Day 27 : Those were the days

28 Jan

Thanks to everyone for your kind comments about the storm. Funnily enough nothing much happened in NYC, atleast the part where we live. The roads were cleared of all vehicles but emergency ones after 11 pm yesterday, another example of why I love this country – people actually follow laws. We had a surprisingly silent night and I almost missed hearing the cars and buses outside out window.All we heard were the snow rollers (think they are called that, not sure) which worked all night cleaning the snow from the streets. We woke up to see a winter wonderland from our window, and just some barely there, light falling snowflakes. The sun was shining today afternoon and the traffic appears to have resumed too. People are back on their feet and I saw several parents wheeling strollers around the neighborhood, enjoying their snow day off from work supposedly and the absence of their regular nannies.  Regarding our little world, Bandar is still sick.Her fever falls with the medicine but rises otherwise . It it worrying till it finally breaks for good and she is on the path to recovery. i should be used to these viral infections by now , but surprise myself each time with fresh worries. Sigh!

Onto other cheery topics. This week, I was looking in my work  calendar for a specific document attachment from 2009 and when a simple search didn’t give me what I wanted, I had to go through my calendar month by month to find it.  And how eye opening this exercise proved to be!

I laughed at my 23 year old self who was out to make a name for herself at work and set up several Friday afternoon earnest meetings with my team at that time.What a pain I must have been, when others wanted to leave for the weekend!  I remember hanging out at work to leave after or close to the time my boss left, just to show I was working. I really don’t  think any of these things matter any more or even did then!

I saw the lunches that I had with friends –  it was pretty much every day of the week! I was probably the only married one in our desi group at that time and my friends never , ever cooked. Or so it seemed. So often, I would have my lunch box with me but would still choose to go and have lunch outside with the gang. I didn’t worry about calories like I do today. Of course, the husbadoo and I spent alteast an hour at the gym every day and maybe that let me eat a ton. But we followed up a few of those gym sessions with eating out for dinner too, to be honest, so not sure if it all balanced out at all. Apart from this, I enjoyed cooking and that was when I experimented a ton in the kitchen as I had my own little guinea pig to feed. I ate to match him like I still do and that was when I gained about 10-15 pounds happily that year.

I saw the calendar time I had blocked off to go and pick up our new car which we bought a few months into our wedding. I also have time blocked off to take the car to the temple for a puja! I remember all the naive financial analysis we did , sitting across each other as we pigged out at a desi restaurant after every visit we paid this particular car dealership. Our hearts were set on this car and we wondered if the expense made sense. Finally, we did buy it of course , but that was probably the first major decision we took as a couple. How excited we were to have the short little puja done at the temple and drive it home!

The same financial prudence or any , didn’t come into planning vacations though! I see the one odd day I have marked off as vacation time on all the long weekends that year. You see,  I had spent most of my yearly vacation for the wedding mid year and we were left with only long weekends to travel. Tickets are most expensive then and I know we booked tickets at the very last minute on most of these. I shudder to think of our low bank balance then, no savings to speak of almost , but we lived happy care free lives! We went to Vegas, the Grand Canyon, New Mexico, LA, Tahoe in just 6 months! We stayed at fun places, ate out lavishly and enjoyed these breaks so much, so there are no regrets at all! I am glad we traveled as much as we did when we could. Now, I over think every single vacation decision , evaluate the cheapest option across multiple sites, read a bunch of forums, before I hit the final purchase button.

Life was really care free. We were so excited to finally be together and build our lives together.We did fight then, but I do think they were minor, teeny fights at best. I would never have dreamed then that I would say some stuff in fights that I have said now over the years. Granted , life is of course more complicated now. We are older, wiser, busier. That said , I do want to bring a little bit of our carefree , younger, fun loving selves into our daily life now. Reduce the weekly snarling at each other that we indulge in, do away with the mean little comments which we know only too well that hurt , learn to not worry about the future –  finances, career, kids or anything and just live a little like we did in 2009.

9 Responses to “Day 27 : Those were the days”

  1. magic January 28, 2015 at 9:10 am #

    Hope Bander is fine now ….

    Ha those carefree days sigh….. wish I could go back to our dating days,what wonderful days they were………..even now life’s good but responsibility take away the innocense i guess 🙂

  2. Kavs January 28, 2015 at 9:20 am #

    Aww! See you know you don’t want to hurt one another intentionally – this will help you to keep out the mean comments. I too wish I could go back to the sweet carefree phase of our lives when we were hopelessly in love and every other worry, big or small paled. The love is still there, touch wood, but like you said I want to make things a little carefree, spontaneous and fun. Btw I am the non-fun person in our household. And usually I am the one who says the meanest things and then spend sleepless nights over that. 😦

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 29, 2015 at 6:59 am #

      Ya , the love is there very much, its grown over the years in fact. Just that I don’t know if we can be as spontaneous as we used to be about things. Guess adding some of it back can’t hurt! I am also the non-fun person re, so I totally get it!!

  3. Dil On The Rocks January 29, 2015 at 3:38 am #

    What memories 🙂 You are so lucky to have those days. I hope as kids grow up, it will be better; Vacations; etc. But we just have to wait and see, right!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 29, 2015 at 7:01 am #

      Oh ya, I do think it gets better. A friend told me she had the best vacation of her life recently with her kids at 4 and 7. Its just the hard in between years.

  4. princessbutter January 29, 2015 at 5:58 am #

    Bas yaadein, yaadein the jaati hain……. Such sweet memories. There are times when I feel crazy nostalgic. Once the wave was so bad that I started missing the PLs and exams. :-/ and that my friend, never happens to me.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 29, 2015 at 7:04 am #

      Haha..missing PLs as in Prep Leave??I missed exams from the standpoint of what do I do now that the exams are over. I also do miss that whole college phase..life was so simple man, study well, kick butt in exams, move on to new subjects next semester. I never focused of course on learning for the sake of learning but just on studying smart and doing well. And I also spent a lot of those years worrying about the future- all for nothing and so silly now that I think of it. Life has its way of working out. Even the dumbest student in the class has a job now from what I see on fb. So none of that mattered. Sorry tangential comment!

      • princessbutter January 29, 2015 at 10:37 am #

        Waah. You were a much better student than I was!!

Leave a Reply

