Day 28: Wednesday in random bullets

29 Jan

Today it is just going to be a quick, bulleted post.

  • To start with, Bandar is still sick. We had the fourth full day of fever here. The only thing that is keeping the husbadoo and I from panicking is the fact that she has had viral fevers last this long before and it is not the first time. Nevertheless , we are going back to the doctor tomorrow. Warm thanks to all of you who have commented and emailed asking about her. I am really touched.
  • So she is weak, cranky and clingy till the medicine is administered and for a short while after the medicine takes effect we have a different child- happy, cheerful one, walking around the house. And then it peaks again and she is back to being weak and sad. I almost think this came now from the play date, maybe Bandar was used to her own school germs and almost immune to them but not so much to the fresh ones her little friend brought along? Who know! Maybe I should cancel our playdate this weekend, even if she recovers.
  • I had an annual physical today and put my mind at ease about one or two nagging health worries I had. It’s surprising that having a child and feeling you are responsible for someone makes you fear for your own mortality. I honestly was not very scared about my life span or anything before I had a kid. Sure, the husbadoo and my family would be devastated but no one really depended on me for everything. They would survive and be fine eventually. Nowadays any small health scare just freaks me out as I think about poor Bandar, God forbid and I never hesitate in getting it checked out. I almost felt like a hypochondriac at the doctor today and asked a few questions starting with – “I know this sounds silly but….” Anyways, all fine for now, or atleast the doctor thinks so and I trust her.
  • I had arranged a nanny today as both I (to my doctor) and the husbadoo ( to work) had to be out for a while. I was surprised to call up after my appointment only to find the hsubadoo still at home with Bandar and the nanny. I was quite irritated with him as we were paying for a nanny so that he could go and work. Apparently he couldn’t tear himself away from the clingy, sick Bandar. Usually I would retort with –“ Oh and I could do the same thing effortlessly when I went out? Are you trying to say I am a bad, heartless mother and you are the only concerned parent here?” and it would have escalated into a fight. But instead I calmed myself, tried to see it from his overly sensitive daddy eyes and instantly felt my anger disappear. I helped calm Bandar down when I finally coaxed him to leave .
  • My fridge is full of fun food options for the rest of the week and it helps immensely on busy work days like this. I should really do this bulk cooking ,prepping, planning more often.
  • I am down to my countdown for bookclub tomorrow evening and I still have a 120 pages to read on my book. Apparently none of the other moms have finished the book either yet, so might not be a great discussion but a fun evening out anyway. I do want to finish though. I feel like I am school again and have to read my book tonight into the wee hours. Sadly , it is not one of those books that I can’t put down or anything. Vaguely interesting and not something I normally would pick – “Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932.”
  • I bought teeny tiny mini cupcakes for Bandar as a reward after her Monday’s doctor’s appointment and as she barely picked on them after her initial excitement, I have been eating them. I showed some restraint yesterday as I was having my annual bloodwork done and didn’t want my blood sugar to spike or anything.But now that it’s out of the way, I am eating them shamelessly.
  • On the same note, I finally ordered an elliptical and can’t wait for it to be delivered. Hope it gets here before the weekend, so that I can set it up and start the week afresh on the exercise front.
  • On Facebook this week , I saw a classmate from high school got married and all the numerous guys she dated over the years were there as guests. 1) I would never have an ex at my wedding, neither would I want to be at an ex’s wedding. Even if it was only highschool “dating” , which was maybe more glorified than a crush and was atleast a mutual crush, fuelled by teenage hormones 2) I am so glad I did not date any of these jackasses in school. None of them have turned out remotely decent or desirable now in their 30s. A large part of my high school life were spent in boring pursuits like re reading the Anne of Green Gables series multiple times and for that I am grateful now.
  • We have a super bowl invite at a friend’s but I so want to bunk it. I do not follow the game at all and have absolutely no interest. I will be going for the mere socialization aspect, but guess some things have to be done. Sigh. I didn’t even know which teams are playing till today. The poor husbadoo has been denied viewing access to both college football and NFL when we cut cable after moving here and I do think he has been suc ha sport about this. Never complained at all.  He used to love watching college football with a passion when we were first married, and has patiently tried to explain the game to me too. I never cared to learn, and just needed to know basic facts like who was playing who, who won , the final scores to have a decently knowledgeable conversation with my co – workers about the weekend.  Now I have to probably fake interest with our friends again this weekend!
13 Responses to “Day 28: Wednesday in random bullets”

