Another week goes by

21 Feb

This week has been never ending here. And it looks like though its Friday I have no respite. Why you ask?Because Bandar is sick  . AGAIN! She was cuddled to me at 6 am and I noticed her temperature seemed higher than usual. (Thank God for co sleeping at moments like this – not that we would do things differently if she was in her own bed, but atleast illness detection is faster this way and I hate the thought of leaving a sick baby alone). And indeed it was , a low grade fever for now but she’s at home. As its too late to arrange a nanny, we are both staying with her today.And as she sticks to the husbadoo, I find myself surplus in their little love fest, but it gives me time to do things like blog, I guess!

Poor little monkey. She’s now obviously refusing food and a little cranky. Hoping this doesn’t end up being another ear infection saga. We will have to see how this plays out.

We had plans this weekend to visit my cousin in NJ, but of course, we cancelled now. I prefer not to venture out when I have a fever and I am assuming the same holds good for my child. So we will be at home the whole time, hopefully nursing Bandar back to health miraculously by Monday.

In a way, I am relieved that I am staying home this weekend. Work has been extremely hectic this week. I have another two crazy weeks of work and another work trip on the horizon. Phew! So it is nice to relax in the comfort of your own home for two days and not venture out into the Tundra . Seriously, brutally cold weather !

That said, I am going to be fairly busy this weekend –  I have a lot of work related reading and fun reading to do.Work reading I am doing in bits and pieces , but it needs to happen by Monday. Fun reading is for book club this coming week and I have just opened the book . As always ,if the genre is not one I gravitate towards, I am in a slump for the first 50 pages or so. That is the reason, I love book club again. Ever so often, I end up liking books that I never expected too. So I am hoping for lots of reading this weekend overall.

Exercise happened twice this week admist work stress and I have realized how to optimally position the tablet to read the sub titles and watch the show as I work out on my noisy, cheap, elliptical-from-the 60s. I won’t be returning this though because of the sheer pain involved in scheduling the return, dismantling this piece-of-crap and getting a refund. I will use it for a year maybe and sell it. On a related topic, my knee pain resurfaced- maybe because of the high tension I set the elliptical at and I bought an over the counter knee brace. Doesn’t help much but I am using it and working out at lower tensions than I am used to. Wonder if all this is because I bought an awful machine. I worked out last week in a high end machine at the hotel gym , during my work trip and I had no knee pain or anything. Perfectly blissful workout sans toddler worry or anything else.

There will be minimum cooking as I have some home made tasty pad thai leftovers from yesterday. That should last a day or so and we want to eat some roasted veggie sandwiches too, which will be fairly easy to put together. Actually, food has been fairly noteworthy for majority of this week. I made a quinoa salad , which the husbadoo used to love but shunned this time around for seconds. So of course, I stuffed myself with it and can I just say, I love the avocado, onion, tomato, cilantro combo. Its like guacamole in my mouth and who cares if there is this teeny tiny healthy grain with it. I do like quinoa as such, so this was a fun eat, atleast for me.  I would  be making this every week if avocados were not so damn expensive in the city and refuse to ripen for days in the winter.Sigh!  I had to put one on the radiator for two days and even then it got soft and ripe in patches only and not all around. So if someone can tell me how to get avocados to ripen quickly, I am all ears. Another reason we need to move to the South – cheap, good avocados!

On other new food finds here, I am addicted to this Rye cracker from Whole foods. I foolishly picked up a 2 pound jar of crunchy Whole Foods Peanut butter which was on sale and dug in to find it had to sugar. Of course, what else should I have expected from WF! So I have figured how to use this – spread on rye cracker, drizzle with honey and enjoy. Delicious! Green smoothies continue to be slurped every other day. Every day became too much as the husbadoo and Bandar have one tiny glass each and I am left with half a pitcher. There is only so much fiber one can drink, and I am left drinking the leftovers the next day too. Of course, I am not scrimping on any meals  though,The smoothie is a mere addition!

So that’s the latest in our world right now. Let me know what’s up with you all.

10 Responses to “Another week goes by”

  1. Bhavani February 21, 2015 at 3:42 am #

    Ayyo what is this sickness ma…hope she gets better soon..we all have had the sniffles and coughs here also….managing….otherwise same old same old….going off for the weekend today to the snow(I know we have to go in search of snow) . Will be back on Sunday..

    Have a relaxed weekend…

    Oh sorry about the Ell but good you are putting it to use..

    Take care

    Bhavani

  2. princessbutter February 21, 2015 at 4:04 am #

    I just ate an avocado salad for lunch. And on toast last night. And in a pita on Tuesday. Love Cali!

  3. srividhya February 23, 2015 at 11:09 am #

    Oh mann.. Hope Bandar feels better soon. Knee pain be careful yaar. I don’t think its because of the machine. May be the position or some thing might have caused. I tried a new machine at my gym (side to side elliptical) and ended with knee pain. One week I wasn’t able to do anything. Take care though..

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 26, 2015 at 9:30 am #

      Dunno why I get knee pain ya The brace does help a bit. But previously also I had knee pain when I did a lot of squats and lunges..

  4. nitwitblubberoddmentweak February 24, 2015 at 1:45 am #

    aiyyo its so cold it isn’t even funny. the wind tunnels created by those tall buildings around every block isn’t helping either. Sigh.
    my second one is prone to ear infections so i totally feel your pain. hope Bandar feels better soon!

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 26, 2015 at 9:30 am #

      Yes…wind tunnels…exactly..bad even for us, so no wonder kiddos are sick

  5. Bikramjit February 26, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

    oh no.. god bless the little one i hope she is doing fine now..

    need to try the crackers you mentioned ..

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 26, 2015 at 11:27 pm #

      she’s recovered thankfully, till the next one that is! Neverending with kids, germs and the winter. Ya try the crackers..called Ryvita.Delicious

Leave a Reply

