice, chips and cake.

– Maybe I should be limiting sweet treats for Bandar . Some of her friends are allowed no candy, and only tiny bits of cake. Bandar gets dessert , juice and candy if its available. We do limit to some extent when it is available but maybe not enough in comparison to other kiddos her age. We previously never stocked this kind of crap but have started to off late. She’s taken to eating this deliciously , rich chocolate coated biscuit everyday after school and I sometimes have a hard time getting her to leave school, if I don’t promise this biscuit. Bad parenting, I know. We brush her teeth well morning and evening, but even if teeth rot isn’t an issue, I worry about the sugar she consumes on a daily basis. So if I am worried , i should probably do something about it, right? Need to go back to bribing with smoothies and carrots – super hard!

– I had such a New York moment in the party when the parents around me were debating local bagels! Funny!  That said, socializing with Bandar’s classmates’ parents is one of the few social outlets I have and I enjoy these few occasions immensely.

–  The weekend brought in some unpleasant financial revelations for us. But I guess that’s the mixed bag of being an adult and you deal with stuff as best as you can, make decisions and move on. Moments like this are when the fact hits you that you are truly a grown-up with real world problems. We ended the weekend with dinner outside though. Nothing to get over overspending blues like eating out again, is there? Pretty shameless indeed but hopefully this phase too shall pass,

– We did some much needed house cleaning and every time we do these short but effective cleaning sprees , I am motivated to do them more frequently. Sadly, cleaning is the most hated of household chores for me and I can live quite comfortably despite the mess all around. The husbadoo is a tad different, but only a tad and I certainly don’t see him volunteering to do all the cleaning, sorting,laundry, trash organizing chores on his own each week So our only plan of attack has to be joint and we have to be consistent each week to at the very least,  create a decent living environment for Bandar.

27 Responses to “The weekend bullet routine”

  1. princessbutter March 24, 2015 at 11:01 pm #

    I can’t comment about weekends. Most are so lame where I have a lunch of pizza slice and free samples at Costco. Sheesh.
    I want a toy car for my haircuts!! They are so tormenting and anxiety inducing that I need some incentive yaa. The last haircut I got in India, the guy forced this ‘bouncy’ look down my throat and I felt like Madhuri from the 90s whipping her hair around. :-/
    Bandar is super cute yaa. I want to meet her.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 25, 2015 at 12:04 am #

      Bandar’s haircuts cost as much as mine.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 25, 2015 at 12:04 am #

      India haircuts are awful for me , man…

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 25, 2015 at 12:06 am #

      Ughhh..phone issue,splitting my comments. I have wavy, curly hair and the Indian stylists only suggest straightening and nothing else…hate them.

      • princessbutter March 25, 2015 at 12:08 am #

        Hair cuts are the most panic inducing times for me. It’s madness.

      • popgoesthebiscuit March 25, 2015 at 12:12 am #

        I love them here in the US ya…love the new look feeling for a few days…

  2. More than words March 24, 2015 at 11:28 pm #

    I agree the quiet almost mundane weekends are some of the best … While potty training my Daughter, I would give her stickers…. Had those cheap princess stickers in abundance, and each time she did the job we would let her pick a sticker and put it on the bathroom door…. After 10 stickers she would get a toy 🙂 …. It worked for us but the door kind of starts getting on ur nerves ….

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 25, 2015 at 12:07 am #

      Stickers are not enoughhere ya…,she started with stickers and never was incentivized. So now cars. Have told her it ends when the twenty cars are done. Candy I should stop.

  3. Deepa March 25, 2015 at 12:18 am #

    “I rather be reading her a good book than cooking piping hot, delicious meals on the clock”, I felt like you were sharing my own story with this sentence. I totally relate with this. I cook big batches of pasta, dal and biriyani/pulav, aloo curry and we manage for 2 days.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 25, 2015 at 12:20 am #

      Oh ya. Think its good to raise non picky kids too. You get what you get and you don’t get upset. Less work all around and happy mommy.

