Day 31: All done!

1 Feb

And its done! Phew!Like most bloggers who took this on,  I signed up for the blogging marathon mainly to get into some sort of rhythm with writing and to find some of my lost blogging mojo. I think I was able to do that for the most part.

The first half of the month, I actually had several blog post ideas and got fairly comfortable with the daily blogging. The later half , I did struggle a bit. Weekends deserve a mention of their own – OMG, they are awful for blogging. Somehow , those were the days when I felt blogging was a drag.If I ever do this again, I will have atleast 8-10 good drafts of some sort to get through the weekends. I felt I should plan for weekends during the week, but I just could not manage it this time.  During the later half of the month,  I also  felt my posts were becoming very mundane, about my boring, daily life. The last week for example was all about Bandar’s viral. Normally this would not be a thing I would even blog about, I might have skipped blogging the whole week if it were not the marathon.The surprising part though was I had comments from a few loyal readers even on the “boring” posts. I had sweet comments and emails about Bandar , which I totally didn’t expect. I felt part of some sort of community that was cheering me on from the stands and it made me feel recharged to blog again the next day! I even started enjoying sharing these small daily happenings from my life in this space to some extent , I usually don’t go into some of the details I go into here with even family on the phone and my little sister who recently started reading my blog mentioned to me that she actually had to find out about Bandar and my life through reading here.

The comments and community somehow also kept me accountable. I have signed up for fitness challenges before online , even put in some money for a common pool to lose weight and win cash. I have failed all those, mainly because I never logged into to record my stats, work outs , meals and other things and lost out on the whole community feeling behind the whole thing. Maybe this community gave me the kick in the pants I needed to stick to this simple daily blogging goal.I should really embrace the concept for other areas of my life.

It was such fun also opening my reader to find several new posts overnight and at the end of the day.  I think I am really going to miss that as we go into February. Hopefully everyone keeps up some of this new found momentum and we don’t have missing writers for several months on end , I am pointing all fingers at myself here!

Thanks so much for reading and following along! Needless to say, I will be doing no more weekend blogging for a while but will be in the space fairly often this year, if all goes well.

12 Responses to “Day 31: All done!”

  1. greenboochi February 1, 2015 at 9:23 am #

    Though I started reading you very late, enjoyed your posts 🙂 Looking forward to read more from you this year 🙂
    Congrats for completing the challenge 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 2, 2015 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks GB…and same to you for completing it successfully. I enjoyed your posts a lot.

  2. Dil On The Rocks February 1, 2015 at 11:03 am #

    All the kudos go to you for staying on track and no, I didn’t think any of them were boring. 😊 okay. You are exempt from weekend blogging but you have yi write something everyday now. I still expect something everyday now after the challenge ends. 😃

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 2, 2015 at 10:14 pm #

      Hehe..more regular posting for sure, not daily ya. You will get bored reading, trust me.:)

  3. srividhya February 1, 2015 at 11:53 am #

    hey.. congrats for finishing it up.. Your posts were nice. nothing boring and all.. Have a great Super Bowl weekend 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 2, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

      Congrats to you tooon completing it:) Superbowl weekend was lazy and no superbowl watching actually happened here…hehe

  4. Bhavani February 1, 2015 at 12:25 pm #

    Enjoyed all your posts pop ! Keep writing !!!

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 2, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

      Thanks for reading them all and commenting. Kept me going!

  5. More than words February 1, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

    Yes it was good fun but like you the weekends were a little tough for me too….keep writing

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 2, 2015 at 10:12 pm #

      Agree, weekends were hard. I enjoyed reading your posts this month 🙂

  6. Little Fingers February 2, 2015 at 10:55 am #

    Yay for completing the challenge ! I couldn’t keep us with reading the posts. I am reading them now. Hope you had a good weekend and bandar is feeling better by now.

    • popgoesthebiscuit February 2, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

      Yay to you finishing it too! Its been hard to write and comment on allthe posts I read this month, but I did read all yours:)

Leave a Reply

