Lazy weekend notes

2 Feb

As predicted I went into some weird strike mode this weekend with relation to  most things domestic. As a result the husbadoo had no lunch box to take today, we have no prepped food for the week, Bandar took waffles and chips for lunch (a very unhealthy toddler lunch) and our house looks like a pig sty with clothes and toys all over. And I still don’t have the slightest inclination to fix any of this.

To start with,  work on Friday left me with some nagging concerns about something and it played on my mind all weekend. You know the feeling when you are worried about something that might be resolved only in a few days and how you go about your normal life but continue to have the nagging worry in the back of your mind?  I watched a ton of TV this weekend to escape this worrisome feeling to some extent.

The husbadoo returned late on Friday and announced he had  to work on Saturday too. For morning breakfast/ brunch I made poha , but somehow it was really dry and not tasty. Maybe because we both are sick and have bad throats now, but we hardly ate it. After some skyping with family, the husbadoo left for work. Bandar surprisingly took  a few minutes to realize he had left and she reacted with a few tears but her tiredness took over. She settled down and  took a long nap , while I watched some TV. I am finding it increasingly hard to sleep in the afternoons somehow, and there is no other calming time than that to watch TV. She got up at 6 pm and after a ton of imaginary games , some food and more skype time, she settled down to sleep at 10:30 pm. The husbadoo cam home past 11 pm to find us both asleep!

I woke up on Sunday to find my elliptical inside the house. How did it get up the stairs, I wondered.The husbadoo had obviously carried it up and my heart melted to think he lifted 100 pounds odd up 5 floors for me! To his point , he could not have left it there blocking the tiny common lobby.My blood also boiled at the useless company I had ordered it from and I spent the next 30 minutes furiously fighting with them on the phone. I  only argued because I had called them after online ordering last week and had insisted on a doorstep delivery which they had promised.Oh another scary thing is the cardboard box mentions that the product contains lead which may be harmful…wash hands after handling!  WTF! Ellipticals have lead? It makes no sense and I then spent some time emailing the manufacturer about lead. Chances are I am returning this, hopefully it will be picked up at my door.

Anyway, I then pulled out our used-three-times-in-three-years-waffle maker and proceeded to make waffles for us all. Bandar had requested that she wanted to take waffles to school this week in her lunch box..In her words, ” Everyone will say what did you bring in your lunch box and then they will say – Oh wow , waffles!”  Apparently, lunch box envy starts young. So waffles it was though she later said they taste like chappathis because I had used whole wheat flour and unsweetened apple sauce, I guess.  Anyway, she dipped them in nutella and had a few bites.

The husbadoo then talked me into ordering two unhealthy desi subjis from an Indian restaurant and I complied, despite my normal kill-joy arguments of “Its so expensive ” or “I can make it better at home.They arrived and we hogged. Needless to say, they were delicious!

We realized that our friends had not confirmed the super – bowl invite after I told them Bandar was sick. Probably thought she was contagious or too sick to go. I did not feel comfortable enough calling and re inviting ourselves either. The husbadoo said I should do that, but I didn’t. I miss the level of comfort we had with our friends in Texas when we would just casually call and show up and hang out, sickish child and all.

So we got Bandar to finally sleep around 4 pm and then after her nap, we hurried out to buy groceries, before the snow storm began. We then called it a night after polishing off the remaining desi food. Somewhere between  all this we realized it was our 6 year engagement anniversary – the engagement we never even attended in India, the one our parents told us about a week before it actually was to happen! Made me less guilty about ordering in for no reason as I had initially thought. So that was our weekend.

Do you nap on weekends? If not, how do you spend your weekend afternoons?

14 Responses to “Lazy weekend notes”

  1. Bhavani February 2, 2015 at 11:11 pm #

    It is ok to have a lazy weekend. We deserve it sometimes. I had to clean up the house a bit since had a friend over to watch Super Bowl. And if I am home on a weekend I have to take a nap after a nice lunch. It is a crime if I dont:-) . My kids have become very cooperative. They play in their room by themselves and let me have my nap atleast for an hr. If I am not able to sleep it has to be TV. But strict no no for domestic chores on a weekend afternoon..

    Totally enjoyed the game and the half time show yesterday. It was awesome. But I was pretty bummed about SeaHawks losing..got over it after gobblig a few more mini samosas..

    And what a disappointment with the Elleptical. I was infact waiting to ask you and was thinking about investing in one myself.

    And totally get you on that nagging feeling…sometimes very hard to totally switch off work mode..

    Anyways have a good week!!

    -Bhavani

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 3, 2015 at 7:47 am #

      Waiting for the point when we can nap without worrying about the kid. Long way off here. Ya heard the game was goood…and the katy perry performance:)

  2. Dil On The Rocks February 3, 2015 at 2:00 am #

    LOL. Lunch box envy. I remember that. 🙂 I was just like you were about something work related running on the back of your mind. Its hard for me to get over some things, But I so wish I do. We need to catch a break.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 3, 2015 at 7:49 am #

      Ya re..hate work worry, especially when it carries through a weekend. Need to let it go and relax but I overthink and break my head

  3. More than words February 3, 2015 at 2:08 am #

    What a disappointment with that elliptical !!! How cute that little Bandar already wants others to be j of her lunch box…

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 3, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      Ya, still trying to get details on the chemicals in the elliptical. She took the waffles but didn’t eat at all. Sigh!

  4. Bhakti February 3, 2015 at 2:46 am #

    Every time I read about Bandar,it always reminds me about how I used to cry whenever dad had to go out of town. ( Also the mean things she said to you the other day. I tell my mom that I don’t want to talk to her when I am angry and I always do realise that it hurts her. Yet I say that :P)
    She is too cute. Hope she recovers soon!
    Take care.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 3, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      She is such a daddy’s girl , man!! Don’t think it will ever change.

      • Bhakti February 3, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

        Haha… It might change some day. Be positive about it 😉 🙂

  5. Kavs February 3, 2015 at 5:40 am #

    Hey P! Sorry missed the earlier posts – I loved your blogging marathon 🙂 hope I get my blogging mojo back – thru my commenting 🙂
    Poha is a hit or miss in my house as well. I always wonder isn’t this supposed to be a simple thing to cook?
    I bought resistance bands – long overdue. I am skinny, even after a baby. I really really want to build strength – long overdue. I am disciplined once I start the thing, the problem lies in starting! 🙂
    Lol at bandar speak – hope the baby and you guys are feeling better.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 3, 2015 at 7:54 am #

      Resistance bands are great, I’ve heard. Ohh Jillian Michaels has a strength only workout to do at home. Can be done with 5 lb weights. Guess diet is key for strength also ya. Protein shakes is what my skinny colleague used to gulp prior/ after strength work outs. My issue is more toning and I can lose some pounds too:)

  6. srividhya February 4, 2015 at 5:22 am #

    So did you fix the elliptical or returning back? Which brand you got? We got Schwinn and we love it. Easy to move and handle also.
    Some weekends are like that only.. Kiddo passed on his germs to me and now its my turn. I had to take off yesterday becoz of my cough.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 4, 2015 at 7:09 am #

      We are keeping it ya! Got emails today from the company about prop 65..apparently, they need to use that label but its harmless. I got a cheapo called Bodyrider. Enough for my barely 1000 sq ft apartment! Schwinn is top of the line and awesome. Hope you are feeling better and the day off helped.

  7. Little Fingers February 4, 2015 at 9:27 am #

    I started watching a new serial Revenge. I am using no brain I just don’t want to think abt work . I couldn’t nap this weekend either I was so exhausted yet I was unable to nap.

Leave a Reply

