Happy Weekend recap

2 Mar

This has been a weekend of intense mother-daughter bonding! Hope Bandar enjoyed it as much as I did.

The husbadoo had to be in Boston for a good part of the weekend. so it left me with a weekend of decentish weather for the most part and a dad crazy toddler to entertain. Saturday , we started off at the library. (What is it about libraries and kids wanting to sit there and read at the tables? I remember distinctly being 5 at Hong Kong’s British Council Library and wanting my mom to read books to me, instead of just the normal just-quickly-issue-books-and-leave thing we did each time. But being a good little girl who never asked for anything, I never ever communicated this to her, at least that’s what mom tells me,)

Anyway, we spent a lovely one hour there . Oh noteworthy – we picked up BJ Novak’s – The Book with no pictures and OMG ,what a fun read. I am a huge fan of his, well more like BJ-Mindy relationship fangirl , and I had heard about the book but really didn’t think Bandar would enjoy it yet as she’s not even 2.5 years old. I was so wrong though – she loved it and we have read it a few times this weekend already. Oh the husbadoo actually does a better job than me in reading it out to her. I can see us buying this. We then went to Whole Foods and after the regular grocery shopping,we did Bandar’s favorite thing – sit down and eat pizza there. She was seriously so patient despite her hunger at 1:30 pm and was a delight overall that morning. For me it was like one of those confidence boosting mornings as a mom ,out in New York city with my toddler. I was having a fairly good hair day, was amply clad in four layers and snow boots and enjoyed the short walk to and fro these places and home. We came home and she took a nap while I did some office work.

Saturday I did not cook at all. I ate three consecutive meals of the same ultra – tam-brahm-as-it-comes food – piddi kozhukattai rice dumplings steamed) made with brown rice( tad less guilty making it this way)  and onion-eggplant puliuttha kootu. Both these I haven’t made in almost five years, but they were fairly decent if I should say so myself. The husbadoo liked them too in the one meal he made of them on Friday night.  I was anyway thankful for this in my fridge and not having to cook in addition to child care on Saturday, even though I myself got a little tired of it by the third meal- Saturday Dinner. The husbadoo arrived from Boston dog-tired close to midnight and after a quick cozy catch up chat, we slept around midnight.

Sunday morning, the husbadoo went off for cricket practice at the crack of dawn and Bandar and I decided to go to the Children’s museum. NYC’s Children’s Museum is ahhh-mazingggg! Seriously, we don’t tire of this place and Bandar seems to enjoy different activities at our periodic visits every few months , as she grows. I usually hate parting with the entrance fee and ensure we get our money’s worth by making it a longish visit, but we only got about two hours today and my thrifty heart ached a little to leave around lunch time! The husbadoo , freshly showered and clean, met us outside and we made our way to lunch as a snowstorm began in all its glory.

We went to our favorite American-dosa cafe kind of place – Hampton Chutney and had a relaxing lunch together. We then made our way home , stopping mid way for chores in the raging storm , while Bandar slept cozily under the numerous stroller blankets and snow covers. The husbadoo and I caught up on random tidbits from the last few weeks and I was a happy girl.

I went on a mini cooking spree once home as I anticipate a crazy work week. So now I have some delish soupy-pasta (spicy hummus and home made marinara) base with tons of veggies, and rahjma.Should see us through till mid week. I have realized I eat a ton when I am anxious/ depressed/ worried or all of the above , as I was last week. A  semi healthy filling meal like a Rahjma Sandiwch and some salad should hopefully keep me full if eaten at mid day while I work. I worked out a grand total of two times last week. I am super pissed off with my mommy tummy but obviously not pissed off enough to do enough to tone it, which is pissing me off even more.Somehow the city life style and killer stairs have helped me shed those pesky last 5 lbs that I had on me when we moved here and I am now at 122 lbs , which is about 8 lbs lower than my pre pregnancy weight. But the freaking tummy needs work.  Hoping this week bodes well for exercise.

