Day 26: Storm Ready

27 Jan

We are in the middle of a snow blizzard right now and it will probably last for the next 24 hours!

Around noon today, just as the blizzard was starting, the temperature was  in the 20s F. So it was manageable to actually go out , as long as you had your snow gear. I had to take Bandar to the doctor and had to deal with the NYC living with a toddler dilemma of simply  walking versus managing a  stroller- with-no-elevator at the subway station, if that makes sense. So walking it was, as I have zero arm strength to wrestle a massive stroller and slightly less massive toddler up wet subway steps. Walking with the wind blowing tiny snowflakes on your face was actually quite fun, again only as I was well covered.I caught sight of my reflection in a shop window and I looked like a huge eskimo. Even if the layers added maybe 5 pounds , I can easily do with some exercise by the looks of it.

We wrapped up our doctor’s appointment and got home. The husbadoo and I balanced work and child effectively between us for the rest of the day. Our tiny apartment is by no means sound proof and when Bandar is cranky and crying, especially with being sick and all, people at the other end of my conference call scan hear her. I worry if it makes me sound unprofessional but on days like this there is not much that can be done.

The husbadoo has a holiday tomorrow because of this bad weather. We really don’t know how bad this is going to get and what we are in for. I had to step out today evening for a few minutes to get Bandar’s meds and some groceries. The grocery store was crazy busy. People were stocking up. I saw the ingredients for soup and chilly being bought all over the store! I noticed an older uncle and aunty arguing about whether they owned a can opener!

All this inspired me to come home and go on a cooking spree of sorts. So if this blizzard is as terrible as they say, we have bhel, pizza, lentils, schezwan fried rice, lasagna to see us through! The rice and veggies still need to be sauteed and the lasagna has to be baked but I am hoping to get to it tonight after Bandar sleeps , so that we are good to go even if we lose power tomorrow.

Bandar’s schedule is out of whack with this illness and she’s still up at almost 11 pm! I need to get her to bed now , so will be signing off. The next few days are crazy hectic for me, so I am hoping to get through the marathon with just sad , update posts like this and bore my few reader with these mundane things.

14 Responses to “Day 26: Storm Ready”

  1. srividhya January 27, 2015 at 10:26 am #

    oh mann.. Take care and stay safe

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 28, 2015 at 3:33 am #

      All good so far, Vidhya! But the cooking effort will not be in waste as I have a busy work week left to get through. Don’t plan on entering the kitchen till Friday evening.

  2. greenboochi January 27, 2015 at 11:50 am #

    Take care Pop. Hope Bandar is doing ok now.

    I wonder how I stopped getting posts from you. Looks like I have unfollowed you magically – WP is to be cursed! I am sorry that I did not even know you were in the blogathon too. One good thing is, I get to read all your posts at once 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 28, 2015 at 3:32 am #

      Hehe..glad to have you reading:) WP does that to me too sometimes or I tap the unfollow in error while browsing on my phone.

  3. Ramesh January 27, 2015 at 12:43 pm #

    Hope Bandar recovers quickly & you guys ride out the blizzard safely. I can totally relate to your conf call problems, though there are no kids in my house. I live right next to a famous South Bangalore temple & the constant noise from motorbikes/autos & Barking dogs are troublesome during my conf calls. As a result I have become an expert at manipulating the Mute button!

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 28, 2015 at 3:31 am #

      Know exactly what you mean about manipulating the mute button! Here it is the constant noise of ambulances and emergency vehicles during the normal days, when Bandar is at school. NYC is terribly noisy and I think by now people are used to hearing all this when I unmute to talk.

  4. smdeea11 January 27, 2015 at 3:45 pm #

    Oh Pop! Just take care. I hope you come out of all this soon. How is Bandar now? I hope she is fine now.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 28, 2015 at 3:29 am #

      Bandar is still sick yaar. Takes a few days with her I think. 😦

  5. More than words January 27, 2015 at 5:32 pm #

    Hope Bandar is better soon….. Hrard this storm is supposed to create havoc in the NYC area… Stay warm and stay safe…

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 28, 2015 at 3:29 am #

      Nothing much happened as such 🙂 But we played it safe and had a cozy day at home

  6. Kavs January 27, 2015 at 6:20 pm #

    Hope lil bandar is doing better now…
    Yeah we are in the middle of that storm as well. But it was long overdue – A was greatly missing snow saying again and again – doesn’t feel like New England without snow. So there we are. You have cooked up a storm, P! The only extra thing I cooked was rajma. 😦

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 28, 2015 at 3:28 am #

      Think you had it worse than us. Been a normal day from what I see outside here. Bandar’s viral is running its course,sad to say.

  7. princessbutter January 27, 2015 at 9:02 pm #

    Be safe!!

Leave a Reply