  4. srividhya March 25, 2015 at 12:28 am #

    With parenting go for what works for you. There is nothing like right or wrong… I do give vaandu left overs. He is not a book guy or rather I made it that way. Songs songs songs anytime and everytime. Our bed time ritual is to explore songs and rhymes irrespective of genres and languages. Till 5 yrs he wanted one of us to sing. 😉 😉 recently he stopped.
    When I go to one dollar store I get lot of tiny stuffs like veggie fruit shaped erasers, cars, crayons and bribe him with that.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 25, 2015 at 5:15 am #

      Thanks for the dollar store idea. Nice that you guys connect with songs:)

  5. Dil On The Rocks March 25, 2015 at 11:56 pm #

    I was going to write about this, but I have to say this here now. Achu was potty trained in two days. Well, in our third attempt to potty train. 😀 I am saying this because, when you feel like she is ready, she will learn very fast. I didn’t want the training o drag on or hear their complaints, so we simply took a break and tried again. It was not worth all the cleanup, teaching them when I thought they are not ready. 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 26, 2015 at 3:38 am #

      Ahhh interestng. Two days as in…for night and outside too?? For me restarting in a few months means her regressing past this solid one week almost of training at home, you know. Night, school and outside is our next big challenge and that is what I meant by this dragging out.

      • Dil On The Rocks March 26, 2015 at 11:56 pm #

        Outside yes. Nights not yet. I think they can be around 3 to be night potty trained. I see few days Achu holds off all nights, her diaper is all empty in the morning. If she is ready, that’s nice. But I am not thinking of forcing the night time routines yet.

  6. seema3 March 26, 2015 at 12:42 am #

    I can so relate to the mess stuff, i can happily live with mess around me, thoguh I do feel guilty sometime but not able to get the urge to clean up.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 26, 2015 at 3:40 am #

      🙂 Trying to get better with this as we have a baby and don’t want her to think a messy home is okay. Once the clean up is done, I love the clean look though. Just doing it….sheer laziness

  7. Bhavani March 26, 2015 at 3:59 am #

    1. Leftovers to kids – Check
    2. Living in a mess sometimes – Check

    Regarding Potty training..yeah I think both my kids were out of diapers including night at around 2yrs 10 months. I started late and they got trained in no time. The day care they went to also helped a lot.

    I feel for you East Coasters with the bad weather. We are going to hit 85-90 tomorrow it seems. Otherwise it has been a pleasant 70s. Loving it

    And am super excited about the watching the match tonite. Hope India makes it to the final.

    Have a good one!

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 26, 2015 at 6:17 am #

      Have come to terms with weather ya:) Though of course I am excited about Spring and summer. By those temps, I am assuming you are in Cali somewhere?Am I right?:)

      • Bhavani March 26, 2015 at 11:08 pm #

        Yep we live in the Bay Area

  8. Kavs March 26, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

    Argh the weather! At least we got the highest snow ever – so some consolation there for the endless snow banks 🙂
    Seriously regarding food, I am like whatever the kid will eat. Left my high horse long back! Feeding S her daily meals is like a project which is never successful.
    We are recovering from viral, cough and cold so appetite has gone down even more.
    Could you please share the book titles Bandar enjoys? S is a budding bookworm and is getting bored of board books. Yeah at 2, tell me! 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 26, 2015 at 11:55 pm #

      Sure, happy to share what we’ve been reading. Check out Enid Blyton Reward Series on Amazon. You will lots of books with short stories. We have a few of those and she has some favorites in each book. But I do abridge them further as I read. I am sure you do Dr. Seuss but we have a ton of them and she loves them more now at 2.5 than at 1 , last year. Another British series we love is Lola and Charlie. Also huge Winnie the Pooh book fans…again I abridge but she loves the small rhymes that Pooh makes up in each story.

      • Kavs March 27, 2015 at 5:49 am #

        Very nice indeed! Thanks P 🙂

  9. srividhya March 27, 2015 at 10:43 pm #

    Hey I m asking pretty late.. hope u guys are safe. Read the news about NYC gas explosion. Take care

  10. Little Fingers March 29, 2015 at 4:41 am #

    Catching up blogs after a long time ? How you been? How’s Bandar?

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 30, 2015 at 6:50 am #

      All good, Lifi. Same old things here, waiting for spring. What about you all?

Leave a Reply