Overall fairly productive weekend. Made up for some lousy mom days I had in recent times where I gave in to far too much video time and sweet treats to tame my monkey. No treats or TV time this weekend is a mini victory as far as I am concerned right now.

9 Responses to “Happy Weekend recap”

  1. srividhya March 2, 2015 at 10:44 am #

    Glad you had a great weekend.. Ahhh. Let me about the tummy.. Crunches is one option but I hate it..

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 3, 2015 at 1:05 am #

      Oh there are tons of stuff for abs on youtube.Ab blaster work outs. Just need dedication each day. I personally love Jillian Michaels work outs..Ripped in 30 is my new fav.Intense soreness but you feel like you actually did something.

  2. princessbutter March 2, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

    You are a great mom I think. You are not scared of taking Bandar out and freaking out with ooh, cold and ooh, snow. My niece was so over protected in Chicago that I feel her health got worse thanks to that. Hell, I fell sick at their place when I visited them one snowy Christmas. Their central building heater(?!?) was on highest. The apt was so dry that my nosie had shriveled up and died and was so painful. My throat was like a shriveled raisin I bet. There was zero ventilation on except the time I sneaked into the living room and opened the window like 5 mm. It became so perfect after that. They refused to go out anywhere except once. This all when I could see other gora kids playing downstairs in the park happily.
    Your exposing your kid to everything is going to help her in the long run I am sure. Whenever I am a mommy, I will re-read all your tips and tricks on entertaining a baby.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 3, 2015 at 12:00 am #

      No re..think everyone just does what they are comfy with. In our case , as Bandar is already in school, she gets hit by a lot of germs anyway on a daily basis. I then don’t worry a whole lot about exposure outside…like the museum. But even then I cringed when she crawled around playing on the museum floor and almost licked a telescope.Oh and a few eeks ago we did frozen yogurt in the snow outside and major wind exposure and she got the ear infection. My folks freaked out about frozen treats in the winter…don’t think I had ice cream till the age of 5! But that’s the best part of having your own kid na…raising them the way you want. Bandar has been drinking ice cold milk for over a year now, which also freaked grandparents out.

      Oh and I get you about the central heat…we have the humidifier one all day but still bad. Your comment made me happy though…hehe

      • princessbutter March 3, 2015 at 12:25 am #

        Hahaha. That bit about her licking the microscope 😂

  3. Bhavani March 3, 2015 at 3:58 am #

    Nice..some weekends leave us happy and accomplished right? I think you deserved this one..

    Pidi Kozhakattai – Love it though husband is not a big fan..I still make it though rarely..

    And you are still doing good on the work out bit…abs is the biggest issue for me also….ofcourse the truth is i am not doing anything specific to reduce it is another story..

    I had a good weekend also…did some hiking up the mountains with freinds..we have been trying every weekend…cooked decent food, took the kids out…

    So overall a good weekend for me too…

    Have a good week ahead..

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 4, 2015 at 5:35 am #

      Hiking with friends and kids seems fun. Can’t wait till we are at that point. Bandar won’t walk after a while and we will be stuck picking her and walking if we go now.

  4. Dil On The Rocks March 3, 2015 at 7:04 am #

    I love it that you dare the cold and take her outside. We almost stay put at home in the worry of catching cold. We should start going out more.

    Last year, even I weighed less than what I was at around my wedding and sometimes I think I can eat anything because I work so much. 🙂 Turns out my body doesn’t think that way, so I am going through the weight gains again. I need to explore healthy recipes.

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 4, 2015 at 11:14 pm #

      Dude the weight thing always catches up..Have realized I have to eat really less and feel awful or have to exercise. Cannot get away with eating crap. Sigh. As I love food too much, I need to be happy with a few pounds on me or exercise. Oh the going out in cold thing will change for you once they are at school and expose to tons of germs! Not much you can do about that, so going out becomes less worrisome.

Leave a Reply

