Just the usual

19 Mar

Nothing like an “updates” post to beat the blogging lethargy.

The last year has seen me travel extensively for work and the only way I can do it all is because of my super supportive husband – he holds the fort when I am away, often for a week at a time and gets our little one fed, clothed and nurtured. Of course, daycare helps but it’s this guy who gets her there and himself to work and has things running smoothly. I left a sick little girl entirely in his care last week and worried my way through the first half of the week. But I needn’t have at all – he managed it all quite well and pushed himself beyond all possible limits last week, with childcare, work and everything else. I lucked out on this whole “choosing a partner” thing and he probably deserves much more than the airport chocolate I brought back home for him.

With regards to Bandar, she paid the doctor another visit last week and is appearing to still be fighting off some bad virus with a cough and cold. I am okay with this for the most part, as long as it isn’t the ears again or a fever. She passes this virus on to us as well and then we pass it back and forth merrily and can’t seem to shake it off. Oh well, things could be worse and it’s just a viral.

On the food front, we have been sticking to ordering in comfort food – creamy, rich malai kofta and paneer subjis and going out to have huge bowls of hot, delicious, soupy Ramen that hits the right spot on cold winter evenings. A bakery has opened a few doors down and we have indulged with some molten lava cake and it’s like.

I have been cooking in bulk a few days of the week to see us through extremely busy work days. Nothing majorly fancy – moong quinoa dosas and spicy chutneys for us (Nutella on the dosas for Bandar),hearty dals with some veggies thrown in   and some Thai curries now. On the days we exhaust the food and are in no mood for take-out, I make sandwiches with mozzarella, avocado, spinach and tomato in some combination with hummus. So good eats overall.

Work still stresses me out but I have realized I am one of those people who will always be worried and preoccupied with work and career stress. Things that seem minor to others, seem huge to me and I take my work far too seriously to be any different. I am learning to just do my best and let minor things roll of my back , but this is harder than it seems.

I had a good week in ATX from a “meeting friends” perspective and got to relax and unwind a bit after work. A lot of this unwinding involved good food in excess and I will need to work extra hard the next few weeks to keep those pounds at bay.

On the friends front, I have realized that there are just some marital problems I don’t get, thankfully. Husbands not standing up for wives when in laws and their relatives criticize the wife’s weight,mean in laws who insist on controlling every aspect of a couple’s life from India, 30 year old husbands who don’t stand up to said in law issues and so on. Of course, it’s not like I don’t have my own set of problems but these talks always make me thankful that some how things are manageable on my front , maybe thanks to the husbadoo being who he is. Or maybe I am just over sensitive and expect far too much support from the guy I married to deal with these kind of things. I come home and discuss these stories with him and ask him how he would have handled these situations, each time with bated breath, hoping he will give me the answer I expect. And so far he hasn’t disappointed!

I am learning to incorporate exercise into my evenings with Bandar. She lets me use the elliptical and plays in the vicinity. My workout is interrupted a few times and I have to breathlessly answer the million questions she poses, but I am funnily more amused than irritated by it all. That said, I have good work out days and bad ones and the bad ones largely outweigh the good in a week.

15 Responses to “Just the usual”

  1. srividhya March 19, 2015 at 6:49 am #

    Oh ooo.. Hopefully she recovers soon from the viral.. When the kids suffer it becomes a full circle right? Good to see your post.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 19, 2015 at 6:57 am #

      Big bout of laziness, but glad to be back to writing.For some reason you had dropped off my reader. So now catching up:)

  2. princessbutter March 19, 2015 at 8:49 am #

    Look who’s back! I assumed you were busy with the work stress you mentioned last time. Feel better soon.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 20, 2015 at 1:58 am #

      woh toh hain he..but working through it. Life goes on otherwise , no.

  3. tandooripanipurilife March 19, 2015 at 10:54 am #

    You say nothing majorly fancy and then you write these mind-boggling names of food?? You are such an awesome cook Pop, I know you are very busy but invite me for dinner please 😀 😀

    • princessbutter March 19, 2015 at 11:20 am #

      TP, how are you? Health and all?

      • tandooripanipurilife March 22, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

        I am well sweety.. Hoping to be back to blogging this week😊

      • popgoesthebiscuit March 22, 2015 at 11:18 pm #

        Glad to hear that, TPL! Missed reading you.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 20, 2015 at 1:59 am #

      Arre…super average compared to you.. pucca invited if you are ever in NYC…how are you doing , girl???Hope all welll.

  4. Titaxy March 19, 2015 at 8:03 pm #

    i hope bandar feels better soon.
    moong-quinoa dosa sounds interesting. will try it soon. thanks for the idea 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 20, 2015 at 2:01 am #

      Oh its very easy…soake green moong for a few hrs. Quinoa in same proportion 1 hour. Add lots of boiled spinach. And blend. Add some red chillies if you like the spice when blending. Wait for 30 mins and make dosas normally. I added some oats to thicken the batter this time as it was runny.

      • Deepa March 20, 2015 at 9:29 pm #

        Wow!!! I am going to try it today itself! What an innovative and healthy recipe pop, thanks!!

      • popgoesthebiscuit March 21, 2015 at 6:11 am #

        Sure…let me know how it turns out:)

  5. Pepper March 20, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    The food.. I am drooling. Btw, I hated quinoa, but surprisingly I always find myself drawn to it when you mention it. I guess you use it in different and more interesting ways..

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 21, 2015 at 6:12 am #

      Oh the husband hates quinoa too. Have to sneak it in. Bandar surprisingly likes quinoa…overheard her talking to her dolls and feeding them quinoa last week.

Leave a Reply

