Day 25: Sickday Sunday

26 Jan

So much for longing forward to a relaxed Sunday. Bandar got up with a 101 F fever that proceeded to rise and fall as the day progressed. Any and all plans of going out were canceled today and we stayed at home trying to nurse her back to health.She clung to the husbadoo and banished me away with several rude little comments – ” Ask her not to look at me”, “Ask her not to talk to me” , and the like.  I am feeling a tad bit guilty about the exposure to the cold yesterday and maybe even the frozen yogurt. So far we have ignored our moms telling us that eating cold things leads to sickness and Bandar has always had cold milk, ice etc . Maybe there is some truth in that and we shouldn’t have given her cold frozen yogurt in the peak of winter. Sigh. Live and learn, I suppose.

As holding a sick little monkey is a one person job and said monkey didn’t even want me around, I spent the morning in the kitchen. Paneer subji was made and eaten, by the husbadoo and me. Bandar is refusing food just like she normally does when she is sick. We went through the only too familiar debate of treat the fever with Tylenol or let it run its course, that I am sure most parents go through. TV viewing which is usually an occasional treat was sanctioned. And that’s how we have been getting through the day herw.

I am bracing myself for the next few days or even week ahead. Who knows at this point, right? Childcare for the next few days has to be planned as she can’t go to daycare. The yearly hundred hours of back up childcare I get from work have to be rationed and used, as its only January yet. Doctor appointments need to be made for the mandatory ear check in fevers like this. The husbadoo has to tear himself away from Bandar tomorrow and  get himself to work tomorrow and I am dreading the screams and crying already. She even refused to let him use the bathroom when she was awake today, she’s at her clingiest worst with the sickness .

Even though in my heart I know this is probably just a viral and she should be okay soon, seeing your little one sick is never easy. Its probably the most helpless feeling for any parent – you want to do what you can to help them, but there is little you can do.

So that’s our Sunday report here. Hope yours is atleast a tad better.

7 Responses to “Day 25: Sickday Sunday”

  1. Bhavani January 26, 2015 at 7:10 am #

    Oh Oh…poor thing…my little one had a bad ear infection last week…and the Dr was debating whether or not to give Antibiotics or wait it out a bit…I requested her to give since my hubs is travelling and I was scared that it would get worse…one dose and he was back to normalcy…

    Take care and dont stress over it…she will be fine soon…take care..

    Bhavani..

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2015 at 9:09 am #

      Totally would have done antibiotics too, B. Especially with the travel one one partner. I have been so scared about Bandar falling sick when one of us travels. Guess have to face that too sometimes. Glad your little guy is better now.

  2. More than words January 26, 2015 at 7:12 am #

    Aawwe I hope she feels better soon… Like you guys, we too always ignore about eating chilled stuff during winter and only stop it if there is a problem with the throat…
    As for her clinging to her daddy, my daughter was the same especially in times of discomfort… I can so understand when you say to see your child suffer is the worst thing ever… I honestly think that if it was possible to take away their pain, we would have all done it in a heartbeat.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2015 at 9:10 am #

      Maybe some truth in this cold things worsening throat etc. She was fine till last evening yaar. Anyway, done is done. Agree, we all would take their pain if only we could.

  3. srividhya January 26, 2015 at 11:02 am #

    Oh nooo. hope she feels better soon. Seeing little one sick is not easy.. i totally agree. You know what Vaandu is down with cough n cold 😦 not sure how d week is going to be..

  4. Dil On The Rocks January 26, 2015 at 11:13 am #

    Aah. Hope she feels better soon. Its,tough I know. Cold and fever scare is like a bomb waiting to go off at our place too. Just got to let the phase pass. Do Whatever is needed for her and your peace. Hugs to you both.

  5. smdeea11 January 26, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

    Oh….I hope she is better now. I know how kids are when they are unwell. Just take care of her and yourself too.

Leave a Reply