  1. srividhya January 29, 2015 at 9:22 am #

    Hope Bandar feels better soon.. Its tuf when the little ones fell sick.. Glad your annual physical went well.. Mine was due in Nov but with insurance change and stuff it didn’t happen. Need to do it soon. Elliptical helps a lot.. good luck.
    I only watch NFL and baseball only if SFO team is there 😉 😉 So the finals is Seahawks Vs Patriots. (Seattle Vs NewEngland) Just becoz I like seattle I am supporting them.. see my sports knowledge..;-) 😉

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 29, 2015 at 10:49 am #

      You watch baseball!Absolutely out of question for me, hehe.,even fast moving football is boring. Ya, get the physical done ..for me its peace of mind

  2. P January 29, 2015 at 10:31 am #

    Howdy, I have been a silent reader for a while and thought i should comment about sick kid situation. Being a working mother of two girls (11 & 9), i have been in the same Situation, several times. Go with your your Gut(mother) instinct. If you feel like your kid needs antibiotics, go ahead and butt heads with her pediatrician.

    Not to scare you, My Elder-One had chest cold for couple of weeks, and they kept giving her different kinds of antibiotics for two weeks, and she ended-up having pneumonia and had to go thru a minor surgery to drain-out the liquids from the outer lining area of her lungs(she was 3 yrs old then), I still blame myself, of not going thru my gut instinct and fight with her doc, for a stronger dose of medicine, in earlier stages.

    Anyways, Moral of the story here is, Doc’s always don’t know the remedy, it’s up-to us to push them (especially with the kids, it explains all the AD’s, about “Ask your doctor if so&so medicine is right for you”, what a joke!!!).

    Having said that, i don’t think it’s anything serious with the little one. If the virus lasted this long, may be she needs antibiotics to get it under control.

    Hopefully , all of you, feel better soon. ( I can totally relate to the guilt factor, i travel for work as well, also primary care provider for the girls, when i am home).

    Take Care and Best wishes.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 29, 2015 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks so much for this comment. Problem is my gut is telling me its just a viral and maybe I am just being naive and going by past illnesses she’s had. And you know how hesitant pedis are about antibiotics for virals. Your story was eye opening though. Hoping these ear and lung checks they do in each visit will catch something is there. I am going to mention the word antibiotic tomorrow, something I was not going to do before! So thanks again.

  3. greenboochi January 29, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

    I hope Bandar feels better soon. Hugs.
    I have never cooked in bulk, should try it sometime 🙂
    I don’t follow any sport and over the period of time S has stopped watching the sports channel too 😀 Our social life sucks but I’m glad in a way, given that we both are bog introverts.
    Having elliptical at home helps a lot.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 30, 2015 at 6:23 am #

      Cooking in bulk seriously worked this week for me. I think the trick is also in cooking a variety of things. We get bored if it was similar stuff in large quantities – so this time I made totally different cuisines and dishes and stocked up!

  4. princessbutter January 29, 2015 at 10:07 pm #

    Geesh! I hope she feels better! I used to fall sick a lot when I was a kid. I am sure I have eaten truck fuls of chyavanprash, gargled gallons of water, and inhaled buckets of Vicks. My 6 year old niece also catches cough n cold very quickly. Pune-Chicago-Pune, it’s the same story for them.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 30, 2015 at 6:24 am #

      Man, hope she is fine by 6 and this immunity from daycare that everyone talks about kicks in quick! I am not a very patient care giver re..brings out the worst in me , I think

      • princessbutter January 30, 2015 at 8:19 am #

        Don’t worry. I think I would be not very patient either. Give her lots of ginger juice-honey. And I will ask my mom all that she did for me and tell you.

  5. Bhavani January 29, 2015 at 10:51 pm #

    Hope Bandar springs back to normalcy soon Pop..it is hard to see kids being sick..sigh..
    Good that your annual checkup went fine…and I have started enjoying football by watching it with the sports crazy hubby…go Seahawks !!!

    And by any chance are you a Scorpio..LOL..I relate to so many things you say..like getting mad at hubby though the intention behind it was very good..and last week when you mentioned about being guilty on certain things where you dont need to be…:-)))

    Take care..

    -Bhavani

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 30, 2015 at 6:26 am #

      Hopefully meds will help in a day or so once they kick in. I am a Cancerian ya:) Happy you can relate to a lot of it, makes me glad I am not the only one.

  6. More than words January 29, 2015 at 11:47 pm #

    I hope Bandar feels better soon…. Yes if its a viral then I guess its goona run its course…. If its anything going beyond the wknd then i guess antibiotics will be called upon… Its so true after kids I think we start taking our own health a little too seriously 🙂 … Glad your health check came good…

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 30, 2015 at 6:27 am #

      Antibiotics started today as it was a ear infection:( But all for the best I think as we atleast can treat it now. Yes, our health is so important man, realizing this more and more.

Leave a Reply

